We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #31 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently traveled to Spain and one of our stops was the Hotel Murillo in Sevilla. This hotel was in a great location, convenient walking distance to The Alcazar as well as The Cathedral. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is very friendly. We paid for the upgraded room with a balcony which we felt was worth the price. The rooms are somewhat small but comfortable. The rooftop terrace is a good spot to unwind and they make some killer mojitos! We didn't eat the breakfast buffet at the hotel because there are plenty of cafes in the area which have better prices and variety. However, we did happen to wake up early one morning and they had coffee and pastries, for free, in the lobby which was a nice treat. Overall, this hotel was a wonderful stop on our 7 city tour of Spain!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    908
    253
    72
    27
See reviews for
273
947
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We are here at present. Did a booking in the morning and the hotel seemed nice. When arrived it looked really good. Right away when registering in with a friend started the problems. The staff went to discuss in private and after a while came back to tell that they would show us our room which was going to be in another building than the reception. That seemed ok since we knew that they had rooms like that. When we were escorted to the other building we noticed that it was really a different hotel, or in fact not a hotel but a hostel. With no hesitation the clerk was going to place us in there. I stopped him and told him that we could stay at this other hotel too but I checked that hotel earlier and it was half the price than the one we really booked. I told that this was not what we booked and paid for in advance also. Then he just took us back to Murillo and suddenly they had a room for us there as suopposed in the first place. There was no apologies or such and this left us with a really bad taste of the hotel. I would never suggest any one to book a room in this hotel. It seemed so clear that they tried to scam us. There are plenty of other hotels in the are too propably operating honestly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Veli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed one night. It was the perfect location to walk to the Cathedral and other sights.
We paid for parking and the car was in a private area of the garage- and our wind shield was cleaned by the hotel staff before our departure. What a pleasant surprise! The festivals were happening and we would most likely come the next time at a more quiet time of year. The breakfast was lovely. Our room was near an elevator and still relatively quiet. it's size was small but adequate. You receive a free drink on the bar on the roof. We sat up there and could hardly leave, it was so lovely. The wifi worked great in our room.

Room Tip: Someone mentioned having a balcony. That might be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsciousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Murillo. The reception area is beautiful and a good place to hang out. Our room was small and the bathroom was tiny. But for two nights it was just fine. Worth trading space for the great location. The reception staff were very helpful. The Flamenco show they recommended (Los Galos) was awesome. I would definitely recommend this quaint Hotel in Seville.

Room Tip: Worth enquiring about the apartments. They might be bigger?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is nothing special, the front desk staff were ok, not super friendly. We stayed for 2 nights in May. We had a private balcony that was great to dry our clothes on and we could hear the church bells from our room in the morning, that was nice. They do have parking for a fee, it's a garage about a 10 min walk away but worth it. There is no place for a car in this part of town.

Room Tip: Balcony in front is noisy from the restaurants below but balcony door is noise proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Recently stayed here with friends for a couple of days and found the hotel great. The location is fantastic as it is in walking distance of everywhere you want to see while in Seville. The rooms are fine and the bathroom has everything you want but especially hot water. Receptionists were all helpful when asked any questions and enjoy your free drink in the terrace bar at night when the view of the cathedral at night is lovely. Would certainly return to the hotel if went back to Seville.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed as a couple in May 2013. The first room had construction outside the window so they were very helpful and quickly changed our room to another one at street-level. The furnishings were simple and plain but everything was very clean. The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was super and worth the price for sure. The roofdeck was great and sunny although the pictures have much nicer furniture than is actually up there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#39 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Hotel Amadeus
#10 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing