We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location !”
Review of Hotel Becquer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Becquer
Ranked #10 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel Becquer was in a great location to walk to most of the attractions and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Our room was reasonably spacious, and suited our 3 night stay with all we needed. Breakfast was also reasonably good with a varied choice.
Seville was a great place especially during Semante Santa (Holy Week) which we found vibrant and exciting.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that doesn't overlook a local tapas bar as they can be very vibrant in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lethal112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 4,576 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was on a short business trip, and rather stay in the conference hotel, I wanted something smaller with charm in the historic district. Trip Advisor helped me select this hotel, and I highly recommend it. The room was spacious & quiet, clean, comfortable, wifi worked, lots of hot water, great view.

The staff were helpful and friendly; suggested a tram rather than cab to conference hotel which I never would have known of otherwise.

Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. Lovely walking in all directions. Cabs were right across the street. Great pool and large sundeck on the roof; bring a bathing suit! Pool towels provided.

Location was within a 5 min walk from the EA bus airport stop. The only thing I'd recommend is having a clear map of how to walk from bus stop to hotel. I wandered a bit which isn't easy when you've been on an overnight flight.

Overall, an 11 on a scale of 1-10!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEbiztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I spent a week from 18th to 25th april 2014 at this hotel with my husband, who was celebrating his 50th birthday, and our 14 year old son. We were delighted to be given an upgraded room, one with a balcony on the front of the hotel. The room was very clean, comfortable, and well decorated and furnished. Despite the room being on the front of the hotel, it was very well soundproofed and quiet.
The pool and sun terrace on the hotels rooftop was amazing. The views from up there were probably the best in Seville, looking over the rooftops to the cathedral area. Sadly, the rooftop bar was not open during our stay, but a quick phonecall to reception and a waiter came to the rooftop and brought drinks. The staff of the hotel, the reception staff, bar staff and even the garage staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was in a perfect location, with many bars and restaurants on the doorstep, and only about 10 minutes walk to the catherdral and palace area. The river was at the end of the street and we enjoyed a river boat tour. We took a horse and cart ride from the cathedral area, which was well worth it. All in all, a great city and an excellent hotel in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: Room with balcony was a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We would recommend this hotel because the staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was excellent and the choice of food was vast. Included in our stay was a guided tour of the city and our tour guide, Lola was very informative and knowledgable making the tour very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is located on a main street, within easy walking distance of the Cathedral, the Alcazar, and also the city's small but not to be missed art museum (in a former convent). Indeed, we walked from the hotel to the Plaza d'Espana and Parque Maria Luisa. This is a comfortable old hotel with marble floors in the lobby, large rooms, comfortable beds with very good pillows, and very reliable internet.. Though we faced a side street the window was so well insulated that we never were bothered by street noise, not did we hear our neighbors even though the hotel was fully booked for Holy Week. (We did hear the processions go by, since they come by the street on which the hotel faces, but the marching bands do play loudly, and we could still sleep without any trouble. . Of course, one reason to come to Seville in Holy Week is to watch the processions. I set the alarm for 3am to enjoy the friendly and perfectly behaved crowds outside the hotel -- of all ages- on a day when the processions run late into the night. ) I cannot say enough good things about the breakfast. Yes, it's expensive, but we used it for breakfast + lunch! Unlike many hotels in other countries --where you are bombarded at breakfast by American (or at least English language) rock and rap, breakfast was either noise free or we got to listen to very nice live Spanish classical guitar!. These reasons would cause me to give the Hotel Becquer a 4* review; , it gets the fifth star because around 10.30 pm on the day we arrived my wife's coughing, which had begun the day before, when we were in Granada, just wouldn't stop.. It was so bad that I knew she needed to see a doctor. We called down to the desk and they arranged for a doctor to visit the room. He arrived in less than half an hour!! While we had to pay a substantial sum for the hotel visit, it was worh it! He examined her carefully and gave her three prescriptions, one to relieve pain, one for inflammation, and an antibiotic to stave off the bacterial infection that often accompanies bronchitis, and the hotel found me a pharmacy that was open that late even during Holy Week and put me in a taxi with the bellman giving instructions to the taxi driver to wait for me until the prescription was filled. My wife was better with a few days; without the doctor's visit her stay in Spain would have been ruined and the doctor suggested that , without medication, she was likely to have gotten worse -- even to the point of hospitalization.
Three hints to improve your stay: (1) eat at the Café Flores a block away on Calle Reales Catolicas; it has nice tapas, (2) take a walk across the bridge into Triana; there is a statuei of a great matador with a hole in his chest where he was gored., and a pedestrian street filled with Tapas restaurants (read the TripAdvisor reviews before picking one), (3) visit the Iglesia Santa Magdalena, on Calle San Pablo, It is really over the top!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aismyfirstname W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel while on visit to Sevilla and was a wonderful stay. The front desk was very friendly upon check-in and provided different options for sightseeing. The room was large enough and comfortable. There was no view from room, but the roof terrace offered a nice views of the cathedral (see photos) which was one of the main reasons for selecting this hotel from others. The hotel is not too far from the Cathedral, about a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel is on a main street with different cafes and restaurants and you can walk down the street over the Puente de Isabela Bridge for more choices and views from other side of the river. Hotel has free wifi which was great in the room and breakfast area. I ended up paying for breakfast during the stay and it was worth it and enjoyed the buffet before the start of a long sightseeing day. The hotel was less than 10 euro taxi ride from the Train station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We just stayed in this hotel. Walls were not thin (like other European hotels), cleaning/housekeeping staff was VERY nice and everything was within walking distance. The staff spoke a little English (enough to check in & out and get local info). I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are only accessible by stairs (not an elevator), remember to ask about thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 177 in Seville
798 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Collection Sevilla
#20 of 177 in Seville
1,954 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#7 of 177 in Seville
2,486 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 177 in Seville
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becquer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becquer

Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 4, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seville
#7 Family Hotel in Seville
#7 Business Hotel in Seville
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $60 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Becquer 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Becquer Hotel, is located in the historical and commercial centre of the city, next to the Guadalquivir River, just 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral, Giralda, Barrio de Santa Cruz and a step away form the area of Tapas (Triana). With very easy access to buses and a private garage for hotel guests.There are 134 rooms fully equipped with private bathroom, plasma TV, WIFI, minibar, safe, air conditioning or heating (depend on season), trouser press, laundry service, free coffee/tea maker in the room, room service until 24:00, etc ...The hotel also has meeting rooms, fully equipped with free WIFI, loudspeakers and audiovisuals. Outdoor swimming pool, Terrace and Solarium with wonderful views of the Cathedral and the Giralda are open from 1st of June till 31st of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Becquer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becquer Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing