We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Hotel Dona Carmela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dona Carmela
Ranked #85 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2007

First of all I have to say that the location is not bad if you are driving. The street parking in front is free and there were plenty of empty spots. It is in a working class neighborhood about 7 km outside of the city center and a public bus stop is a block from the hotel. It costs 1 euro or a multiple ride pass can be purchased that can be shared by several people. Driving and parking in Sevilla is difficult and expensive.
Our room, which was in the front, was very dark because of closed steel shutters outside the windows but they did help keep down the noise from the street. The beds were the most uncomfortable we encountered on our trip. They just had a rubberized bottom sheet and no mattress pad. Very sweaty and hard. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was simply awful. The front desk personnel were not very friendly either, much more than the typical Spanish reserve.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Arthur49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 290 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2006

Con's: room & bath very small, a good distance from the city center in a residencial neighborhood with few cafes or restaurants. Very noisy as halls are tiled & all sounds transmitted. TV extremely small. Bath soap/shampoo inadequate. An old property trying to be upbeat. .
Pro"s: front desk English speaking & helpful. Free breakfast good value as is the menu of the day 10 E. dinner served @8:30Pm. Easy to locate off SE 30

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank chad'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

This hotel is great for viewing the city of Seville, it's only a 10 minute taxi ride from the most amazing tourist attractions and costs roughly 10 euros each way, a bus is available too for only 1 euro each way, but best of all if you stay here over the weekend, the hotel offers a FREE shuttle service to and from the city centre. They collected us from the airport and even picked us up from the city with our luggage intact to take us to the airport.

The hotel staff were just amazing and so helpful with everything.

The hotel cost 240 euros for 3 nights in a triple room and continental breakfast was included in the price, what a bargain.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a good base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank valbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2004

We stayed in the Do?a Carmela hotel in March 2004. This modern hotel is located in the Sevilla suburb of Bellavista in a rather popular area, some 5 km from the downtown area but excellently connected with it by road (direct highway), an urban bus line (running every 10 minutes) and a RENFE suburban train line (running every 30 minutes), the station being only minutes away. That's why we preferred this hotel to a downtown address. The hotel has its own garage but there is free parking available in front of the hotel. Bellavista's main road (which is very busy) passes in front if the hotel but windows are noise-proof, and if you ask for a room on the back side, you won't hear street noise anyway. Rooms are clean, spacious, and well equipped. The management seems to take good care of the hotel, and staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast (Spanish style, therefore simple) is served in the hotel's own bar, which seems to be permantly crowded, also with local people. We really liked the Do?a Carmela hotel, which offeres *** comfort for a price that you easily pay for a downtown * hotel or hostal. Actually, the price posted in the room was 72 EUR for the period of our stay but we were charged only 52 EUR so it may be worth asking for special offers upon arrival or when booking.

25  Thank claus_pusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Raúl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Conpinfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sylvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.6 mi away
Bellavista
Bellavista
#84 of 177 in Seville
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ibis Sevilla
Ibis Sevilla
#52 of 177 in Seville
811 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
Hotel San Pablo Sevilla
#74 of 177 in Seville
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Sevilla Aeropuerto
4.3 mi away
Catalonia Hispalis Hotel
Catalonia Hispalis Hotel
#132 of 177 in Seville
351 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Vertice Sevilla
Hotel Vertice Sevilla
#63 of 177 in Seville
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Carmela

Address: Avenida Jerez 72, 41014 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $49 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Carmela 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shuttle service to the airport ( 15€), railway station and the Isla Magica Theme Park. Free minibus service to the city center.Sevilla Hotel Dona Carmela, is a modern, comfortable and family atmosphere. Whether traveling for business to the city of Seville and the province, this is your hotel in Sevilla.Seville hotel has 60 rooms fully equipped, really well equipped with the latest. Flat screen TV, viscoelastic mattresses, hair dryers in all rooms and a design and comfortable living spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Carmela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Carmela Hotel
Dona Carmela Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing