We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Becquer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Becquer
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
3,578 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,133 helpful votes
“A Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Hotel Becquer is a very good hotel. Our room had two twin beds and there was a big “B” monogram on each bedsheet, which made the room look quite elegant. There was wall paper with the color of terracotta and curtains with a faint green print of the Chinese countryside. Above the bed there was a large painting of a Roman face. There was a wood desk, night tables, and a headboard. The floor was a light colored wood. The bathroom was adequate and the bathtub was low, so it was easy to get in and out of it without falling. The closet had mirrored doors. There was also a kettle in the room, although we did not use it. The TV set had a flat panel. The bedroom was very comfortable and there was sufficient lighting. Our room was very quiet and we did not hear any street noise at all.

The breakfast buffet was extremely good and there was even rice, if one wanted it. There were plenty of fruits, breakfast sweets, cooked mushrooms, sausage, and even jamon iberico, cut into thin slices. I enjoyed the chicken nuggets. The breakfast was served in a covered patio and what was very nice was the mobile overhead, which consisted of about 150 figures of small swallows.

The service at the hotel was very, very good, and very friendly. The front desk was very helpful too and very professional. We felt very welcome as soon as we entered the hotel. We put our car in the garage, whose entrance was at the back of the hotel.

I have to put a good word about the hotel restaurant, which is next door to the entrance and is called the Cafeteria La Leyenda. They have a five course tapas tasting menu that costs 18 euros and is worth it. There is also a daily tapas menu costing 10 euros and this consists of two courses and a drink, which was also very good. We tried both of these and enjoyed them.

The hotel is downtown and you can walk to most of the main sights of the city within 15 minutes. So the location is perfect. I will certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    1,688
    260
    55
    22
See reviews for
879
2,267
139
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Hotel Becquer is a great hotel in the perfect location in Seville. The room was very spacious, with all the amenities you would expect in an American hotel (which is saying a lot in Spain). The hotel was right near the center of town and the river, which was a lovely area to stroll around. They have a computer downstairs that is free for all guests. We never ate in the hotel, but they do have a restaurant that seemed to be quite crowded.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBecquer, Director Comercial at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
"Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Becquer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Couldn't get one of the other top rated hotels so was a bit of a concern, but unfounded. Very well located hotel with great value and service. All it might lack is a little charm, though the bar next door has it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Hotel Becquer was a very nice and clean hotel centrally located. There was a delicious Tapas restaurant off the lobby with street side table service. Roof top had a pool and sunning deck with lounges and a nice view. The location was walking distance to all the sights and the river. Sevilla has amazing user friendly bike paths and the hotel loaned us two bikes for the entire day free of charge. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite with a sitting room which was on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaCoral7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBecquer, Director of Sales at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
"Dear Guest, We thank you for your comments. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you at Hotel Becquer in the near future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was our first trip to Seville and we found the location great for visiting all the different attractions and areas. It's an easy walk into the centre, 5 minutes to Triana, 10 to Alameda (which is great for nightlife with lots of nice bars and tapas at great prices). The roof top pool is fantastic to chill out early evening (although it would be even better if there was a bar to get a cold drink!!). We thought the breakfast was over priced though so we walked into the centre instead (6-8 mins). The tapas bar in the hotel is good too for some unusual but nice options! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBecquer, Director of Sales at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
"Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful comment regarding your stay with us, here at the Hotel Becquer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you again in the future. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed one night here in mid october. Got good use out of the rooftop pool which has great views. Room was also great, nice decor, clean and with tea/coffee supplies etc. Quite well situated in the city centre, also not to far away from the bus station. Would definetely stay here again. Friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_dance_xxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed 6 nights at this hotel and it was very good. It is in an excellent location and all the important sights are within walking distance. My room was spacious and clean. It has a safe and kettle, coffee supplies etc. My room faced the street but I did not hear a sound and once the curtains were drawn the room was in total darkness - so good for a restful sleep. Just make sure you close the bathroom door and the door onto the hall as you will hear running water from the next room. The bathroom was clean - not sure if they wash the floor every day though. The staff was responsive to all requests. When requested an iron was promptly delivered to my room. The breakfast selection is one of the best I've ever seen. There is an excellent walk/jogging area along the river. Excellent restaurants just across the street - El Cairo. La Leyenda at the hotel is also a good bet for tapas and a glass of wine after a long day. Pool area looked nice - did not try the spa. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Pilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBecquer, Director of Sales at Hotel Becquer, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
"Dear Guest, We thank you so much for your wonderful positive feedback about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Becquer. We hope to see you again very soon. From the heart of Seville and from our entire team we extend our warmest regards. We remind you that, you will find our best prices on our webpage."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#5 of 175 in Seville
2,303 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Hotel Amadeus
#10 of 175 in Seville
1,952 reviews
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 175 in Seville
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becquer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becquer

Property: Hotel Becquer
Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 4, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seville
#7 Family Hotel in Seville
#7 Business Hotel in Seville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Becquer 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Becquer Hotel, is located in the historical and commercial centre of the city, next to the Guadalquivir River, just 5 minutes walk from the Cathedral, Giralda, Barrio de Santa Cruz and a step away form the area of Tapas (Triana). With very easy access to buses and a private garage for hotel guests.There are 134 rooms fully equipped with private bathroom, plasma TV, WIFI, minibar, safe, air conditioning or heating (depend on season), trouser press, laundry service, free coffee/tea maker in the room, room service until 24:00, etc ...The hotel also has meeting rooms, fully equipped with free WIFI, loudspeakers and audiovisuals. Outdoor swimming pool, Terrace and Solarium with wonderful views of the Cathedral and the Giralda are open from 1st of June till 31st of October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Becquer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becquer Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing