We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away from most tourist venues”
Review of Hotel San Gil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Gil
Ranked #70 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Came with my son and his wife. Both our rooms were quite small. Plasma tv fridge and bathroom good. Our section away at the rear was only 2 years old so our rooms were modern.dark as window looked over vertical shaft with other room windows opposite so had to keep voile privacy curtains closed. Room heater efficient but neither of us could alter temp from 22 degrees c. So had to turn it on when cold then off when overheated. Shower powerful but small head which tended to spray outside bath screen and sometimes very hot water came out momentarily- not good.
Quiet location but a good walk from attractions and a few mins from nearest tapas bars. Taxis were 5-7 euros to most local tourist sites.
Breakfast at nearly 10 euros was disappointing for a 4 star . Fresh fruit salad was melon ,bacon always undercooked and very fatty , and the small buffet service area was easily overcrowded.
The small pool was supposed to be closed but I was able to swim in the very cold unheated water as I find it refreshing.
Despite all the above reservations we enjoyed our stay., and I consider it value for money.





  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went to Spain for a summer vacation with my boyfriend at end of July/beginning of August. Spent a couple of days in Madrid and then rented a car and drove south to explore Andalucia.

Our first stop in Andaulcia was Sevilla, and we stayed at the Hotel San Gil, which is simply amazing. It's not an easy hotel to find, with lots of narrow streets and alleys that are difficult to navigate. But just ask someone on the street, and they should be able to point you in the right direction. Once you find the hotel, you'll realize that parking on the street is almost impossible. When you check in at the lobby, someone from the hotel will arrange for a parking attendant to take you car to some garage nearby.

The hotel is beautiful! The style of the courtyard and the lobby is reminiscent of a middle-eastern oasis. The rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable and elegantly decorated (see attached photos). The bathroom is huge and very clean. There is a wonderful small pool on the top floor of the hotel, and it's a refreshing refuge from the intense summer heat. Beware - traveling in the beginning of August is not for everyone, as it was an extremely hot time of year in Southern Spain. So the hotel rates were amazing (around $60 Euros a night). Didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but you can have a wonderful meal at the Plaza de Hercules, just a 5 min walk away. HAd an excellent stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adeleily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Had an excellent few days here. Loved my huge comfortable room. Staff was generally friendly and although the cafeteria was somewhat slow the waitress was very helpful and remembered my tastes...chocolate haha!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I spent dour nights in hotel this hotel in June. It was a pleasant suprize for the reasonable price paid online. Location was great only a short walk from city centre. Lovely area close by with lots friendly bars and food. Staff were friendly and rooms were clean, comfortable and very private. Air conditioning was great in hot sun! Rooftop pool was small but clean and cosy... Refreshing area to relax.. All in all I would recommend for a stay in Seville..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cattie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our room was clean, not big but it was spacious enough to make us feel comfortable. We enjoyed a swimming pool on a roof which is free for guests of the hotel. However the swimming pool is not big we had no problem with that as there weren't many people in at the same time. The terrace of the hotel with live flamenco is very charming the only thing we did not like was restaurant staff as they were ignoring us most of the time and they weren't even busy. No smile. My boyfriend is spanish so they did not even need it to speak english with us. Really a shame as this affected the whole atmosphere of the restaurant terrace. A location was fine as a bus stop is nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroNika1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We got a good price for this hotel and also took advantage of an internet 5 euros tapas + cava for two offer; The room was spacious, clean and comfy, the windows were onto a corridor which was a little strange but ok for a short stay.The tapas deal was unbelievably good value for money, 4 tapas each and a bottle of cava served in a champagne bucket, yummy and very luxurious. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, we preferred to go out to one of the wonderful typical spanish bars for churros .. Although the location is not that close to the cathedral etc we really enjoyed it as it felt like the 'real ' seville , not full of tourists as it were :) and enjoyed wandering through the streets to get to the centre. We found the staff friendly and helpful and we would go back. Can't comment on the pool as we were out of season for that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejones1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
#92 of 177 in Seville
2,328 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,576 reviews
Hotel Patio de la Alameda
#40 of 177 in Seville
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gil

Address: Calle Parras 28, 41002 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $56 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Gil 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Gil hotel welcomes our costumers with an exquisite treatment in an environment that combines history, modernity and elegance. Set in central Seville, this Andalusian-style hotel offers a seasonal rooftop pool and a restaurant. All our rooms have air conditioner, minibar, satellite TV and fully equipped bathrooms. The hotel preserve many colorful tile mosaics throughout the building as well as original balconies and windows. San Gil is just 5 min away from the "Basilica de la Macarena" and 15 min from "Isla Magica" thematic park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gil Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing