We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #62 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old World Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were so excited about staying at the Dona Maria. It is a historical building and you couldn't ask for a better location. Two reasons I did not give it a "5 star" review. First, it is almost impossible to find it by car so I highly recommend finding a public parking garage and walking to it. The hotel is located across from the Seville Cathedral/Giralda Bell Tower so once you get to the bell tower, just look around for the sign. Secondly, while the hotel is grand and has lovely antiques and appointments, it is in dire need of renovation and updates. The carpets are very old as were the curtains and the bathrooms. However, what it lacked in modern elements, the hotel made up for it with the location, pleasant staff and the roof-top bar and pool. The pool was a bit small, but was a welcome relief during the midday heat. Also, we were greeted in our room by a porter with a bottle of sherry for both of our rooms which was a lovely touch. I would recommend this hotel because of the excellent location and if they undergo any renovations in the near future, this will be a super great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    455
    176
    71
    61
See reviews for
221
495
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejby, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

In our room (122) we had cockroaches the size of pea pods in the bathroom, ants in our bed and a very noisy air con which spread a very unpleasant smell in the room, but we had to have it turned on because the room had no windows!
Imagine that: a 4 star hotel putting their guests up in a cell like that.
NOT to be recommended in spite of nice location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank balskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Sevilla for 3 nights in this hotel. I can only highly recommend it to you! Some ppl here were complaining that's noisy- our room was by the side of the restaurants- street and we really didn't hear anything! Rooms are really lovely, with a lot of charm. A perfect hotel for romantic- vacation :-) great swimming pool - and here only one negative remark- they close it at 8 p.m.- in our opinion this was a little bit to early. Service really perfect, helpful and very friendly. We were all happy :-)
If I ever come again to Sevilla- I'll be staying there for sure :-))))

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PandaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed there in the beginning of July and really enjoyed our stay. Location is simply excellent, rooftop fantastic with wonderful views at this charming hotel. Our room was quite big and positively clean with good views but weirdly there was no mirror in our room except bathroom of course. Breakfast, there was no breakfast but it didn't matter much as we saw it as a chance to go to different places. The staff were all helpful and friendly to us. Good value for money and a great springboard for discovering Seville. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikBetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We love Seville and this hotel was lovely. We stayed several nights, wandered all over Seville, swam, drank, and made new friends poolside. It was a little noisy from the street because it's in a busy part of town near a busy plaza. For us, it was perfect. I think there was wifi in the lobby but not in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spend a night in the hotel, ordering a family room. The hotel placed us directly underneath the kitchen in 3nd floor. It was impossible to get any sleep until they closed the pool bar and kitchen, late at night. I do not think there was any fresh air from the ventilations system.
The pool on the roof was nice and location perfect for exploring Seville, but I would not recommend staying at the hotel with children and a need for rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErlingHes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Beautiful hotel located directly across from the cathedral and the Alcazar. The hotel is full of antiques and has a lovely atmosphere, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Our room was nicely furnished and overlooked the central courtyard rather than out over the cathedral. There is a rooftop pool which is most welcome and the terrace gives amazing views over the rooftops of the city.
Really good buffet breakfast - the orange juice was amazing as freshly squeezed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgruntled1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#52 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#46 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Property: Hotel Dona Maria
Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#36 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing