We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sumptuous on the surface but not much substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincci La Rabida Hotel
Ranked #39 of 176 Hotels in Seville
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sumptuous on the surface but not much substance”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights Friday - Tuesday for an anniversary trip to Seville. Delighted at finding the hotel so easily from the bus station and it is handily signposted from the nearest main street (calle Zaragoza). First impressions were good -the hotel patio and reception lobby are impressive. Check-in fine though not overly personal and didn't seem overly bothered about us. Shown to room by porter who delivered our luggage - there is a slightly confusing system of taking a lift so far to one floor then walking round the corner to a different lift to reach the upper floors.

We were in room 325. On first impressions the room was lovely. Old Spanish style dark wooden finish with marble floors. Double sink in bathroom and marble surround. Nice big bed with ample wardrobe space, a safe, TV and minibar.

Downsides:
All of this really spoiled by an unbelievably grotty shower cubicle with wooden (?!?) decking on the floor inside the shower which was all warped, grubby with mildew and mould and smelled musty.

We had asked for a terrace or balcony and were excited see marble steps leading up from the room to a door. On inspection this led to a grotty terrace with nice enough cast iron loungers but all the cushions were filthy and smelly and the terrace hadn't been swept or cleaned for ages by the looks of things. Round the corner of the terrace were a lot of air conditioning units which were right above our room and hummed all night. Made getting to sleep a problem for the lighter sleeper in the party.

The lift shaft was right beside our room, indeed right at the head of our bed and so every time anyone called the lift or got in/out we heard all the clanking. I wouldn't expect this room to be given out as a general rule as too noisy from lift and aircon units above.

We didn't choose breakfast in the hotel as we couldn't quite stomach paying 17 euros each for a continental breakfast. We were glad of this decision when we found Los Angeles Pasteleria at the end of the street (on calle Adriano, towards the bullring), which did simple but tasty tostadas with cheese, ham, butter or a pastry with freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee for 3-4 euros per person. They also have a fantastic selection of cakes and pastries to either eat in or take away. There are loads of bakeries off calle Zaragoza and numerous bars do breakfast around the area so I definitely would recommend this as you get to see more of the local colour this way too.

We got a voucher for 2 free glasses of sherry to have in the hotel and so we decided we would go up to the terrace for an early evening drink on our first night before going out for dinner. The terrace has wonderful views of the cathedral and city but there was no-one there at the bar to serve drinks and we noticed a couple had to go all the way down to the ground floor bar, buy a bottle of wine and take it up to the terrace. 4 star service? We ended up having our sherry later on in the evening the second night when people were having dinner on the terrace and again, no-one seemed bothered about coming to take an order for drinks and seemed totally hectic and stressed at serving the meals.

The hotel was definitely not up to its 4 star rating - staff not really bothered whether we were there or not, no greeting as you came in or out of the hotel, no asking if everything was ok on checkout.

On the whole, not a bad place but the service really lets it down and I'm amazed our room was actually being used given the problems with the shower and the terrace. There are much better hotels for similar prices or less in the area - use them instead.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one away from the lift. Beware sound travels in this place so avoid if a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadameRenard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for publishing your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel, though we deeply regret that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. In this regard, we would like to inform you that in Vincci Hotels we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions, and feedback, always with the goal in mind of improving.
Firstly, we are sorry if you considered that the treatment you received from our staff during check in was not appropriate. Our reception staff always welcomes new guests upon their arrival, provide them with information about the city and answer any of their questions, so we apologize if in your case it was not like this.
We would also like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed and cleaned, so we apologize if during your stay there was a temporary problem with the process that caused the problems you describe and we will take additional measures so they do not occur again. However any guest who is not happy with the room they have been assigned or as any type of problem can notify us and always, in so far as it is possible, we will offer a change of room, trying at all times to make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.
Furthermore, we would like to mention that the restaurant’s terrace opens at 20:30, the time at which service begins. We are sorry if you were not duly informed about this.
Likewise, we would like to clarify that all of our facilities and services meet the regulations in force for 4 star hotels.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    607
    241
    98
    57
See reviews for
306
790
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
439 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

"muy buen" started with the location. in the middle of the old city. on a side street where you do not hear the hussel and bussel from the tourist area. the young lady at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

the room was "roomy" and the bathroom was okay. the bathroom sink cabinet needed repair. the cabinet wood needs replacement...i mean the wood planks at the bottom of the cabinet. the bathtub needed the silicone trimming to be renewed in some spots. i usually am very picky about cleanliness. the bathroom mirror needed to be wiped off. it could have been that the room had not been occupied for a while but this is no excuse..it should be ready to be occupied at anytime. because i checked under the bed and i had to leave the cleaning lady a note for the next morning to please clean UNDER the bed...it is part of the FLOOR. she did clean it. i do check the beds too. the mattress and covers were very clean. it was comfortable to sleep on too. amenities were also very good supplied. we were on the 4th floor...409. it seenmed to be under the restaurant and i was aliitle annoyed that from 10 pm on when one wants to settle down you can hear the sliding of the chairs. it could be ignored with the tv on.

the breakfast was great. do ask for other varieties of eggs if you are staying long like us. when i asked for an omelet the waitress told me there were scrambled eggs at the buffet table. i said to her that i can eat these eggs for 5 days.. so i got my omelet and fried eggs too. oh, but their scrambled eggs were very good too.

their restaurant menu was very good. AND delicious!

all in all the stay was very nice.

Room Tip: make sure you try to avoid a room over the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hirlsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Sevilla. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with many aspects of the hotel, overall with its location, bed, amenities, and restaurant service. That our guests have a good experience with us is our greatest satisfaction and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, that you were not pleased with some aspects of your stay. We would like to inform you that we will take note of all of your opinions: They will help us improve the service we offer our guests in the future.
We are sorry, firstly, for the problems you might have had with the room´s bathroom. We would like to indicate that they are checked regularly and that, in any case, in those situations where the guest notifies us that the room is not to their taste or that, despite our ongoing revision and maintenance work, there is a problem, our staff will proceed to take care of it as quickly as possible, and, if it is possible, offer the guest a change of room, trying at all times to make their stay pleasant and enjoyable.
We can assure you as well that all of our rooms are rigorously cleaned, so we apologize if during your stay there was perhaps a temporary problem with the process and we will take measures so it does not occur again.
Lastly, we regret the noises you could hear from your room, although we would like to clarify that at 22:00 it is not usual to be moving chairs in the restaurant as they are begun to be set up at 20:00. We are sorry in any case for any disturbances and will take good note of your feedback in order to improve.
We hope to see you again in any of our establishments.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sorry for delay in placing a review on this hotel in stunning Seville, our 1 night stay stay on 23rd September to a city i had always wanted to see,Seville did`nt disappoint us.
The staff where helpful and courteous ,at all times and the car parking arrangement was stress less, which was one of the reasons we picked the hotel, well that and the look of it, plus excellent location to all the sights.
Our room was clean, tasteful and overlooked the courtyard, we also had an enjoyable free drink which we took on the roof terrace restaurant at night with lovely views of the cathedral, our breakfast, which was part of a deal was also very enjoyable, served in a very decorative dining room.
Overall an enjoyable stay and we are already planning to come back to visit Seville when next in Spain and will be booking the hotel again,gracias.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARYMKATHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just coming from Seville. The hotel is perfectly located. The room was spacious and spotless.

However I couldn't sleep very well because given the architecture of the hotel and noisy staff and/or guests I woke up at least 3 times during night.

There's plenty of restaurants all around. Very good location.
The breakfast was standard.

I'm not sure I will go back to this hotel next time I'm in Seville.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing us and for sending us your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the establishment´s location and your room´s size and cleanliness. Our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, that we did not meet all your expectations.
We will take note of all of your opinions in order to improve.
Likewise, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused by noise made by other guests and the staff, and would like to inform you that any guest that has a problem in this regard can notify reception and our staff will try to take care of it as quickly as possible.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Its a good quality hotel , in a central position between the bullring and the cathedral so its easy to get around the city ob foot. If you are arriving by car , its best to have a GPS as access to the hotel is down a few one way streets and not so straightforward. On arrival we parked in the street outside and left the keys with reception who arrange nearby parking for the duration of your stay . Check in was friendly and efficient , and we were quickly in our rooms .

We requested 2 rooms , 1 double bed and 1 with 2 singles , and they gave us 2 doubles . So we had to go back to reception to get the second room with 2 single beds . The rooms were comfortable and spacious , but there was a problem with the safes in both rooms .

We enjoyed the stylish Moorish architecture of the hotel and the public areas were spacious and comfortable . The staff were also helpful and friendly at all times .

Our main complaint was with the poor housekeeping service . Our bed was made up with a torn sheet , and the room was only serviced late afternoon around 5pm .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for sending us your feedback. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the hotel´s location, check-in, treatment received from staff and the decoration. Our guest´s satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, that we did meet all your expectations and inform you that we will bear very closely in mind your opinions: they will help us improve the service we offer our guests in the future.
Regarding our cleaning timetable, we would like you to know that the established timetable is from 09:00 to 17:00. However, those guests who need their room to be cleaned as early as possible can request it at reception and our staff will take care of it.
We would likewise like to inform you that all of our rooms and facilities are rigorously reviewed, so we apologize if during your stay there was a temporary problem with the process that caused the problems you describe with the safe and we will take additional measures so that they do not occur again. In any case, despite that our facilities are under ongoing revision, any gust who detects a problem with any of our facilities can notify reception and our staff will proceed to take care of it as quickly as possible, trying at all times to make the guests stay pleasant and enjoyable.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel at the end of August. A very elegant hotel,staff were very helpful.The hotel was well located and the surrounding restaurants and bars were very very good. Overall Seville was for me was a great destination for a city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 2 nights. Service on arrival was first class. Porter service with bags to room. Room was fine. A double bed instead of two singles pushed together would have been preferred but was fine. Nice bathroom and accessories. Furniture a bit worn. Nice view of courtyard. But best thing is you walk out this hotel take two lefts and you are outside the cathedral. Perfect location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#31 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#47 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,974 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Palacio Pinello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci La Rabida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci La Rabida Hotel

Property: Vincci La Rabida Hotel
Address: Calle Castelar 24, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Seville
#17 Business Hotel in Seville
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#48 Family Hotel in Seville
#51 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci La Rabida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vincci La Rabida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seville
Vincci La Rabida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing