We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic overall service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic overall service”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Alongside an exceptionally clean and comfortable room being prepared for us, the WiFi was similarly set up very quickly (the staff indeedbeing true to their word!). However, what struck us the most was the sympathetic and understanding nature of (in particular) the night staff, whereupon the woman at the front desk gave us a lot of helpful advice after we had returned to the hotel at 4am, after having our bags stolen on 'calle betis' (a street with many bars which looks out onto the river). We had later been told by the police that this street had been home to many thefts before us. In the morning after, the staff were again very friendly and more than willing to let us check out a little later than the norm. The Monte Carmelo Hotel is also in a prime location as it is at the doorstep of a street called 'calle asunción' which has numerous shops, bars etc. The hotel may be a little far from some of the monuments in Seville, but the route to these is quite picturesque! It is most likely that you will need to ask for the air con to be turned on in your room, but it is swiftly done! Overall I would say that this is an excellent hotel! I would definatly recomend a stay here if you want a cost effective comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug_Stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and your comments.
We regret that during their stay they had that incident. We pay all the help we could, because we believe that is one of our obligations.
Hopefully come back for Sevilla and enjoy this city.
We thank also the recommendation in this community of travelers.
Hoping to see you soon, we greet you sincerely,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    260
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
105
402
34
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We traveled from Barcelona via Valencia and Granada to Seville. Driving through Spain can be challencing but especially parking. Jose Angel was kind enough to park our car when checking in and made sure that the car was retrieved when leaving. Esther is another great reason to come back and stay at the hotsl. Staff at breakfast was also very attentive and provided good service. Breakfast good selection

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Hoagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are glad that your stay was to your liking and they found little difficulty in your stay in Seville.
Transmit to Jose Angel and Esther your nice comments.
Hope to see you again for Seville or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was okay except the Monte Carmelo plays games with the air conditioning. At about 6:00 am the staff shuts off the air conditioner to your room--no notice and no apologies when you have to call the desk and ask them to turn it on.

If you don't mind a ten-minute walk through a safe neighborhood to the center of town and you can live with them turning off the air conditioning system (which works great when they leave it on), you could end up with a bargain.

Me? I will stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LangleyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thanks for your comments.
We regret that your stay was not as you wished. The air-conditioned hotel, except in times of summer, is off at a specific time. To date we have never received a complaint in this regard. We will study a solution to this problem.
Sincerely yours,

Miguel Andreu
Communication & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We traveled as a couple and stayed there for two night in the first week of May.
72 Euro per night not including tax.

Pros:
Great and very friendly staff when check-in and check-out.
Esther helped us made reservation for Flamenco show, even though we chose not to go with the ones recommended by the hotel. The second day Amy (or Eny?) helped us get partial refund for not visiting the Flamenco museum.
Clean and average room and facility.

Cons:
The location is not close to any of the tourism points. A 20-30 minutes walk is needed for any sight-seeing. Bus plus some walk is needed for the train station. But the hotel is close enough to a main street for shopping. There could be some noise at night from the street.

WiFi was slow just like most of the hotels in Spain.

We did not use the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDCA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sir:
Thank you for your comments and stay in our hotel. We also thank the clarity of them, that gives us so that we can adequately answer those who did not like.
The location of our hotel is something we value highly our customers. In just a ride, very nice crossing the Guadalquivir River offering beautiful views, is located in the historical quarter of the city. It is true that for other points of interest is necessary to take some public transport, but it also happens with other hotels in the city. As for noise, the hotel is in a very quiet and equipped with double glass in their windows to mitigate those noises that may occur. Everything also depends on the sensitivity of each person.
We hope these explanations will convince and we'd like to see in Seville or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva. We will be happy to assist you again.
Sincerely yours,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 2 children in late March 2013 in 2 adjoined rooms. It was a very good value. The hotel is not located in the center of Sevilla, but is next door to Triana and easy walking distance across the bridge to El Arenal and Santa Cruz. We like to walk and had no problem. Driving around the hotel is tricky, but would have been horrible in the center of Sevilla. When we stayed, one of the cross streets was closed, forcing us to drive the wrong way on a one way street in order to get close enough to unload bags. It may have only been closed due to the Semana Santa de Sevilla, as the blockade was gone when we checked out a couple days later. You MUST RESERVE PARKING. We didn't realize that and ended up paying a boat load at an underground garage (not the hotel's fault). The hotel itself is very nice and basic - ample sized rooms, spotless, friendly staff, nothing to fault. It just lacks any sort of character, but was fine for our purposes. The only slight down-side was the street noise, but it wasn't too bad and, again, may have been the result of the Holy Week. We skipped the breakfast as it is pricey. Bottom line - if you are driving a car, I would definitely recommend this hotel. If you will not have a car, consider a location closer to the center.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Madam:
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
I must say that closing the street to traffic was through no fault of our hotel, connected with the celebration of Easter. Maybe because of this felt a little more noise, something I usually have no complaints. We hope not disturb your rest.
Hope to see you again for Seville or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

hotel near de centre of seville, 5 min walking, breakfast very good, fresh fruit, fish, meat, cheese, bread, juices. room clean, nice bathroom. aeroport with bus and metro = 30 min. If we will returne to Seville, we will order the same hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel_Andreu, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Madam:
Thank you for your words and that definition so complete that makes our breakfast buffet.
What we like to hear from our customers is that they intend to return to stay with us. This is the best reward for our daily efforts.
Hope to see you again for Sevilla or any other of our properties in Cádiz, Malaga and Huelva.
With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Triana Hotel
#14 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
NH Collection Sevilla
#16 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Property: Monte Carmelo Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing