We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven of peace and tranquillity in Seville in February” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Haven of peace and tranquillity in Seville in February”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Received a very warm welcome from reception who were at great pains to provide us with an overview of sights worth seeing and access to them. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble. The situation of the hotel is, as remarked by other travellers, excellent. In a quiet square, it is nevertheless not far from Cathedral area, etc., The public areas are very pleasant. The staff are (to a man/woman) outstanding. Breakfast choices are varied and appetizing. Our room, overlooking the front square, was good, and there was not too much noise from passing traffic. The fact that the roof top terrace and pool were not open and we were not warned of this did not matter in late February. However, I would have been disappointed to find the same if we had visited in the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldcrone90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospesHotels, Director General at Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about Hospes at tripadvisoR.
It is important to have our guests opinions as we constantly strive to improve our service.

Regarding the terrace I just want to inform you that we are doing some renovations on it at this time of year because nobody uses it at the moment due to the temperature in Seville

All the best

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    293
    81
    34
    33
See reviews for
139
484
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I would echo the sentiments of the other positive reviews that this hotel has received - excellent location, beautiful building, etc.

I would also add that I thought that the beds were extremely comfortable - contrary to what others have said.

I would, however, state two concerns:

1) there was no warning in advance of the fact that the pool and roof terrace area - a well advertised and extremely appealing part of the building- was not going to be available during my stay; and
2) a number of small items (e.g. headphones, other electronic equipment) mysteriously disappeared from the room. Whether the disappearances were due to lack of care is not clear, however it was disappointing to see that we had to chase up the search for these items a number of times.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCKP933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As far as I know, this hotel is the lowest-rated of the Hospes hotels in Spain. I'd say this is definitely a place to consider staying when you come to Seville. It also makes me consider staying at other Hospes locations next time in the country, if this is their lowest-rated facility. This was another in a series of older hotels we stayed in during our two-weeks in Spain and like all older hotels it has its quirks (you've read elsewhere about the lighting and the somewhat tired interiors) but it is beautiful with very nice public areas. It is also centrally located, no more than a 10-minute walk to the Cathedral, the Jewish Quarter, etc. The rooms may be a bit tired & the lighting poor, but our suites were ample with large living-, bath-, and bedrooms. With regard to price, I can only say that for a good hotel, in a good location in one of the most important tourist destinations in the country, this was priced appropriately, in my opinion.

Our two days & nights in Seville were augmented by our experience at the hotel. From check-in (quick & easy), to the valet (you don't need or want a car to move around Seville), and, most important, a well-informed staff with very good local recommendations. BTW, at check in, they gave us a glass of sangria & had us sit in the patio while they did the work. An extra star for that alone.

The suite we had was spacious, with three large rooms as already noted. We were on the first floor near the elevator, but there was no problem with noise as the bedroom was far away from the machinery. Admittedly, the suite seems to have helped here given other complaints about patio noise because our bedroom was not directly on the patio, either. The bathroom, with its open shower (at least in our room, our friends' room was different) was great. The rooftop pool may be small, but after a day of touring in the Andalusian sun, a welcome relief, & there was waiter service there as well. Take advantage of it. The public spaces were also very nice and a great place to relax and have a drink to get away from the heat.

The staff were very helpful with directions & restaurant suggestions. Try the pricey, but I think worth it, Abades Triana for the view & the food. (I have to admit that I do speak the language, which, according to my wife, seems to get you a little extra something with staff everywhere, so I may be more favorably disposed toward staffs in general than some other reviewers.) We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Though the spreads are usually fantastic they are just too pricey in my opinion. Also, why not walk a few blocks to San Buenaventura & eat with sevillanos on their way to work?

I can only repeat what I said above, I think the hotel is well worth the cost for the building, the location, and the staff. Since I didn't experience any of this, you might want to take other people's suggestions with regard to room locations b/c of noise, etc., but again, I think this is a lovely place to stay. Try it, you may just want to extend your time in Seville.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Hospes hotels are a chain of boutique hotels in Spain and France (something like the Kimpton chain in the US). We found the hotel staff to be very professional, friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The spa like bathroom was large and “out of this world”, with a nice size soaking tub with a rainfall shower head. The bed and mattresses we found to be very comfortable and we slept well for the two nights we stayed there.
I had read a review mentioning something about an individual’s room being noisy. I did not find this to be the case. Our room was quite. Because the hotel has open balconies facing a courtyard, of course you will hear some noise when people pass by. If you wanted a sound proof room, there are plenty of less charming, impersonal, sterile high rise hotel chains to choose from. But when you are staying in such a beautiful city such as Seville, it only made sense for us to stay in an equally beautiful and charming hotel as the Las Casas del Rey de Baeza. They even had baskets of fresh oranges, from some of the orange trees located in the courtyard.
The hotel was a short walk to all of the major attractions and there plenty of eating choices nearby. We did order room service one night and the food was excellent. All in all we had a great time there and would recommend this romantic hotel to anyone visiting Seville. This was one of the better hotels we had stayed at; a real “class act”.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This gorgeous hotel, with its pretty courtyard, is a real find. Unfortunately I was there for only one night, so unable to take advantage of the spa and pool. Beautiful setting, lovely friendly staff, and to top it all, a buffet breakfast heaving with goodies. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sperhabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza is as Spanish and charming as it gets. We had to drive around the area three times before we could park outside, but then again driving in any Spanish city can be a challenge. Once your car is parked, the location is super! Only 10 minutes’ walk through charming Seville streets to the Cathedral and 15 min from Toro de Oro. This old house has been restored and updated with care and is well balanced between homey and professional. We were lucky to be upgraded to a deluxe room which was spacious, nicely furnished and with a comfy bed. Fresh flowers adds that special touch. The bathroom offered a spa feel. Bathrobes and slippers are a big plus.

Breakfast was a true delight! We loved the way cereals and muesli were presented in individual glass bottles as was the yoghurt. Traditional Spanish ham, sausages and tortilla gave a local touch whilst the buffet offered everything else you could desire to get a good start on the day. Champagne on the cooler was the icing on the cake.

We were greeted by a friendly staff and they helped us with booking of a flamenco show, gave us restaurant recommendations and driving directions upon leaving. They were all attentive and more than happy to help. We were truly happy to have found this gem of a hotel and warmly recommends it to everyone planning a stay in Seville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraPolaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked the hotel the day before our stay on 23rd January having researched a number of standard Seville hotels. What we were seeking was something a little bit different and we not disappointed at our choice. The hotel dates from the 18th century and the bedrooms feed off galleried landings overlooking an open courtyard. The staff welcomed us with a complimentary drink and were friendly and helpful. We stayed an extra night and took dinner in the hotel's Senzone restaurant which was excellent and reasonably priced. The delux bedroom matched its description and the large round bath was a nice bonus. Seville's network of streets makes walking around challenging but the hotel whilst not central is no more than a ten minute walk way from the cathedral. SatNav got us there easily. If you are after a charming hotel of great character stay at Hospes Las Casas del Rey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Las Casas de la Juderia
#30 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla

Property: Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla
Address: Plaza Jesus de La Redencion 2, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seville
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#20 Family Hotel in Seville
#23 Romantic Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hospes Las Casas del Rey de Baeza Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Las Casas Del Rey De Baeza Sevilla Hotel Seville
Las Casas Del Rey De Baeza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing