We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great hotel”
Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

As others have said, the location is one of the real selling points of this hotel - it really couldn't be more convenient for the sites, transport around the city, shops etc.

We had a room on 4th floor facing out onto the street. It was bright and airy but you have to be prepared for a degree of noise. Being woken up in the morning by church bells is actually quite pleasant and added to the holiday experience. Being woken at 4 every day by the noisy street cleaning truck whose driver seemed to think nothing of bellowing at the top of his voice at all and sundry wasn't quite so nice!

The room was, however, kept very clean and the mini bar restocked every day. The staff were very helpful and the girl working in the bar was delightful - despite the bar being pretty much empty any time we went in.

Seville is a great city with loads to see and do, fabulous cheap food and drink and very friendly people - and hotel Dona Maria is a great place to explore it from.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Nicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Pros:
First of all, you can't beat the location. It is steps away from the Cathedral and La Giralda, Real Alcazar, and Barrio Santa Cruz. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, and basically everything you'll want to see is in walking distance from Hotel Dona Maria. The staff seemed nice and upon my early arrival, I was told that my room was ready.

Now for the Cons:
1. The 'free wifi' didn't actually work in my room.
2. They put me on the 3rd floor, making it sound like that was a good thing. Unfortunately, the 4th floor is the terrace bar and for some reason, they must have felt like moving the furniture around whenever I was in my room...including all hours of the night. There was also loud music, loud voices, and I think there was an impromptu Flamenco dance at about 2:30 AM on Saturday.
3. The bed wasn't exactly what you might call comfortable.

Basically, if you value sleep after a long day of sightseeing, make sure you're not put on the 3rd floor. That's probably good advice, too, if you anticipate actually using the wifi.

Room Tip: Stay away from the 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cls112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for a week during the march. Had no air conditioner on in the room. They said on the reception that the season of the air conditioning didn't start yet. Had to sleep in a closed room (noisy outside, could not open the window), no ventilation of the room.
The room is medium, the breakfast is normal. People are kind on the reception. Also has internet included, but I would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Yana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nice room, nice personal, good location for walking through the city of Sevilla. Clean room, nice terras on the roof with a view of the tower of the cathedral. Seville is touristic in the center even in march.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hubert0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

location very convention to explore Seville by foot
comfortable beds
large bathroom with bath tub
historic building
Internet included
buffet breakfast was good too
and perfect if you like the sounds of bells!
very helpful staff
kept our luggage prior to check -in
kept our luggage after check-out
if following GPS when driving to hotel be prepared for an interesting trip - some roads are very narrow!

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surferdude083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My third visit to Seville and first to this hotel. It's in a great location in the heart of the old town - the Giralda, the tapas bars are all on the doorstep. The hotel is traditionally decorated, nice simple rooms, comfortable beds and has the added attraction of a small rooftop pool - absolutely essential if you're staying in Seville between June and October when it's scorching hot. It also has a very funky, modern bar which opens out onto the street - we went there for a quick nightcap and got through several margaritas and mojitos....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Iris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 178 in Seville
2,902 reviews
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
#26 of 178 in Seville
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,772 reviews
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#56 of 178 in Seville
1,545 reviews
Hotel Fernando III
#31 of 178 in Seville
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Seville
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $105 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing