We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, only seven deluxe rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taberna del Alabardero
Ranked #97 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hard to find by car when you pass by, because heart of the location is a grand restaurant. When we arrived we learned that there are only seven rooms in this typical Andalusian town house. We occupied two rooms named after Andalusian cities "Huelva" and "Granada". Both were very comfortable and unique in a classical way.

Breakfast was good for Spanish standards.

Location is perfect.

Room Tip: "Huelva" was a nice corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bkkfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 170 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Taberna is a chain of gourmet restaurants with locations in several cities including WashingtonDC. The building is centrally located close to the cathedral. The hotel rooms are on the third floor and are charming, decorated with old pieces and good taste. They are named after the main Andalusia cities. We stayed in Corboba room. It is small, but the bathroom is a gem and has a Jacuzzi which came in handy after a long walking day. The continental breakfast was a disappointment for us after being spoiled in Madrid and Barcelona with plenty and hearty buffets. We didn't try the gourmet restaurant in the second floor but the cafeteria in the first floor offers daily three course menus of tasty food, reasonable priced, and served by the students of the cooking school which is operated in the same building.

Room Tip: Take the apartments for extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camoto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Close to the Plaza de Armas bus station and to the main tourist sites. Plenty of nice bars and restaurants nearby (Triana area is less touristy and cheaper than the old town). Rooms very clean and comfortable, and the staff very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is good (ask for the Spansih version with salmorejo and manteca colorá). There are two restaurants: the upstairs one is quite expensive but very popular, the downstairs one is associated with a cooking school and offered amazingly good value fo money and quality of food & service. Fast wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onewheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Taberna. Reception on arrival was very good even though we were too early to check into our room. Someone immediately helped us unload and then parked our car and we sat in the cafe area with a drink until our room was ready. The hotel is in a very interesting and beautiful 19 century house and our room was delightful. However breakfast was truly awful - so bad that we certainly wouldn't think of eating dinner or lunch in the restaurant. A basket of half a toasted roll, and three or four minute, stale pastries was plonked down each morning on one of the coffee tables in the reception room, together with a dish of watery tomatoes and half a champagne glass of orange juice each. We were asked whether we would have a cup of tea or coffee. A second cup was not offered. One morning there was a dish of fresh fruit on the bar so I took a kiwi fruit and a strawberry but met with a baleful glare from the waitress. The experience each morning was very unpleasant. We agree with the other critcal reviews on TripAdvisor of this hotel which point out that management's focus is on the restaurants and not on the hotel guests but what a missed opportunity as we would not reccommend to anyone to eat here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PossumAdelaideSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel is in a good position to visit most of the central attractions. The room was comfortable but no balcony unfortunately. We had heard that the restaurant was s chef school and that they did reasonably priced lunches. However, when we were there, this was not the case. Anyway, a good base for a weekend in Seville. Lovely breakfast, laid out on your table in front of you, with fresh juice and coffee. This hotel is clean, attractive and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkStar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

There is a popular Spanish song which features the lyric “Sevilla tiene un color especial”, Hotel Alabardero has its own charm which blends in with the romantic environment of Seville. I stayed in Granada room, the bath room is equipped with a spa tub! It is tranquil, warm with human spirits, I felt so comfortable and wanted to stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank man727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

They try, but miss by a lot. I went there on Rick Steves recommendation 10 years ago - it's even worse today.

Oversweet desserts, tough meat.

We were charged "festival" prices on Good Friday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank sljsbhHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Palacio Pinello
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 177 in Seville
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#31 of 177 in Seville
912 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Suites Sevilla Plaza
Suites Sevilla Plaza
#6 of 163 in Seville
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taberna del Alabardero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taberna del Alabardero

Address: Calle Zaragoza 20, 41001 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#50 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $120 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taberna del Alabardero 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Taberna del Alabardero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taberna Alabardero Hotel
Taberna Del Alabardero Seville
Taberna Del Alabardero Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing