We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Room”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #42 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Hotel Murillo is in a good location, the breakfast was good, and the reception staff was very friendly but the room itself was very disappointing. We had asked for a room with a balcony and were paying quite a premium for that. The room itself was tired, but the worst part was that on the balcony there was the distinct odour of sewage coming from a drain in the balcony floor! We had been travelling for 30 hours at this point, were only staying two nights, and luckily, with the window closed, the odour didn't make it into the room itself, so we didn't complain. However, this was the most expensive room we had in our month long stay (of which this was the first two nights), and the most disappointing. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the floor below the terrace, with a balcony. Make sure they don't give you this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank currie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was nicely located though challenging at times to find as it is in an area of narrow streets that look different at different times of day and night. Carry your map! We very much enjoyed the view from the Terrace on top where we would relax in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, and rooms clean and large enough for the two of us. Lots to see and do in Seville and a nice pace of living . A favorite stop on our journey in Spain! Enjoyed the ancient looking decor at Hotel Murillo.

Room Tip: We were in a second floor interior room and found it quiet and pleasant for 3 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudyfingerlakes_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Located in the old Jewish area it is well located for bars, restaurants and many of Seville's historic attractions. Rooms are small as was our bathroom that had a shower that most people would have difficulty using due to its small size. Walls are paper thin so there is always a chance of noisy neighbours. Despite the negatives it is a reasonably priced hotel in a good location so worth considering. One oddity is when booking direct on line you can only book one room at a time. We wanted two rooms so had to book by phone. I mentioned this to the manager who thought is was perfectly normal to have to book rooms one by one. Not easy if you need several rooms. Agency web sites do accept multi room bookings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I went to this hotel on the 9th june and was pleased with the outcome of this hotel. 2 friends and I were on the 5th floor which was lovely. Although the room did not have a fridge, we were able to cope. I would definitely reccommend this hotel as we loved it so much probably because compared to our other friend's rooms we had the 'penthouse suite'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roshni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel, as already observed, is in an excellent location. Staff are very obliging, and pubic areas like the foyer and rooftop terrace are good. Breakfast is very acceptable, but could do with some healthier options. Coco pops and corn flakes was not much of a cereal range, and the tinned juice and flavoured yogurt didn't do much for sugar levels either.
The serious area of weakness is in the rooms themselves. We paid an average of 85€ a night for a room which barely fitted the two narrow single beds it contained, with just enough room to walk around them. The window opened onto a small light well, with no outlook, and which amplified any noise.
Housekeeping was stingy. No tissues. One small cake of soap, not replaced over three days. Two small sachets of shower gel allocated per day- pity if you want to have more than one shower per day.
I'd hope I could do better for that sort of money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words.
We regret that a part of your trip wasn't so pleasant: thanks for writing, it will be a good advice for us to improve ourselves.
Best regards,
Davide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff here are really lovely. Our room was a little small but clean. The walls are thin and noise is a problem. The hotel is in a fantastic location though and so easy to get around. Fantastic vibe in Seville.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words,
ABout the things you didn't like we'll do our best in order to improve ourselves.
Best regards,
Davide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent several nights here last week and enjoyed the stay at this Hotel. While the rooms may be small the location in Barrio Santa Cruz is wonderful and so easy to just walk back to your room and cool your heels a bit. Or, go up to the roof top(Terraza Bar) and enjoy a glass of and enjoy the view. The staff was always pleasant and helpful when I had questions and arranged a taxi for me the morning of my departure(which was quite punctual). If you need more room they have apartments as well just across the walkway. Overall great experience here!!!
One piece of advice: be patient (as with most hotels) if you arrive early and they don't have your room ready.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X-man60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We wish you all the best,
Davide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#46 of 177 in Seville
752 reviews
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#92 of 177 in Seville
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,577 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#35 of 177 in Seville
2,829 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 177 in Seville
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $53 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing