We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but OK Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Sevilla
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired but OK Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was touring with my band and we ended up in Seville for the night. I was offered a late check out for the next day and charged €20 for the privilege, I paid as I didn't want to sit for 4 hours in the lobby. Other than that the check in was friendly and efficient.

My allocated room was small and had nowhere to put my bag, I had to put it on the floor and spent my whole stay tripping over it. The bar was fine and we didn't eat in the hotel except for a rather good breakfast.

The next day I was having a post breakfast nap (too many years touring is taking it"s toll) when I was called. The woman didn't speak any English and my Spanish is poor. I think she was asking when I was checking out but, we failed to communicate at any level. I then had a series of visits from housekeeping despite paying for a late checkout and hanging the do not disturb on my door. They also don't seem capable of knocking, they just walk straight in and to see my naked form emerging from the bed. My nap was ruined and their day was too.

So, in summary, it's not a bad place, the rooms were too small, breakfast was good and irritating housekeepers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesRainbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,247
    351
    111
    41
See reviews for
551
1,313
69
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

A mixed bag... Rooms are refurbished and comfy in a 3-4 star way. Pool was closed for repairs and wasn't scheduled to open before June 1, which was sent shame given the website's great photo (what I expected... Sadly not). Spa closed three months ago, not expected to reopen. Location Ok but a bit far from the sights and centre. Saving grace is the staff, who were all friendly and helpful--seems to be a Melia signature trait. Needs a facelift...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RayKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Spent 4 nights here with 3 other couples. Booked early and fantastic value for what we paid. Does not look too good outside but inside is very smart. Great rooms with views over city. Breakfast one of the best we have had anywhere. A 20 minute walk to the centre. Also tram to centre is close by. Would certainly stay there again. Staff all very helpful. Has an outside pool sadly shut for retiling, but we still cooled off in the children's pool!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in May and loved it. The check in was very efficient and the room was spotless. We had a double room with a bath, shower and his and hers sinks. The only gripe we had was that the shower wasn't very powerful, just trickled out but there was another shower in the bath tub that we used instead. Some lovely little Melia touches in the room, bath, shower gels etc. We would also have liked to have had a kettle in the room.

The lobby was stunning with a funky lit bar and restaurant. The hotel itself is about a 15 minute walk to the main cathedral, but as we are in our 20's this didn't bother us too much. There are a few nice restaurants along the way and the hotel is situated next to the Plaza Espana which makes a stunning walk in the evening (we were lucky to have a 20 piece band practicing one evening, very relaxing!). There is also a beautiful park next door with a couple of lovely large buildings to take a look at, very well maintained grounds.

Would recommend this hotel to everyone that doesn't mind a nice stroll to get to the main cathedral (touristy area). There is also a lovely restaurant across the road that does delicious cod and pork!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annamal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Melia Sevilla is a good hotel and is at a walking distance from most attractions in Sevilla. The rooms were alright, though the wifi was quite erratic. Given the location, the view from most rooms isn't particularly scenic. The albufera restaurant is fantastic, and a must visit for the paela. A decent hotel overall.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked online (we stayed for 4 nights) and hadn't realised quite how big and corporate this hotel would be - so it wasn't really to our taste. It was also slightly further away from the main centre than we'd appreciated - although there is a tram stop about 5 minutes walk away. That said, our room was very comfortable indeed - spacious, excellent bathroom, plenty of cupboard space and a really comfortable bed. We had room only so didn't try the breakfast - for that, we just walked into town and found some reasonable places to eat (Cristina & Co - café opposite the old tobacco factory / now university was excellent). Given the choice, we wouldn't stay here again as we discovered some much more promising-looking hotels on our wandering around town.

Room Tip: We requested a 'quiet' room and got one that was set back a bit from the main road. You coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is near the downtown area, therefore is a good location if you want to visit the monuments of Sevilla. However, the hotel is quite dirty and the service not very polite. The building is huge, but quite old, the hall is updated but the rest of the building needs some restyling.
In my room I found hair and the wc was dirty. Besides in the hallways to get to my room there were left overs of room service left on the floor for a whole day. It was quite disgusting and definitely not something you expect from a four star hotel. When I complained the answer was cold and impolite. I think you can find much better hotels in the downtown areas, with Spanish flavor and clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale77Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
NH Collection Sevilla
#17 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
NH Sevilla Plaza de Armas
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#35 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Property: Melia Sevilla
Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#18 Business Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing