We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel / apartment - couldn't fault them.”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed in the apartments (Apartment Las Cruces) for three nights and could not fault them. The hotel / apartments are in a terffic location in the old town, within walking distance of all major sights. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Room was spacious, clean, modern and very quite. Breakfast was ordinary, but a minor point. We loved it and highly recommend Murillo - a gem.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Trishinthegarden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,946)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Murillo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2010

Pros: location, laundry, very clean, efficient and friendly staff, great shower, air conditioner works. Cons: noisy until 2AM, our room was right on the street and no room service or coffee/tea in room.
Although I mentioned the noise, we really didn't mind because we loved being able to look out over the little cafe in the tiny square. What a location! If you like quaint, you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freeneasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed here in May for 4 nights, last year we stayed at the apartments but these were full this year so we gave the hotel a go. Stayed in 410, (I note the previous review were our neighbours!) The balcony was great with a view of the Giralda which we could see from our bed at night, all lit up.

Room was not huge but more than adequate and the bathroom was equally sufficient as well as being very clean.

Location cannot be beaten and the service from the front desk was, just as at the Apartments, faultless. Thanks to Jorge and Abel again, so nice to find good service in Seville.

The rooftop terrace never seems to have its bar open, but that isn't really a problem as there is a 24 hour vending machine downstairs with really cold beers, water and soft drinks. Just take a can or two upstairs and watch the world go by.

Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice of cold meats and cheeses as well as the usual cereals and yoghurt etc. I especially liked the real coffee machine, 2 double espressos each morning certainly gave me the rush to start the day!

I was worried that after last years stay we wouldn't find anywhere to match the apartments, but the hotel is just as good. We will return to Seville again, it's a lovely City and our first choice will always be the Murillo, whichever property.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CraftyFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Murillo hotel in room 411 and could not fault it. Bed was comfortable. Enjoyed the spacious balcony where we relaxed with a bottle of wine after our day of sightseeing! Breakfast was just what was needed to set you up for the day.
Staff very friendly and rooms clean.
Location excellent and would stay here again when making a return trip to Seville.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fanofspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had stayed in the Murillo Apartments previously and really enjoyed them. This trip we stayed in the Hotel as we knew the location was great and we thought the hotel looked good. Our first (triple) room was on the top floor and was quite nice - except for the horrible loud noise coming from outside. Turns out this is the water pump and they were aware it was awful and meant we wouldn't be able to sleep. So we were offered a new room - on the ground floor, at least half the size and a bit like a prison cell. We had to climb over the top of our beds to get to the toilet as there wasn't room to walk around them. Extremely noisy as every single guest had to walk past our door coming in at night. So the location is great, but our room was terrible. If we had been staying for more than 1 night I would have refused to stay there. Breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We were very satisfied with this hotel despite some of the negative comments we had seen on TA. It's location is a real plus and it's not too hard to find. We took the airport bus to get there and it's just a short stroll from Prado San Sebastian to the hotel via the Murillo Gardens. Would certainly stay there again next time in Seville. The staff were in general very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was not bad value at €7 each. I would not try to go there with a car however.
Also, be careful not to get lost in all those narrow streets in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_D_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Murillo is tucked away in the perfect location within the Barrio de Santa Cruz - it is within spitting distance of the Giralda, Bus Station, shops, bars, parks, river - you name it! For me it is a home from home - the staff are great, the breakfast delivers & yes, the rooms are small, but who came to Sevilla to stay in their room! There is a great little tapas bar opposite with the cheekiest Spanish waiter you will ever encounter & just round the corner is Los Gallos, Tablao Flamenco - a wonderful evening to discover the passion of Flamenco ... Parts of the hotel are starting to look a bit tired, but hey ho - if you are this popular, there has to be wear & tear - definitely offers VFM & a happy stay - I will be back again soon!

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank CarinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#34 of 177 in Seville
736 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,393 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,123 reviews
Hotel Abanico Sevilla
#27 of 177 in Seville
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $77 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing