We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good situation in an authentic district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good situation in an authentic district”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

50m from a bike station, 5min by bike from the cathedral, in a pedestrian street.

The area is quite (once you respect the spanish Life Time), with many restaurants (typical spanish bar) where you can eat for 5€.

For a relaxing week end you are 5min by walk from calle betis where you'll find restaurant, bar, and an intense spanish Life.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seb_bess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are pleased that the location of our hotel was to his liking and enjoyed his stay in Seville.
Hope to see you again or by any of our stores in Huelva, Cadiz and Malaga. Until then, Yours faithfully,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    269
    44
    6
    7
See reviews for
110
414
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Came to Seville for Three Kings' Day from 5th to 9th January
Hotel is an easy 10-15 minute walk from the where the airport bus stops.
Hotel is very clean, rooms are spacious and very quiet and bathroom (with bath) are very large. Breakfast more than sufficient with excellent coffee
All the tourist attractions are easily reached with 20 minutes pleasant walk, no need for taxis or to take buses.
Hotel is situated in what appears to be very good residential area with good places to eat, local shops and decent supermarkets on your doorstep.
Reception and other staff very friendly and we could not fault the hotel at all, would definately stay at the hotel again if we returned to Seville again

Room Tip: Room over looked small courtyard - so whilst no view it kept the room quiet and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marke18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are pleased that once again be with us next time you visit this city. We will be happy to assist sde again.
Until then, Yours faithfully,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It used to be a good hotel (with a slight business feeling) and it still is in terms of location, service and cleanliness. Rooms a quite big and with a touch of traditional Andalusian design. But some rooms (which are really well kept and clean!) literally go to pieces: we were forced to change rooms twice during 4-night stay! In first room there were a hole in a shower hose, and in second one an electric control (a place you insert your key card to switch an electricity on) just broke to peaces one day (without any damage, thanks God).

In other aspects it is quite good, with light and clean rooms, free wireless Internet, in-room kettle, etc. Location is a highlight: it is very close to the city center (just 10 minutes by walk to the Cathedral), but still without tourist crowds and noise. There are plenty of shops, stores and cafes nearby, and a place itself is splurge residential district (btw, it's not Triana, it is Los Remedios, although this hotel network has another hotel in Triana, too).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alyonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We are pleased that the location and services of our hotel were to his liking, and that the two setbacks that arose during their stay were resolved immediately, to make your stay as best as possible.
Hope to see you again or by any of our stores in Huelva, Cadiz and Malaga. Until then, Yours faithfully,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

It's not the old, stylish or luxurious hotel, but it's practical if you have a car which you can park in the vicinity. Ans if you like to walk, it's a nice 15 minutes to all the sites in the old town just across the river. The hotel is not special at all, the architecture is even quite ugly, 60-70s style, but it has all you need to get a good rest!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Millevoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanks for the review of our hotel.

We hope might rest in your stay at our hotel. We are glad you liked the location.

We hope to see you again in Seville or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva. Until then, best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoceber, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is situated in the Triana neighbourhood of Sevilla. Close to the center but at this time of the year fairly much free of tourists and quite lively with local people visiting the numerous tapa bars. The personnel at the reception were very friendly and helpful and very willing to provide information about the city and the nearby restaurants and bars. The room was quite spacious with mini bar, hair dryer etc. There was a problem with the WIFI but that was solved within 20 minutes and the staff came to the room with a new user name and password. The only thing lacking was parking place because the garage is very small and was full at the time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review of our hotel.
We trust that your stay with us exceeds your expectations and always remember us as a place of rest and leisure.
We hope to see you again in Seville or any of our hotels in Cadiz, Malaga and Huelva. Until then, best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

After having a look at the other reviews I had to check if I had accidentally stayed at the wrong hotel - but nope. We stayed for 5 nights in October. If we hadn't paid up front we would have left after night 1. It feels like an old man's hostel. On the plus side, if you have a car the underground carpark would be good and the staff are very helpful. On the minus side (which far outweighs the plus), this place is not good value for Sevilla or for Spain; it's a 1970s dump and there are far nicer, cleaner places. Unless parking is important, don't stay out here where nothing is located, stay in the attractive part of town. There was an awful smell emanating through the reception the 5 days we were there and we made the mistake of wiping off some spilt water on the dressing table the first night and realised just how dirty the place is. Yuck! It isn't very well maintained or clean. The decor is a very tired 70s green,yellow and orange. Overall we had that 'YUCK' feeling about the whole place where you don't want to touch anything. The aircon was rather dodgy and worked some nights and was boiling others. The worst place we stayed in Spain by far. There are fabulous places to stay in Sevilla for the budget. Unless you are desperate don't stay at the Montecarmelo.

Room Tip: My tip: if you want a nice room find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerMadjesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear you speak in this way about our property, which is why we would like to reply to some of your comments, always under our deepest respect for your opinion.

Our hotel has a systematic maintenance program, in which the most important part is the rooms, which are always kept in perfect condition. The cleaning is reviewed daily by our management and supported by the comments of other guests, most of which rate this aspect highly. It may be possible to make mistakes, but we try to avoid them at all costs.

Hotel Monte Carmelo’s location is characteristic, being considered by most of our guests as a well located and well connected establishment.

You indicate that there was some sort of odor in the reception area during those days. We did not appreciate that nor have we received any customer complaint or even comment regarding this issue, otherwise we would have addressed it immediately.

Regarding the air conditioning operation, (which is centrally controlled and managed): In this time of the year with important variations in temperature throughout the day, and customers with different origins and comfort level temperatures, it is very difficult to satisfy everyone equally. Sometimes it is impossible to adjust the temperature to the particular needs of all. Yet, whenever special preferences are expressed, we satisfy them or work in offering possible solutions.

Finally, we understand that each client has their own opinion, subjective and different. But objectively, we do not think Hotel Monte Carmelo deserves the title of your description, which causes us great harm by your qualification as a DUMP.

We regret that the memory you have from your stay is the expressed above, and also regret not having been able to contact you directly during these days to address these matters personally, as part of the customer service policy carried out by Hoteles Monte.

We look forward to seeing you again at any of our Hotels located in Sevilla, Cádiz, Huelva or Málaga.

Until then, with best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent two nights at the Monte Carmelo as we closed out a tour of Andalucia with a short stay in Seville.
The hotel appealed to us principally because of the underground carpark (very convenient) and didn't disappoint. Tip: Make sure to request a parking space direct with the hotel once you've booked. Room was a good size & clean; strong hot shower; walls a bit thin and an overall 'business' feel to the place.
There are a couple of simple local bars at the end of the street for a quick beer or aperitivo and the local shops offer quite a few things - as long as you like shoes!
The breakfast was excellent: a wide range of fresh bread, fruit, pastries; nice range of Iberian goodies including cheeses, ham and sausages; good coffee served at the table; friendly service. A chilled bottle of Cava and a good selection of juices mean you can start your day with a Bellini/Mimosa (not that we'd suggest such a thing...). Overall worth the additional cost on top of the room.
Seville centre is a fifteen minute walk across the bridge. The area feels safe and is well-lit, the Giralda and Cathedral are both a short hop once you've crossed the river.
Service at reception was friendly, knowledgeable and polite.
All-in-all, considering how late we booked, this hotel ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Check after booking if you'd like a double or twin, as you can't confirm this through bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Public Relations & Marketing at Monte Carmelo Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Sir:
Thank you very much for your comments, that define our hotel so great.
We are glad that your stay with us to fulfill all your expectations. We hope to see you again in Seville or any of our stores in Huelva, Cadiz and Malaga.
Attentively.

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 175 in Seville
4,183 reviews
Monte Triana Hotel
#15 of 175 in Seville
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#5 of 175 in Seville
2,310 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#13 of 175 in Seville
707 reviews
NH Collection Sevilla
#21 of 175 in Seville
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carmelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carmelo Hotel

Property: Monte Carmelo Hotel
Address: Calle Virgen de La Victoria 7, 41011 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#15 Business Hotel in Seville
#43 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Carmelo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the district of Los Remedios, this 4 star hotel is one of the hotels we have in Seville (Spain). It has a welcoming atmosphere, and is near the historic centre and Isle of la Cartuja, surrounded by the shopping district.The hotel has 65 rooms (rooms with twin beds, double beds, three beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. Hotel Monte Carmelo is situated 10 minutes on foot from the historic quarter of Seville, in an area with a large concentration of shops, offices and public institutions such as the Regional Government of Andalusia.This location makes our hotel an ideal place to conduct business or visit the city for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Monte Carmelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Carmelo
Monte Carmelo Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing