We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location. Two Sites. Ask for the "Apartment side"”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #34 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Location. Two Sites. Ask for the "Apartment side"”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location is fabulous. There are two "Murillos" across the street from each other. The rooms in the hotel part are quite small. The rooms in the apartment side are much larger. In the Barrio Santa Cruz. Only minutes on foot from all the sites in the old city. It is pointless having a car in Seville. If you take a taxi from the train station they will take you to Plaza Santa Cruz and you will have to drag your bags about 100 yards. The breakfast buffet is OK. The front desk staff was quite knowledgable and gave very good recommendations for restaurants and directions to sites. There is wireless internet access.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MkMD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you in Seville and, as you said, you can book now in our Apartments Murillo so you can be as comfortable as you wish.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    919
    255
    73
    27
See reviews for
276
958
78
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Standard rooms and large bathrooms with a bidet. Really small tv, miniature. Hotel faces a charming courtyard with tables belonging to the restaurant across the way. Constant flow of tourists walk by the hotel due to the charming alleys of Barrio Santa Cruz. The restaurant stays open to the wee hours of 1-2am and is open early, I think they never close. Luckily the window is double pane and very little noise came into the room. Beds were quite firm. Room had a desk and great Wifi signal. Rooms were very basic, paid about 120 euros a night, which included breakfast. Location is close to the Bus Station, a short walk thru the park and the main street where a cab can be hailed for a short 5 minute ride to the train station. Many good tapas bars and restaurants nearby. Plenty of souvenir shops all throughout their neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest
We are glad that your stay at the Hotel and Apartments Murillo was satisfactory. Thank you for the time and comment, your opinion is very important.
We are very happy to hear that despite of the noise from the street was a peaceful stay and you could enjoy all our facilities.
Best regards and hope to see you in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have a place on the coast where we visit every year and like to come up to Seville for a couple of days of the buzz around the Barrio Santa Cruz . This 2 star (which belies its quality) is in a perfect location, relatively basic and is clean. Breakfasts are good for the price, wi-fi is present, close to a car park and we have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The most significant thing is, though, the location right in the area with all the restaurants, tapas bars, the Cathedral/Alcazar, flamenco clubs and on the edge of the main shopping drags. As good as it gets for this reason, though its price does tend to reflect this. Ask for a front room on an upper floor if possible - some lower floor rooms may be a tad noisy from the bar down below at the wrong times and those at the rear a bit dark - sounds negative, but for a night or two it is worth it for where it is situated in our view ......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daviren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your time and comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and that your room was as you liked.
Hope to see you soon in Seville.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

When we arrived it took forever to get our room and it seemed like the room assignment was not very efficient (we booked months in advance but it seemed unclear what room they should give us). The room was basic but clean. Only a single international TV channel. The curtains could be better (the room did not get really dark at night).
The location of the hotel is very good, it is just minutes to walk to the cathedral and many other attractions.
The breakfast buffet needs serious improvement - the juice is watered and not very tasty, the croissants and some other bread was dry through our stay (yesterdays bread from some bakery?). There where yogurt, some fruit, sliced white bread, coffee and tea etc that was good though.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors to not get disturbed by restaurants etc on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnusTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear client,
Thank you for your feedback as we hope to improve our service.
About the issues mentioned we just want to inform that for 2014 we are looking to do some improvements. Regarding the check-in we have notice it, so hopefully in a future will be to your liking and for the other clients.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location is great for visiting the main sites but most of the eating places nearby are geared up for tourists and are pretty average. The little bar over the road is good for a simple breakfast.
Our room was very basic and dark and dreary. There was little storage space, no mirror in the room (only in the bathroom) and the TV was hardly any bigger than my I-pad!
At full price this is very poor value, but brownie points for the manager who eventually agreed to charge us the booking.com rate instead of the hotel rack rate which our friends had initially booked - a saving of €150 over 3 days.
I wouldn't go back here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJK42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments.
We apologize for the inconvenience suffered and that the room was not as you desired. About the other issues, just mention that in 2014 we have planned some improvements.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooms were not ready at 4.30pm on a hot afternoon. We had tried to get in on two previous occasions but kept being told "another hour"! We made a real fuss and were given a room which turned out to be a single! We had booked a double! Lots of arguing at the reception amongst the managers and no explanation given.
The room was clean but minimal facilities.
The Hotel is in great area for Tapas and for the main sites. Slightly difficult to find as its down a couple of narrow streets but once you remember the route its ok.
Breakfast was included. Fresh fruit, cereals good but the coffee was undrinkable. The cafe right opposite the hotel does good coffee..even the hotel staff go in there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ideally situation within 5 minutes walk of the alcazar and cathedral this is a little gem. Tucked away in a side street with a roof top terrace looking out to the cathedral we could not have asked for more.
The buffet breakfast was very good. Although the rooms were on the small side and a little dark the beds were clean and comfortable which in my view is most important.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumpy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLuisLopezMtnez, Gerente at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to see that you had a satisfactory stay and we ope to see you soon.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#32 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#43 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Hotel Amadeus
#9 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing