We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good trip to the Tryp Macarena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sevilla Macarena
Ranked #89 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Booked online and got a reasonable deal - 107 euros per night including tax and breakfast. Having read previous reviews, we were a bit concerned that it would be noisy, but we were in a first floor room at the front, and it was not too bad at all. Could not hear anything from neighbouring rooms - perhaps they weren't in the holiday mood! As said before, excellent breakfasts - fruit, cooked (full Spanish?). cold meats, pastries. Room very comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful, although it was useful that we spoke a little Spanish. Weather was not that good in June, and it was disappointing that on the hottest day, the rooftop pool was closed without explanation. Bit of a trek into town, but helped walk off the breakfast. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sevilla Macarena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2007

Great staff, great breakfast (including as much Cava as you can drink
if you are into that sort of thing!! Great freshly carved jamon serrano for breakfast too).

Unforunately the fundamental problem with this hotel is the noise. It only has single glazed windows, so you can hear everything from outside. We stayed on the inside of the hotel, so our window opened onto the central courtyard which you might expect to be quieter than a roadside room. However, the central courtyard has lots of air extraction and air conditioning equipment which bangs, whirs and hums all night. At one point the room air-conditioning was switched on which made the noise almost intolerable. The road side rooms are likely to be even more noisy.

The walls between the rooms are paper thin so you can hear everything
your neighbours are doing, and the doors into the corridor are not good sound insulators so you can hear the cleaners in the morning (and they do seem to chat very loudly as well as clatter around with their vacuum cleaners, slam doors to cupboards etc.). You can also hear the showers from the rooms above and below.

On the positive side, if you are a VERY heavy sleeper, it's quite a good location - just a 5 minute bus ride into the city (one bus stops right outside the hotel and goes to the big department store El Corte Ingles in the city centre) and parking is free on the street, though it can take a while to find a space.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We picked Tryp Macarena at random once arriving at the Seville train station, and were pleasantly surprised to find it was a beautiful hotel. The exterior and lobby were impressive, and the rooms were above average. It was very clean and had a very authentic, European feel.

We were able to walk to the major areas and sights such as the cathedral from the hotel (it is quite a walk, but takes you through some great areas you might not see otherwise), however there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.

The staff was always very helpful and we enjoyed a great breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant every morning.

The only downside: it is VERY loud. The AC had not yet been turned on for the season, so we had to open the doors for cool air - but the noise of music, people, and traffic outside goes all night (and only gets minimally better if the doors are shut). And, even worse, the walls are paper thin. I didn't sleep for two nights due to our neighbors' activities.

Bottom line: Great hotel, worth the stay, if you bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank happycj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Tryp Macarena on business. The hotel is not one of the large Melia type hotels and is more informal. The bar area was pleasant with good service, and the restaurant, which I only used for breakfast was efficient. The breakfast buffet was good but not as large as some of the breakfast buffets offered by the larger Melia group hotels. The reception staffs were friendly and the majority spoke good English. The rooms were well furnished, if on the small side. Wireless Internet access was available for a small charge. The only concern I have is configuring your lap top, if you are not technically skilled, this could prove to be a challenge! The hotel is centrally situated, although taxis are cheap and plentiful in Seville.

I would stay at this hotel again for a short business trip or weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OldMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

We booked this hotel for a two-night stay during our 22-day trip around Spain. It is a nice, average 4-star hotel. The rooms are very big for European standards, their breakfast is above average for a 4-star hotel. As all big hotels, service is impersonal, different from other places we stayed, which had less rooms. Regarding location, it is a bit far from the main sites of interest, some 20 minutes walk. On the other hand, the hotel is very close to Alameda de Hercules, a huge square surrounded by cafes. It is also some 10 minutes walk from the river shore, with lots of bars and restaurants. Try the poor-looking seafood bar in the corner of the riverside avenue and the avenue that comes down to the hotel. Nice prices and superb food!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danilo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Girlfriend and I stayed there late September and found it to be a good hotel for exploring Seville. It's a nice neighbourhood so no problems wandering around at night. It's not centrally located but you can hop on one of the buses across the road and be in town in 5-10 minutes. Taxi ride would cost about €5. Hotel itself is quite big and busy. There seems to be quite a few tour's staing there. Rooms are a regular size and clean - fine for us. Breakfast was varied - fruit, cereal, sauasage, bacon, pastries etc so did the job. Don't think I would recommend the restraunt there though as the menu didn't seem up to much but with all the tapas bars in Seville you won't go hungry. Pool on the roof which was nice to have but nobody serving at the bar.
All in all a decent hotel. If i could give it 3.5 stars I think it would be the most appropriate rating. It's not luxurious but suited us fine.
Cheers.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GalwayRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

The hotel is very nice, breakfast buffet is large and you hace plenty of choice. Rooftop pool is lovely. The rooms are ok but NOT soundproof, you can hear everything whatever they are doing in the next room! So for a good night sleep, this is not a good choice! The hotel is 10 min. wak from the city centre and you can discover the peacefull Macarena district.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Ayre Hotel Sevilla
#32 of 177 in Seville
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,375 reviews
Hotel Novotel Sevilla
#66 of 177 in Seville
2,132 reviews
AC Hotel Sevilla Torneo
#58 of 177 in Seville
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sevilla Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sevilla Macarena

Address: Calle San Juan de Ribera 2, 41009 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $70 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sevilla Macarena 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sevilla Macarena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Macarena Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Seville
Tryp Hotel Macarena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing