We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Sevilla
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Firstly, a huge thank you for the lovely surprise awaiting me on the return to my room. It was my birthday the day we arrived (1st May), and when we got back after an evening out, there was two bottles of chilled fizz and a plate full of wonderful chocolate and cakes, with a lovely hand written note.
The room was very plush and well fitted, lovely bathroom and fab shower. Helpful staff, very clean and lovely decor; they even had a 'pillow menu'! Nice large pool area and plenty of places to sit outside. A very pleasant stay, and I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    1,282
    354
    116
    44
See reviews for
565
1,347
73
432
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel only 2 weeks ago and have mixed thoughts on the place.
The 'Positives' first: The hotel is situated approximately 15 minutes walk from the main tourist area and is just across the road from the stunning Plaza Espana. The walk into town is very easy and quite pleasant as you can cut through parks however if you do not want to walk then the tram stop is just around the corner and it is a quick, easy and cheap alternative.
The reception staff were all friendly and helpful and check in was quick and easy. The hotel is modern inside and was very clean. The bedroom was a good size and unlike some previous reviews we did not find our room hot and stuffy. The bed was huge and quite comfy although my husband did feel it was slightly on the hard side. It did not have tea/coffee making facilities but when we asked for a kettle they did provide one for us almost immediately.
The negatives: We booked this hotel because it had a pool. When we arrived the temperatures were in the high 20's and yet the pool had a sign saying that the pool was shut. As it was so warm many people were returning after wandering around Seville and heading for the pool area, so it was busy. One afternoon there was 23 of us by the pool but despite this the hotel did not have towels, the pool bar was shut and the pool was dirty. One group did order drinks from the bar on the ground floor and a staff member brought the drinks up from downstairs. When we asked if we could order drinks he said that we had to go inside to the bar which was on a different floor to the pool. We felt this was very poor service. In addition to this we noticed a lot of broken glass on the floor of the pool area and highlighted this twice to a staff member on 2 separate days. It was still there 3 days later!
This is a big hotel and as a result it is impersonal but if you don't mind that it is reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Other reviewers have written extensively about this hotel from room quality to location, but my husband and I need to mention the exceptionally kind assistance of the hotel staff during our 5 night stay in early May. When we arrived in Seville, my husband was beginning to experience signs of food poisoning which, after 2 days, did not seem to be going away as we expected. One of the hotel managers, Estrellia, arranged for a doctor's visit and took a personal interest in our situaton. The doctor was reassuring and gave us detailed directions in English. Other staff kept track of faxes and logistics required to rearrange our trip plans. The cleaning staff was kind enough to alter their routine to accomodate his need to recuperate. After 5 days we were able to continue our trip thanks to the kind assistance we received at the Melia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisoreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel on the Melia brand name and reviews on here, it did not let us down

Great location - could walk everywhere, so close to the stunning park and the Plaza Espana
University is only 5 min walk and onto the main town and all the sights to see

The hotel has a car park, which is quite tight to move about in if you have a big car but is 22 Euro a day, payable at reception or the ticket machine, very handy in such a busy city

We didnt eat in the resturant but it looked very nice
What we did do was book the discounted 14 Euro breakfast on check in, which was well worth it, offering a great selections of hot breakfast options, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices plus more until 10:30am.

Our initial room was 2 single beds, reception soon remedied this and moved us from 4th up to the 8th floor, rooms were identical other than we ot a beautifully big and amazingly comfy bed
Bathroom was lovely with full bath and seperate shower cabinet, double sink and well designed to utilise the space

The maids did a great job each day and the room was spotless

Room service was good and came quickly, everything as we ordered and not too overpriced like some hotels

There was a pool and sunbeds outside but wasn't sunny enough when we stayed sadly, as it looked very inviting

Reception staff were very helpful and friendly

We didnt get to use the spa as we were too busy but this is ran seperately to the hotel so you have to book direct with the spa

The meeting rooms looked good and i would consider using them in the future for work events

Wi-fi was good when connected but you had to keep reconnecting, everytime your screen or phone timed out - bit annoying but it was free!
If you need constant connection I think it was 14 Euro a day

The bar was a nice area of an evening or night cap, again lovely staff

Typical customer seemed to be business men and some young Americans, with some european families and older couples.

Would happily come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked he Melia after reading through reviews upon reviews on trip advisor. Dont be fooled by the exterior of the hotel, its rather shabby and dated BUT there is a definite WOW factor throughout the interior. The entrance is bright, modern and contemporary.

We had a pleasant welcome from the desk staff and there were patient when I spoke in Spanish. I have to disagree with other writers who have said the staff are unfriendly, this was certainly not the case. I also believe if you take the time to communicate (even only to say Hola) in Spanish it helps.

We were given a room on the 2nd floor , with a huge bed and to my surprise a terrace. Sadly it wasnt warm enough to sit out for long, but it made the room feel huge and it was great to open the door for fresh air. I didnt find the heating/ air con a problem as 19 degrees was perfect at this time of year. I wonder if others just havent adjusted the room heat. I also didnt find the light controls confusing at all.

The bathroom was lovely. Modern and had a bath with overhead shower and a separate walk in shower. I was very impressed.

We didnt have breakfast choosing to eat out as we like to have the flexibility.

As previous writers have said
1. 20 minute walk past Plaza Espana, through the park and into the centro
2. The tram from San Bernardo (left out of hotel, walk for 5 minutes and turn left onto the plaza) was great at end of tiring day and runs late into night at weekends.
3. Great little tapas bar on street next to hotel, cheap and tasty.
4. Taxi rank outside hotel for trip back to airport, only took 15 minutes.

Didnt have any issues with noise.

Nice pool area and even used the pool until the weather changed.

All in all very impressed. Would highly recommend as a great base for Seville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaznles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nicely located just outside main tourist area in a quiet area near the Plaza Espana. Outside looks tired and shabby but inside is modern and clean. Very comfortable room although you do need a degree in electronics to work out the lighting controls. Free wi-fi in room was really fast and easy to connect. Breakfast was included in our tariff and offered an excellent selection - available until 11h00! 20 minute walk into the city centre, or you could hop on the tram that goes from San Bernando (2 mins away) for only 69c (if you buy a travelcard from news kiosk).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanfrombedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile


After much debate my partner & I decided to stay at Melia Seville for 5 nights.
Check in was quick & easy. Booked through booking.com.

Room was nice, bathroom had a double shower no bath. Room was very hot as air con isnt switched on as yet?!? We just opened a window. Was 32 degrees...

Location: 15 min walk to Cathedral and centre. Opposite Two attractions, Maria Luis Park & Plaza Espana. 2 min walk & some rooms have views out to the Plaza.

Pool: cold and not sure was open.

Wifi: hit and miss miss and miss. Terrible.

Would stay here again as hotel is very nice and in a great location.

Seville is a fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
NH Collection Sevilla
#17 of 179 in Seville
1,642 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#35 of 179 in Seville
1,468 reviews
Casco Antiguo
NH Sevilla Plaza de Armas
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
3,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sevilla

Property: Melia Sevilla
Address: Dr Pedro de Castro 1, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Seville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#18 Business Hotel in Seville
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#30 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sevilla Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Seville
Melia Hotel Sevilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing