We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!”
Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #35 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Aveiro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Small Hotel in a excellent location in the heart of the historic Santa Cruz neighborhood, 5 minutes from Sevilla Catedral and the Real Alcazar.
Gentle staff, clean rooms, good enough for the money you pay. :)
Allow us to walk to every attraction passing the warm and beautiful Santa Cruz neighborhood.
Very good value for money, but Breakfast not included. :(


Warning: Check-out at 10am.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PereiraMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We wish you all the best,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    934
    261
    74
    31
See reviews for
281
984
80
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were made to move rooms between our first and second night and found both rooms to not have been cleaned properly.

The rooftop terrace is a good feature and the hotel lobby looks great but the actual rooms are nowhere as nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varsseveld, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Right in the center of Santa Cruz, 5 mins walk to the cathedral, various good restaurants within a 100 meter radius. Rooms are quite basic, no safe, no fridge. Everything nice and clean. Breakfast is a good buffet. Bonus is the roof terrace with a nice view of the cathedral. The shower cabin is really tiny. It is in a pedestrian area. If you travel by car it is best to go directly to the parking garage which is at (approx) 30 Avenida Menedez Pelayo and walk to the hotel from there (200 meter approx) via Plaza de las Refinadores and Plaza Santa Cruz. The hotel is only 2 star, I think becouse of the basic rooms. The rest is 3 star at least.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for finding time to write such a nice review on our hotel.
Have a great day,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The taxi leaves you in the Plaza de Santa Cruz. The hotel is behind the Los Gallos flamenco venue. The 7y9 address was confusing, as we saw the address, but it was above a large door that opened to a private area. The residents pointed us farther up the street (and around a corner) to the hotel. This area is a rabbit warren of twisting and non parallel streets, and alleys. Every time we left and returned we wandered around until we ran into the hotel. If timing is a problem, get your bearings before you venture out! You can waste 10 minutes going here and there. But it was all part of the adventure.
We walked almost everywhere – to the Alcazar, Cathedral, Flamenco Museum, Bull Ring, Inquisition Museum across the river.. Came home from the Flamenco Show at the museum (recommended) about 11pm with no problem. Well lit streets/alley ways and people out and about.

WiFi in room. Helpful desk personnel. Great breakfast buffet, with eggs, bacon (or at least what Spaniards call bacon – it looks raw, but is supposedly cured, tastes ok. In contrast, we had a real, crispy bacon and cheese hamburger at an Irish pub on the main drag near the bull ring). The hotel croissants are so fresh, with toaster, yummy yogurt cups, fresh fruit, multi type of coffees dispenser and teas. Cereal with milk was so so. The servers kept everything stocked and tables cleaned off. 24 hour desk had helpful personnel. The setting of the open air, roof top bar is a delight especially at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHinSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
It’s a pleasure to read such good words written toward our hotel!
We hope that you can visit us again the future,
Best regards,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We wanted a hotel in the centre of Seville and the Hotel Murillo could not be more central as it is in the heart of the old Santa Cruz area. This hotel is small with excellent staff who gave us superb service. The facilities are not those of a large resort but that is not what you choose this hotel for. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed, air conditioning and a good modern bathroom. The hotel only serves breakfast but eating out is no problem as the area is very well served for restaurants. Near to the Cathedral ( a good evening view from the rooftop bar) the hotel is surrounded by myriads of small alleys and the explorer will come across beautiful small squares with tapas bars and restaurants galore. If you want to find historic Seville and have a small quality, comfortable hotel as a base then you won't be disappointed with the Hotel Murillo. You cannot park at the hotel but there is a public underground car park within 10 minutes walk. For those without a car a taxi can take you to Plaza de Santa Cruz which is less than 5 minutes walk to the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaRandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We wish you all the best,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of Santa Cruz this was our second visit here because you are a stones throw from the heart of Seville. Most of the rooms face onto the narrow alleyway and there is a lovely little cafe opposite which is open til late, hence a lot of noise. But who wants to go to bed early when there is so much going on until the early hours. Very helpful staff and very clean. The only down side is the poor breakfast, for a country renowned for its wonderful food this is poor value so find a little cafe nearby.

Room Tip: There are rooms with balconies on level 4 but they do not have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
It’s a pleasure to read such good words written toward our hotel!
We hope that you can visit us again the future,
Best regards,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Murillo for 2 nights. Though it was a little tricky to find (which comes with the territory because of the history of the neighborhood) - we loved the location. It gave us a great historic feel for old Spain, and I absolutely adored the charm of Santa Cruz. The hotel staff was for the most part friendly-though the man who checked us in didn't offer to give us a map of suggestions of where to go. The room was small, but clean and the beds were not very comfortable. Because of the size of the hotel you can hear everyone and everything. We heard the guests upstairs and we heard people passing outside in the hallway. That made sleeping difficult. We had breakfast once downstairs, which was decent. You could get better at a cafe outside. The wi-fi was ok in the rooms, but better in the lobby. We loved getting lost around the hotel because of the pedestrian "streets" that led to the the cathedral and the Alcazar. There are plenty of cafes and tapas bars within walking distance. Overall we loved the location of this hotel, and we would come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGrozev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmurillo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Murillo, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for finding time to write such a nice review on our hotel.
Have a great day,
Davide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 175 in Seville
4,177 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#36 of 175 in Seville
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,443 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 175 in Seville
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Murillo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing