We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was way better than i expected!!”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This hotel was way better than i expected!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I went to this hotel on the 9th june and was pleased with the outcome of this hotel. 2 friends and I were on the 5th floor which was lovely. Although the room did not have a fridge, we were able to cope. I would definitely reccommend this hotel as we loved it so much probably because compared to our other friend's rooms we had the 'penthouse suite'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshni r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    942
    262
    77
    31
See reviews for
286
990
83
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel, as already observed, is in an excellent location. Staff are very obliging, and pubic areas like the foyer and rooftop terrace are good. Breakfast is very acceptable, but could do with some healthier options. Coco pops and corn flakes was not much of a cereal range, and the tinned juice and flavoured yogurt didn't do much for sugar levels either.
The serious area of weakness is in the rooms themselves. We paid an average of 85€ a night for a room which barely fitted the two narrow single beds it contained, with just enough room to walk around them. The window opened onto a small light well, with no outlook, and which amplified any noise.
Housekeeping was stingy. No tissues. One small cake of soap, not replaced over three days. Two small sachets of shower gel allocated per day- pity if you want to have more than one shower per day.
I'd hope I could do better for that sort of money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank impossible50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words.
We regret that a part of your trip wasn't so pleasant: thanks for writing, it will be a good advice for us to improve ourselves.
Best regards,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are really lovely. Our room was a little small but clean. The walls are thin and noise is a problem. The hotel is in a fantastic location though and so easy to get around. Fantastic vibe in Seville.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you so much for the nice words,
ABout the things you didn't like we'll do our best in order to improve ourselves.
Best regards,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent several nights here last week and enjoyed the stay at this Hotel. While the rooms may be small the location in Barrio Santa Cruz is wonderful and so easy to just walk back to your room and cool your heels a bit. Or, go up to the roof top(Terraza Bar) and enjoy a glass of and enjoy the view. The staff was always pleasant and helpful when I had questions and arranged a taxi for me the morning of my departure(which was quite punctual). If you need more room they have apartments as well just across the walkway. Overall great experience here!!!
One piece of advice: be patient (as with most hotels) if you arrive early and they don't have your room ready.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X-man60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Receptionist at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We wish you all the best,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Decided to overnight at this hotel because the room rate was so good plus the position suited being close to the Prado de San Sebastian bus station etc which is about 12 minutes walk away. Having taken taxi from the airport for daytime fare Euros 25 the driver dropped us at the small square accessed through the park ...I think all taxi drivers know where the hotel is but it is down a small alleyway with obviously know taxi access. The hotel lobby feels welcoming but hotel check in was slower than normal but nevertheless efficient and soon in room on 3rd floor. I imagine that each room is slightly different but ours had a window looking onto an internal courtyard shaft which was nice because it was quiet and possible to wake up to daylight ! The room and bathroom were very clean and came with minibar for cold water etc to pay on departure. The usual standard long pillow was too puny for my liking and before retiring should have asked for another pillow...not certain if this would have been forthcoming. The sleep quality was otherwise good. Breakfast not taken at hotel as used my regular cafe on way to the bus station but as you are in the Barrio Santa Cruz you have a wide offering of bars and cafes nearby. So overall this hotel does offer a good lodging if you want to be in Barrio Santa Cruz and not pay an exorbitant price. It also offers free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
It’s a pleasure to read such good words written toward our hotel!
We hope that you can visit us again the future,
Best regards,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The hotel lobby is inviting - pay attention to the ceiling, very intricate.

I was surprised when we arrived and saw that we are actually right in the midst of cool historic buildings.

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel. This is the hotel where you want to be - clean, reasonably priced, staff are helpful and cheerful.

Pick this hotel. Just sayin'

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for finding time to write such a nice review on our hotel.
Have a great day,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good location providing you are not dragging heavy bags. Tired hotel with varying standards of cleanliness- other people's bobbypins still in the bathroom etc. Our room on the ground floor looked out into a depressing ventilation shaft. The bathroom flurescent light tube was flickering which we reported on the first night and it probably continues to flicker to this day. The saving grace of this hotel was the attractive and scenic roof garden bar which we only discovered by accident on our last night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#43 of 175 in Seville
730 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,451 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 175 in Seville
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing