We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of Seville”
Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel overnight in July. The rooms where small but charming in the antique style of 15th century. The bathrooms on another hand were ultra modern with all great amenities our century has to offer. Great location, right across from Giralda, within walking distance from many other historical sites. We had our guide meet us at the hotel and many of the tour highlights were located near by. Loved the bar on the roof, great view and nice crowd. Breakfast was included and while it was simple, it was good and definitely fresh. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in Seville for couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

my favourite hotel in sevilla and the closest to the giralda and catedral. amazing is the rooftop also, where you can have a cocktail in the fresh night. The hotel has a new re-build side and an old one, so make sure you book in the new rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is a gem and a hidden one at that. There are some things that if you take into account you will have an amazing time and please take my word for it as my family is actually from Seville and much to their sometimes chagrin, I choose to stay here.

The hotel is a listed palace that actually still belongs to a noble local family, therefore there are some art pieces and statues that are truly lovely, they feel like family heirlooms. There is an interesting history to the house as it was built in the 14c for Samuel Levi, who was a trusted advisor to King Pedro I. This place has loads of charm and character. The roof top area is simply stunning and there is nowhere else in Seville that has front on views of the Cathedral like this hotel nor views of the beautiful square of Santa Cruz and the Alcazar palace such as their roof top, I guarantee it !

Some points that you need to take in account to help you enjoy the most positive aspects and avoid any potential negatives. If you get the breakfast thrown in, then great but I wouldn't spend money on it not because its awful, its just that it's basic and totally not necessary as you will be surrounded by coffee shops. Spaniards are not huge breakfast people anyways, so a coffee, juice and toast (if that) is what you should probably stick to, this is not a big fry-up or pancake nation. It's just not worth it, let's put it that way. This hotel does not have room service unless its a sandwich or some drinks, its not a 5 star hotel with those type of extras. It's not a basic hotel though as there is a 24 hour concierge, 3 bars, bellboy etc. What it does have is the best location in the city, right in the middle of the old quarter (you won't need a car), magnificent views over the city, roof top pool which is large and sparkling clean, its lovely and cool for those hot summer days (pools are rare in Seville hotels, even rarer to have one this size on the roof with the stunning views) and really friendly, caring staff. The maids are super sweet and nothing is too much trouble, cots, tea kettles, extra pillows, blankets nothing is an issue. They will even press your clothes at a moment's notice which we take advantage of every time we are there.

Just remember the beds are basic so they are not ultra plush beds but very clean and perfectly comfortable, the real trick here is to upgrade the room type and make sure you get a renovated room (ask for this when booking as they have been done up nicely). Do not go for the basic rooms go for the rooms facing the cathedral with the Matrimonial beds (Queen size by US/UK standards). Rooms like 310, 410, 210 are the ones to go for - although if you need alot of space the suite is very nice, however it is interior facing. There is only one so book early.

The roof top bar is absolutely fabulous, there are two on the top as well as a new bar downstairs which is quite modern and cool with great cocktails, ambience and service.

If you stay here, you will pay half the price compared to the EME hotel down the street but you won't have the same views nor a warm feel to your stay, the EME is quite soulless and a bit too pretentious for my liking. Stay here and go the EME for a drink or some sushi (it's excellent) but this is a real steal for what you get, just get an exterior room and you will have a great time !

Room Tip: Exterior facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilou6775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't know how anyone could give this hotel an excellent. We paid top dollar, stayed 5 nights and were disappointed from the moment we entered. The lobby is smelly and dingy. The rooms were very decrepit, the room drinking glasses were not changed for 5 days, towels were frayed and tattered, we had to go down to the lobby and sign for pool towels. At 8 pm we were asked to leave the pool area, all the furniture was moved while we were there. Definitely do not book this hotel. Also no late check out, we asked for one hour, after spending over $1000.00 you would think they would accommodate. Also don't stay on the plaza, very noisy and smelly from the horse carriages.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere off the plaza, maybe near the bull ring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devereux C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel after being in Madrid and Barcelona. Comparatively it was the cheapest but that does not mean it was lacking! The weather was extremely hot while we were there so I booked this hotel for it's air conditioning, pool and close proximity to a lot of attractions. It did not disappoint! The rooms were huge and very clean. The air conditioning was a must in August. We would go out in the morning and return in the afternoon when it was too hot. The pool was perfect and so picturesque. You can't beat the view of the cathedral while laying by the pool. The rooftop terrace was a great way to end our night. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to family and friends!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few days in May.
Its location is very central- right beside the cathedral.There are antiques all over the hotel. There is a pool on the roof and towels are available at reception. There is a great view from the rooftop.
We were able to hear noise from the street. We were in the front of the hotel. However, we complained when we spotted a faulty seal on the double glazed patio door. We were given another room without any fuss. This was quite satisfactory.
Toiletries were plentiful, including toothbrushes. The room was nice and the beds were comfortableThe light fittings in the room were not great. The room decor was somewhat dated. There was noise from the roof as a result of chairs at the nearby bar being constantly being moved.Plug points were few. In the morning the shower was cold.Also the lift was somewhat dodgy.Breakfast was ordinary.
The male staff were very friendly. I spoke to them mostly in Spanish. The female staff were efficient but not as friendly. They dealt with any questions asked of them.
The bar on the ground floor was very modern.
The location of this hotel is a huge plus.

Room Tip: away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamoGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is superbly located right next to the cathedral. The rooftop pool was a real boon as even in September temperatures were in the mid-thirties. Room was clean and reasonably sized - minor niggle was the aircon which was on or off - no real control of fan speed.
In-house breakfast was ok but pricey and there were a number of better/cheaper options at cafes within 100m.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Lover242424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 178 in Seville
2,902 reviews
Hotel Rey Alfonso X
#26 of 178 in Seville
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,772 reviews
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#56 of 178 in Seville
1,545 reviews
Hotel Fernando III
#31 of 178 in Seville
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Seville
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $105 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing