We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rm 410 was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murillo
Ranked #32 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rm 410 was great!”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Started off in rm 112. Stay away from these 1st floor rooms - their windows are literally right on the alleyway and people walking by are within 1 meter of being in your room. So you keep your windows shut the whole time and, while the room is reasonably well-lit, this gets depressing after awhile and it's totally not worth the $$. After 2 nights, we were able to switch to a different room, rm 410. This was beautiful, with a sunny private balcony - just a great room and worth 130 euros/night. Note Sevilla hotels just seem to be really expensive.

Front desk was perfectly nice and competent and luckily for us they spoke passable English. Great location, in the middle of the barrio Santa Cruz. Both rooms were nice, clean, comfortable and updated (with AC).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    905
    253
    72
    27
See reviews for
272
943
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

If you just saw the lobby, you'd think this was a gem. But after two nights in our tiny, 4th floor room, the smell of mold became very apparent. Then an odd sulfurous smell started coming through the air vent every afternoon. When we opened the window not only did the room heat up quickly, but we couldn't get it shut again without the help of the maintenance guy. No matter how high we turned up the air conditioner, the room continued to be hot and stuffy. Unfortunately, we had two more nights to endure here. The buffet breakfast was awful...canned or unripe fruit, no yogurt after the first day...nothing remotely appetizing. A double bed is actually two twins pushed together but made up separately. And barely enough room for one of our two suitcases.
I think this place was "renovated" by just applying a coat of paint over some very serious mold issues.
Oh yeah, and no internet in the rooms. I really hate that, but would overlook it were it not for the other issues.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudityE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Murillo. on arrival we were checked in by a receptionist, who appeared to be either ill, or hung over, either way We couldn't say that he was over friendly, but then again neither were any of his colleagues that we encountered during our stay. A smile, and a welcome, goes a long way in our opinion. We requested a quite room and were given room 304, which was perfect. The room was clean and pleasent , as was the bathroom. Breakfast is continental and there is a toaster. The hotel in general is very good, it is in a perfect position, and represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Decent hotel in a brilliant location. Just a couple of hundred metres from the cathedral and 10 mins walk from the airport bus drop off point. Very clean. Good staff. Very reasonable price at around €50 per night. Decent breakfast with decent coffee.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDavies75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in this characterful hotel (the suit of armour in the reception is unusual!) which is located in Barrio Santa Cruz.

We walked to the hotel from the bus drop off point, which took around 15 minutes; which included a nice walk across the park / gardens area. It isn't the simplest of hotels to find (it's very easy to take a wrong turn in the small streets of the Barrio), but we managed it quickly enough.

The hotel is quiet, with no cars driving past. There is a tapas bar on the corner opposite, but there was no noise noticeable from our room which overlooked the street.

It is in an ideal location to explore the city, within walking distance of the main sights (Alcazar, cathedral, plaza de Espana); and with plenty of options for eating or drinking around.

The breakfast is a help yourself buffet-style, continental with a few cooked items; pleasant without being exceptional.

I very much enjoyed Seville (which is a lovely city) and staying at this hotel contributed to the positive experience. If I were to go back to the city, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Hotel Murillo again. The staff were polite, and spoke fluent English (and I think German too).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Murillo in early June. The hotel's located in the historic jewish quarter of the city, and it's in a great location. It was so easy to walk to all the sites, along with all the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself was beautiful. Well decorated - elegant, but still in keeping with the local culture, history and style. They have a roof-top deck with a great view of La Giralda - a perfect place to take photos. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they are clean and charming. The room had shutter-windows which opened out for a view of the narrow streets & alleyways. The cobble-stone walkways are REALL narrow, but it all adds to the charm. It feels like you've gone back in time a few centuries walking through the city and this Hotel really enhances the whole experience. Also have to mention the concierge was really friendly and helpful. He helped us book a tour we were happy with.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just spent a couple of nights here and what a great hotel. Room was small and basic but clean with a nice bathroom and who stays in the room all day anyway! Friendly with good breakfast and bang in the centre of it all, close to Giralda and gardens alike. Will definately go again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms hav a view of a wall so pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treefrog40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 179 in Seville
2,534 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
3,868 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alcantara
Hotel Alcantara
#41 of 179 in Seville
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amadeus
#10 of 179 in Seville
1,903 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos - Suites Santa Cruz
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murillo

Property: Hotel Murillo
Address: Calle Lope de Rueda 7-9 | Barrio de Santa Cruz, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Seville
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Murillo 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murillo Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing