We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Giralda Hotel
Ranked #78 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is a little away from the action, which would be okay, but not for the price. Beds in Spain are hard, but these are the hardest so far. Building is old, no charm, and not really any great amenities. If I were looking for a budget hotel maybe I would expect this, but I am paying more than I feel this place warrants.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 632 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a good hotel very close to the railway station. Friendly staff which speaks English. There are 2 minor issues though. There is no ramp and one has to lift up heavy suitcases up a flight of staircases to enter. Second at each floor there are too many steps and to carry the luggage becomes very difficult. And yes the safe provided in the room works on a key which looks like the key Christopher Columbus used and you pay a refundable deposit of 20 Euros for it. I wonder why there are no electronic safes.
You need to walk a fair distance if you need to go to the city center though.
I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreedhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

During our two week trip through spain, we decided to stay at hostals to save money. We booked this place using American Express points thinking since it is rated a 4 star hotel it would be really nice. Well... Pros- the people are very nice. Hotel is pretty close to historical districts. Cons-double beds are just twins pushed together. No view from room. Thin walls, we could hear everything our neighbors were doing.

The hostal we stayed at in Madrid was 55 euros a night and it was way better than the 98 euros a night room at Catalonia girdala. My advice...stick with the hostals!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

the location of the hotel is great, walking distance to trainstation and historical center. the hotel has everything you could ask for, but is a bit neutral and therefore only 4. but recommendable and efficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnielsen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I will try and be as constructive as possible.

Pro’s:
- Hotel is near a lot of tourist sights and near some nice tapas places (Plaza Alfalfa – Bar Manola is a good and lovely place to eat).
- Hotel does buffet breakfast but there are plenty of cheap cafes for breakfast in the local area (coffee & toast for €2-3)).
- The city is not huge so can walk everywhere. Renting a bike to ride around is quite nice if you don’t fancy walking.
- Free wifi in rooms which works well, free use of PC in the lobby
- Staff very helpful
- Bus to coach station right outside hotel

Con’s:
- Most Spanish accommodations are either very old or cheaply built, therefore walls are rather thin. I was lucky our hotel room wasn’t right in the tourist area else it would have been noisy.
- Hotel is not very good at providing directions to their hotel. They will just tell you which bus numbers to take. But what happens when you get off the bus?

Don't use this hotel if you like busy areas. I personally would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request away from elevators and lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimichimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

our stay started with a very warm welcome by miriam on reception upon arrival monday 4th.It continued with the bar staff and restaurant team who were great.Big thankyou to senor Gonzales
for the birthday suprise.Best wishes have a great season.Mark,John,Ann,Christine rooms 319/20

Room Tip: take an umbrella in early march
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We got a great deal on a B&B rate, and found the hotel very good overall. Breakfast was tasty, and everything nicely presented. Skip the eggs & bacon, never a great or safe option in any buffet-style breakie. Rooms were big, everything worked, very clean. Incredibly for thuis very busy town, you could hear a pin drop at night. It helped we were on the back of the hotel into a small passage, but even the front rooms would be protected by the hotel's offset from the main drag. If you arrive on foot or by cab, great. If you have your own car, it'll cost you an extra €20 an night, in a tiny carpark that you might just have to reverse out of, back on to a busy avenue. Ouch! The approach to the hotel is similiar, down a narrow dead-end. If you are good with your wheels, you can turn it around and go out like a star, otherwise you are gonna sweat it out onto the same busy avenue. Paking nearby is atrocious--good luck. Off season os bad, high season makes my palms sweat. The location is decent, just on the edge of the old town, walking distance everywhere. The cathedral, with a good pace, is 15 minutes, and then you are in the heart of town.

Room Tip: Back side for quite. Not much of a view anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euromancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Santa Justa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Imperial
Hotel Casa Imperial
#77 of 177 in Seville
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#64 of 177 in Seville
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fernando III
Hotel Fernando III
#41 of 177 in Seville
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
Petit Palace Santa Cruz
#23 of 177 in Seville
1,009 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Carmelo Hotel
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 177 in Seville
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Giralda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Giralda Hotel

Address: Calle Sierra Nevada 3, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $67 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Giralda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Giralda is located right in the historic and shopping centre of Seville. It is named after one of Seville's most famous sightseeing locations, "la Giralda", which is just a few metres walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is also very close to the Santa Justa train station, where the AVE (high speed train) terminal is located. The hotel was built in 1967 and renovated in 2016, and has 109 rooms on 5 floors. All rooms are fully equipped with interactive satellite TV with pay-per-view movies, Canal +, free Wireless Internet connection (WIFI), piped-in music, radio, telephone and a hair dryer in the bathroom, etc. The hotel also has a bar, restaurant with international cuisine, indoor swimming pool, gym, parking and a room for holding meetings and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Giralda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Catalonia Giralda
Catalonia Giralda Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing