We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of communication” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Sevilla
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lack of communication”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

As the temperature in Seville was in the 30s, one of the most important reasons for booking this hotel was the swimming pool. After checking in we went to see the pool before having lunch. Imagine our surprise when we were confronted with an empty pool being concreted. Only the childrens' pool, about 18inches deep had water. Nobody had mentioned this at reception. When we saw the Customer Relations Manager she told us that there had been a leak two days previously and there had not been time to inform customers. I find it very difficult to believe that a pool of this size could have been emptied, had all the tiles removed, been made ready and concreted within this time frame. She said we could have a room at the Melia Lebreros, or use the swimming pool there. The Lebreros is a 25 minute walk away or a 6 euros taxi ride each way· Hardly an easy option after a hot day in the city. We had chosen the Melia as opposed to Lebreros as it had been refurbished. Another guest went to look at the rooms and said they were poor. Many people I spoke to thought it very bad that on checking in nobody had explained the situation or apologised.

When will hotels learn that it is always better to be upfront and honest?

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,247
    351
    111
    41
See reviews for
551
1,313
69
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a three day mini break in this hotel with friends and it was first class. Breakfast, rooms, staff, cleanliness, bar were all first class I cannot comment on the pool as I did not use it but it looked ok. Pool bar was basic but the barman Juan was a gem so friendly polite and always had a smile no matter what time of day it was. Breakfast selection was one of the best I have seen in hotels and the cava with orange juice every morning was very nice indeed. The hotel itself it about a ten fifteen minute walk from the major sight seeing attractions which was not a problem to us as we enjoyed the lovely walk every day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hejb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in 2 floor, payed around 75 a night without breakfast.

Rooms are brand new, pool was under maintenance and wasn't informed of it when booking, not even on check-in, so thats why a 3 mark for service.

Despite this and comparing with sister hotel Lebreros, completely recomend it. There are many parking spaces for your car around the hotel, dont spend the 20euros a night for the garage, it is an insulting fee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroAugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located at the edge of town right behind Plaza Espana this is one of the better Melia hotels. Honestly the building from outside looks very drab but the interiors are very modern and functional. Big lobby with a separate check in desk for the "Level" service. We highly recommend this service if you stay with Melia. The hotel is slightly off the city center but its only a 10 mins walk away. Plaza Espana is across the road. Breakfast is excellent and included. The concierge is helpful and managed to locate a Chinese restaurant in Sevilla (which is a task in South of Spain). We do recommend this hotel

Room Tip: As for a higher floor room facing the Plaza Espana and the Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nice modern hotel located in a quiet district. However, it's far from the old town (Basilica area). We have to take the tram to get to town. I visited Sevilla with a friend and it was ok to commute everyday to tour but I think for families, it's best to stay walking distance to the sights (near the Basilica) - saves you the fare. It's near the Plaza de Espana though.

Food at this hotel is also quite expensive because I think it's geared more for business travelers. Our stay didn't come with free breakfast, we ate at a local cafe instead - at a more reasonable price. Depending on your itinerary in Seville, this is a great hotel but I would prefer to be closer to the Basilica area where the shops and restaurants are. I'd rather walk than commute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raenico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our recent trip to Spain.
The concierge was extremely helpful with restaurant reservation, he booked an amazing "tablao" show for us and even help us rent bicycles to go around the city.
The AC in our room stopped working the first night we were there, so when they couldn't repair it the next day, they switched us to another room, a superior one!
We both highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

What a find just next to the plaza de espana - lovely modern rooms, free wifi, large spacious pool area and friendly reception.

We just booked a standard room but it was plenty big enough with a very modern bathroom. We were put in a smoking room because we didn't specifically specify, it wasn't actually that bad but if you have a preference make sure you say.

The pool area was so nice to come back to after a hot day sightseeing, some days there were limited beds so we aimed to get there by 3ish. Towels provided. Could have spent all day looking out of the Plaza.

We had room only, good little cafes for breakfast near hotel. We also booked through the Melia website & got 10euros off per night to spend in hotel on drinks at checkout. Was a lovely extra.

Would most definitely recommend this hotel- 15 min walk to cathedral, great rooms & v reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neitherheren0rthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
NH Collection Sevilla
#17 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
NH Sevilla Plaza de Armas
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#35 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Property: Melia Sevilla
Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#18 Business Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing