We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, good service, nice loft family rooms ... but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vincci La Rabida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vincci La Rabida Hotel
Ranked #50 of 178 Hotels in Seville
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, nice loft family rooms ... but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Lovely ambiance, terrific staff, great location for exploring Seville and taking in a bullfight (!), but we woke up itchy ... with a few bite marks! Why??? Lost an iTouch ... How??? I don't really want to know. Good option, but be on your guard!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your feedback. We are pleased to know that our location, service and facilities were to your liking. Surely, the satisfaction of our guests is our reason to be and what we work for every day.
We are sorry, however, that your Itouch might have been lost during your stay in Sevilla. We would like to let you know that that when our staff find a personal belonging a guest forgot in the room or in any of the facilities of the hotel, they immediately proceed to inform and turn the object into reception so they can notify and deliver it to the guest. In this case, we regret that we have not found the ITouch you mention in our establishment.
We remain at your disposal for anything further you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    533
    226
    87
    49
See reviews for
266
697
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at La Rabida for two nights. We found the hotel through tripadvisor and had a satisfactory experience. It is a beautiful hotel, with a very nice lobby and rooftop terrace. Our rooms, however, were just okay, a little small and it tended to be noisy, as one could hear everything from the hallways. The AC did not work well and it was hot and stuffy at night.

The service was efficient but completely lacking in warmth and as one reviewer correctly commented, a professional but unwelcome attitude by the staff. We felt that we were bothering the staff by asking questions. On the whole, we had a nice stay because of the fantastic location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building overlooking the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and sending your feedback and observations. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location and facilities.
We regret, however, that some details were not to your liking. In this regard, we would like to inform you that we will keep in mind each and every one of your ideas, as surely they will help us to continue to improve the service we offer our guests.
Likewise, we would like to point out that the air conditioning is centralized and works according to the climate mode established by the hotel depending on the time of the year. However those guests who are not comfortable with the temperature of their room can speak with reception and our staff will take care of their request.
Ultimately, we work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Poor service from reception on various occasions. There was only 1 receptionist at the time when there were multiple guests wanting to check in, which wasn't too bad but we hardly felt welcome by her attitude and unwillingless to explain things when we asked her questions (e.g. availability of internet). We also had to change rooms because the air conditioning wasn't functioning at first. The rooms were otherwise fine and fairly comfortable. Very nice building but very much let down by the service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write your opinions and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know our facilities met your expectations and that our rooms were to your liking.
We regret, however, that our service was not to your liking. In this respect we would like to point out that upon arrival we offer all of our guests information about the hotel and the city, and are at all moments available to take care of their requests in order to make their stay perfect. We apologize if in your case it was not always like this.
We would likewise like to apologize for the defect in the air conditioning system of your first room and let you know that it has been fixed. We are pleased to know that, in any case, that with the change of room you were able to enjoy a proper air conditioning system.
We work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us. So we will keep in mind your observations, always with the aim to improve.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We (couple) stayed 7 nights between 18-25 Feb, 2012.

A few good things: location, nice lobby, nice patio, generally nice common areas.

Personnel was ok to good, with a notable exception of one very rude and arrogant receptionist.

Room and bathroom: ours were in urgent need of refurbishing: chipped wood on doors, musty bathroom wall tiles, broken floor tiles, ripped bedsheets, curtain rail hanging loose, ...
The rooms have paper-thin walls, one can hear everything happening throughout the hotel.
There is no heating, just air conditioning - this may be great for summer, but definitely inadequate for February.
The cupboard is small - maybe 35 cm wide for 4 coat-hangers; rest of the cupboard is taken by drawers and the safe.

Breakfast - the dining room is very nice, choice is below a 4-star hotel to but good quality. However, the dining room is very drafty and cold, and personnel always ran to open the door as soon as a customer closed it. Quite a few people were taking their breakfast with a coat.

Generally, this would be an average 3-star or a good 2-star hotel - definitely not more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jer_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Vincci Hotels and publishing your comments regarding your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location, staff and common areas, though deeply regret that we did not entirely meet your expectations with respect to specific details that were not completely to your liking.
We would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions, and comments, always with the aim to improve.
We would like to point out, however, that air conditioning and heating are available throughout our entire establishment and that different climate modes are preset depending on the outside temperature.
With regards to our rooms, we would like you to know that thanks to comments like yours, we are currently carrying out an improvement with the aim to keep them in perfect conditions.
We work to satisfy our guests and your opinions are what always guide us.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you are looking at hotel reviews for properties in Seville, Spain, then you have probably already made the decision to visit Seville. Mark that down as one of the smartest things you have ever done or will ever do! Seville is a wonderful city. Beautiful, compact and easy to get around on foot; it is architecturally magnificent and relatively clean by Southern European standards. The food is wonderfully diverse and not too expensive. Train service is frequent and good value once you figure out the Byzantine fare schedules. Unfortunately, overall the city very expensive and the recent Spanish economic woes have only made it worse. But if you are prudent, you can control the cost and not let euros spoil your visit.

Now for the hotel. Vincii La Rabida (Castelar 24,Seville, Spain 41001) is part of the Vincii chain so you get the benefit of working with large hotel chains. The hotel is an older property, actually several buildings combined, that have been many times renovated. A result of these architectural machinations is that the rooms are of a wide variety of size and fittings. This irregularity is particularly noticeable in the bathrooms, some of which are not only dated but hot water service is irregular and some rooms have a noticeable sewage gas issue in certain weather conditions. The air conditioning is sufficient in spring and summer and given the Andalusia summers, that is very important. In fact the cooling service is much better than the heating and a cold December evening will have you asking for extra blankets or a second bottle of Rioja. If you choose to drive to the hotel, there is valet parking available; navigating to Calle de Castellar can be quite a challenge for anything larger than a Golf, A180, Smart, Fiat, Mini etc. A full size American car won’t get within blocks of the hotel. Television and internet service is confusing and intermittent. Service interruptions are so frequent it is difficult to know when something is truly broken.

So given the admittedly lukewarm description, why would anyone choose to stay at the La Rabida for 5 business trips, as I have. Location, location, location. You are within blocks of the cathedral district and main pedestrian shopping areas. Blocks from the bullring and river walk area. Blocks from the university. Macarena, yes, that Macarena, is a long walk or short cab drive to the BEST flamenco in the world. Numerous cafes, restaurants and tapas bars cover the area. Cortes de Ingles and C & A are nearby as well. The double-decker bus tour of the city leaves from four blocks from the hotel. The entire city is at your disposal and it is a magnificent and wonderful city indeed.

And the young hotel staff deserves praise. They are professional and multi-lingual and very eager to help. If you are a return visitor, they will remember you and they will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and help you sort out the unique issues the hotel presents. The housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the rooms clean and pleasant and will respond to requests promptly. On my first stay, I asked to change rooms and the staff moved me and my gear within minutes.
One of those unique features of the property is the rooftop restaurant; featuring a view of the cathedral and Alcazar that is peerless and surprisingly good cuisine at very good value. On a soft summer evening, with a good bottle of wine, tapas including local olive products and good company….you’ll understand why La Rabida is the hotel to stay at when in Seville.

Incidentally, breakfast at the hotel is eye-wateringly expensive and of dubious quality and value. But if you walk out of the hotel and make a left and walk two blocks to the end of Castellar you will find the Los Principes coffee bar. Four euro for caffe con leche y toastada con queso y tomate. They have a wonderful collection of cathedral artifacts. And the place looks just disreputable enough that tourists do not go there, just working people and students. Just up the block from the café is a small shoppette where you can buy drinks and snacks and such. Avoid the overpriced Italian restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: The property includes multiple buildings with different exposures. Calle Castelar is a small street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Vincci La Rabida Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for publishing your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our location, staff, restaurant, and air conditioning system were all to your liking. Without a doubt, our guest´s satisfaction is our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, however, that we did not entirely meet all of your expectations and that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay. In this regard, we would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints suggestions and comments, always with the aim of improving.
However, we would like to make a few clarifications. Firstly, we would like to point out that our establishment is designed from an old eighteenth century mansion that has been completely renovated and restored and has available three different types of rooms (double, Junior suite, and Suite) with the goal of being able to fully respond to the tastes and needs of our different guests.
Regarding the working of the hot water, the heating and the television we apologize if there was a problem during your stay that caused the inconveniences you describe and inform you that after reading your feedback we proceeded to review our systems and check that they were working properly. In any case, any guest who detects a problem in any of our facilities can mention it at reception and our staff will immediately proceed to take care of it.
Lastly, we would like to note that our breakfast buffet has more than 60 products, all of them top quality.
Ultimately we work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#13 of 178 in Seville
4.5 of 5 stars 3,204 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#32 of 178 in Seville
4.0 of 5 stars 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Las Casas de El Arenal
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 178 in Seville
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#46 of 178 in Seville
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincci La Rabida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincci La Rabida Hotel

Property: Vincci La Rabida Hotel
Address: Calle Castelar 24, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Seville
#17 Business Hotel in Seville
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#48 Family Hotel in Seville
#51 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincci La Rabida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vincci La Rabida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Seville
Vincci La Rabida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing