We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there, Get In, Be amazed :)”
Review of Camara Oscura

Camara Oscura
Ranked #49 of 284 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get there, Get In, Be amazed :)”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I myself had never ever seen a Camera Obscura so I was amazed by the quality of the view of the city. It is an amazing experience, but do not tell everyone. This has very limited capacity :) The caretaker -slash- tourguide has great views to show and lots of funny remarks to make. But, be sure to understand some Spannish as that is what he will mostly speak, although very clear and slow. So you can follow quite good if you lack excellent spannish skills. Go there any way to enjoy this complete other view of th city and... weather allowing : the SUN!

Session is about 25 minutes get your ticket at the small restaurant nearby. ENjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Arnd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    49
    17
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Probably one of the most under-rated attraction!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It's not just a tower for a 360 view of Sevilla, its also a magical experience! There's a "show" or demonstration which gives you a camera/TV view of the entire city that requires you to pay more, and it's supposedly "only in Spanish". But my girlfriend and I were the only visitors that timing, so we got the entire "show" to ourselves in ENGLISH! And the guide was really fluent with his English, and even made really hilarious remarks and jokes about some of the iconic attractions during the "show". Don't just walk up and think its just a silly 360 view, its more than that and you should go for it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Wenjie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An unusual little place”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were in this area and decided to try to find it, and are so glad we did. Our guide was very charming, and made it a fun experience. We have never visited a camera obscura before, but were pleasantly surprised

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karenanddave55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Big brother is watching you!!!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Want to spy on the rooftop gardens across Seville, then this is the place to go. After a short wait for the previous visit to finish we took a short ride up in a very small lift as the stairs cannot be used. However the wait and cramped lift were absolutely worth the wait as the views across the rooftops of Seville were great, although if you don't have a head for heights you might not want to venture out on to the rather narrow 360 degree balcony and just rely on the projected image inside.

The guide spoke good English and as he manoeuvred the camera around and zoomed in and out we were given a brilliant 360 degree guided tour of Seville and the surrounding 7km.

A really worthwhile visit, exceptionally well priced and while you visiting have a light lunch in the restaurant below.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went her as it was close to our hotel and we needed to kill some time before getting a taxi to the airport. However this is well worth making the effort to see. Didn't look promising from the outside - just a tower with a periscope at the top. However you can see the whole of Seville from the viewing platform and if you pay a little extra for the Camera Oscura (tickets from cafe opposite 4 euro) a very nice man will show you this on the periscope. Tours are normally conducted in Spanish so this is worth bearing mind. However much of the experience is visual, It was really interesting - we were very pleasantly surprised

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camara Oscura also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Camara Oscura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing