We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two nights, 22-24 July 2013. Brilliant hotel! All we could ask for. Lovely terrace on the roof for evening drinks, close to everything.could just walk everywhere. Highly recommended! The location was just perfect. Close to 24 hour parking, safe and convenient. Absolutely gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304, which was very good, with everything you would need. Probably wouldn't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nillawvanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hubby and I just stayed there on July 10th and it was wonderful. What a gem of a hotel and agree with all the positives noted by others. It is in a great central location, within the twisty back streets of Santa Cruz, just a stroll from the Murillo gardens and sites such as the Cathedral. It was incredibly hot, so we didn't really get chance to 'do' Seville and will deffo go back. The room was quirky but comfy, bathroom absolutely fine, continental breakfast great too but there is just so much character within the hotel, you don't know where to look next. The reception staff were lovely and sorted us out with Flamenco tickets at Gallos (also great), so can't fault. There is a secure, public underground parking garage just on the other site of the gardens, 5 min walk away, which made it easier than we expected to get sorted - cano y cueto, 21 Euros overnight (maybe longer but we only stayed a night, so I don't know). Loved Seville, loved the hotel and when we go back for a better explore, we will certainly stay again - check out the rooftop terrace for a nightcap, the view of the Cathedral is knock-out. Drinks and food really very reasonably-priced, as was the rest of Seville to be fair and the little bar across the way was great too, when you get booted out of the terrace. Lovely stay, thank you for having us and we'll be back for sure to get a better look around when its a bit cooler, 48degrees was a bit toasty for exploring - thank you to the café/restaurant owners for fitting their parasols with water-mist sprays! Fab idea and I felt like an orchid :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location perfect... Easy to get around to all attractions we had room 405 and it was fine yes we did hear the lift on occasion but no big deal really no view but quiet could hear the church bells every morning...great little place that is clean and not that pricey,breakfast usual European breakfast standard hotel fare nice to grab a coffee and a bite before you head out it was June 30th so temp was in the high 30s nicer in the morning by 3pm you need a siesta... It is scorching and my only gripe was no change ever for the vending machines which are advertised everywhere even in the elevator
I was disappointed with the tapas bars in the area the food was very average take a look at the ones reviewed here and go to those the rest just dish out small bowls of minuscule meats and packet dried biscuits or very stale bread!!!! Service at restaurants mostly poor ...careless attitudes ...the restaurant outside the hotel I sat at one afternoon having a drink and watched four tables sit down and then get up and leave because the waitress was busy eating and the other staff couldn't be bothered...really poor avoid unless its a drink...the roof top bar is fantastic the bar lady very attentive and the views amazing Get a map it's useful and walk as you see so much more of the real seville..Lovely town...one note wish I had booked the tapas tour as you will get no help from the waiters if you don't speak Spanish and everyone raved at how good it was so that could be something to do..( they have been reviewed on TP) overall fab town decent hotel lovely place for a few days

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank chipevans77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hotel Murillo is located in the Barrio of Santa Cruz in the city of Sevilla, Spain. The large cathedral and Giralda Tower are less than 5 minutes from the hotel, walking. The rooms are good sized with all of today's modern conveniences including air conditioning. Breakfast is included and is delightfully well stocked. There is a roof-top terrace as well where one can order both food and drinks. From there one can see the Giralda Tower which is well-lit at night. The Management is friendly and very helpful. There are no cars or other types of transportation in the Barrio, including taxis, however taxis stop on the edges of this location which makes dropping off and picking up passengers very easy. Staying in this location is an adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRichards_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

my first visit, but mum been times previously. Beautiful hotel, great location central to all places...attractions, bars ,etc. very accommodating given room that was not happy with then changed no probs. room with balcony much better. staff very friendly, def. return again if travelling to Seville.breakfast fab loads of choice very nice.roof terrace a must :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddypip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fabulous position in the Santa Cruz Barrio, 5 minutes to the Cathedral and main street. Good breakfast, great staff. Our room was quite small and a bit noisy, but just ask for a room change. Roof top terrace bar and also a restaurant just out side the entrance to the hotel if you were too tired to walk another 300 metres to the next restaurant!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the ground floor numbered 100-110
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belindas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're looking for the best of Seville's historic Santa Cruz area, the Hotel Murillo is the place. There are more luxurious modern hotels not that far away, but there's nothing like being in the maze-like district itself, just five minutes away from the historic cathedral and Alcazar. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff was excellent and very helpful. It's very close to nightlife and some great restaurants (though not the one right outside its front door; we tried it and were disappointed before asking for suggestions from the staff and noticing that none of those suggestions included their neighbor). It's a nice morning or evening walk to the amazing Plaza de Espana (go when the lighting is most dramatic). You'll have to be OK with a public parking garage just outside Santa Cruz and walking to the hotel. Entering the maze for the first time armed only with a Google Maps app, it took us 25 minutes to get to the hotel. Once we had our bearings, it took us 10 minutes to get back to the car. Go around Santa Cruz on the main street and enter through the other end at the park and you'll find the hotel much more quickly. When leaving, go out the same way you came in and walk around to the garage. But we love Santa Cruz, Seville, and the Hotel Murillo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#46 of 177 in Seville
752 reviews
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#92 of 177 in Seville
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,576 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,829 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 177 in Seville
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $54 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing