We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a tourist, classic decor”
Review of Hotel Dona Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dona Maria
Ranked #65 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a tourist, classic decor”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great hotel for a tourist. It's an old palace and the rooms are decorated in a classic Spanish style, while still having modern comforts. It's a borderline 4 start hotel and it took the rooftop terrace to push it over the edge for me. The views from the terraces are incredible. The hotel staff was not helpful with restaurant suggestions and we did carry our own bags up to our room, but they did have a bellman that I noticed later. Why the front desk guy didn't call him when we walked in, I don't know. We did get a great price on the hotel, something like $70, but it was on a Monday night in July when it is really hot in Seville. We would stay there again in the future for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardClark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    477
    186
    76
    70
See reviews for
237
527
48
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Sevilla, across from the Cathedral and the Giralda Tower, and near the Santa Cruz neighborhood. I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. My family and I especially loved Lola, the bartender, at the hotel. It was way too hot one late afternoon to go anywhere else, so we dropped in with the kids, and just chatted for over an hour while having drinks (and cooling off). The pool is refreshing, and has the most beautiful view of the Giralda. The breakfast is too expensive, and not very good. I didn't want or expect American fare, just a good breakfast. We intend to return to this hotel, hopefully, soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhflmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location - perfect. Rooms - Great. Pool - refreshing with great views. Breakfast - not worth the cost ... We loved this place ... walking distance to anything. Clean rooms with great character. Bathrooms were very nice for such an old hotel. The only issue we had (which was easy to fix) was having breakfast at the hotel. Thankfully we did not have it included so we only had it once. The cost of breakfast was more than a nice meal out at most of the top (#4-7) trip advisor restaurants for dinner. If they lowered the price, it may be worth but as it is, no need for breakfast in the hotel. We would stay here again as the Hotel was a very nice complement to a wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrK_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We choice this hotel for its parking but when we got here (hard to find even with GPS) were I formed that it was full and the local carpark was acted minute walk away.

Didn't seem to have enough receptionist staff for the amount of guests. The two times I went to reception I had to wait over give minutes. Could have just been bad timing on my part.

The room was dated but perfect size for the three of us. We had a great time at the terrace bar on the fourth floor over looking the cathedral

You can't bet the location for sight seeing

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamtram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is located across the Giralda » centre of the old Seville.
Good place, old hotel, but well maintain… nothing extraordinary, but we don’t spend too much time in our room.
However, avoid the breakfast at the hotel… expensive, and not so good, just go across the street to any small restaurant of café in the morning and you’ll have a great cappuccino, of latte, croissants, for a fraction of the price.

Room Tip: you have a car, the parking in the hotel is 20 Euros a day, (and they don’t tell you that in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Located in the square right next to the Cathedral and Real Alcazar, there couldn't be a better location for a hotel. Tons of restaurants and shops are all over the area along with the sites. There is a pool on the roof with a bar that has fantastic views of the Cathedral. At night the roof is a swanky popular lounge. The only down side is the hotel advertises it has parking, that parking is only 5 spots in a very hard to get into underground garage. Still a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Dona Maria is literally right next door to La Giralda and the Cathedral, in the centre of Seville.. Location could not be better, and it has a roof top pool that will blow your mind at sunset. The rooms are a bit old fashioned and so are most of the employees, but the over all impression is great. It's a wonderful place to come back to at the end of a hot day sightseeing.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of La Giralda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,289 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
Eurostars Sevilla Boutique
#53 of 175 in Seville
851 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 175 in Seville
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#45 of 175 in Seville
1,404 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Fontecruz Sevilla Seises
Hotel Fernando III
#49 of 175 in Seville
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Maria

Property: Hotel Dona Maria
Address: Calle Don Remondo 19 | +34954224990, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Seville
#38 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dona Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dona Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Maria Seville
Dona Maria Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing