We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, solid hotel”
Review of Monte Triana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monte Triana Hotel
Ranked #14 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, solid hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The room (217) was spacious enough, well designed and had a place to put everything. The bathroom has undergone a recent renovation, it appears, though the bathtub was merely refurbished as opposed to being replaced. Don't get me wrong, the Monte Triana isn't going to appear on any lists for the most chic or the most hip hotel any time soon, but it is a good, solid hotel with good staff and the basic amenities one would expect from a hotel. It is not as centrally located as some might like, but I used this to my advantage to justify just one more tapa and another glass of wine, convincing myself that I could burn the calories on the way back to the hotel. (Still not sure if that's how it really worked out, but it seemed logical at the time).

Room Tip: Room 217 was separated from housekeeping's closet only by room 218, so you might want to try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Triana Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Thank you for your description. We love being called “Good and Solid”, and will work hard to keep deserving those adjectives in the future.

About the extra tapa and the extra glass of wine… isn’t that what life is all about: one more - extra moment of enjoyment….

We hope to see you back soon at Hotel Monte Triana, or at any of our other hotels located in Cádiz, Málaga, Sevilla or Huelva.

With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    614
    104
    17
    4
See reviews for
188
901
44
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
998 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our decision to stay at Monte Triana Hotel were based on the TA reviews, and we were not disappointed at all, we had a fabulous stay, all of our needs we met. We had traveled down from Madrid arriving in at Santa Justa station, from here we thought that we needed to catch the C1 bus to the hotel but the information office at the train station recommended that we take the C2, the opposite direction, that it would be quicker. The bus stop at the station is beyond the taxi rank and carpark, you buy your ticket on board the bus, and travel to Avenida Ronda de Triana (about 30 minutes) and then a 5 minute walk to the hotel in Clara de Jesus Montero.

I had booked the hotel on otel.com, it gave the best deal at the time, after a slow meticulous check-in we were allocated a room facing out to the inner courtyard as requested. The room was as expected, large, bright and airy, clean modern bathroom, free WIFI with good connection, several English speaking tv channels, mini-bar frig, plenty of storage space, good block-out drapes. We had 4 great nights of sleep, there was no inter-room or hallway noise, the bed was very comfortable, I found my pillow too thin on the first night but selected a latex pillow from the 'pillow menu' for the other nights.

Breakfast at the hotel was included in our tariff, the breakfast staff were always very helpful, by the end of our 4 day stay, our beverage preference was known to them and was brought to our table before we needed to ask. There is an extensive buffet, plenty of options for a good start to the day: many types of cereals, juices, even cava, yoghurts, sweet biscuits, whole and sliced fruit, yummy cheeses and cold cuts, quince paste, bacon, sausages, eggs, loads of bread and pastry choices, flans, donuts, waffles, tea/coffee.

Reception was pleasant and helpful at all times, giving restaurant recommendations, booking our flamenco evening, giving directions. There are many great bars and restaurants in the local area, 'Las Golandrinas' in Antillano Campos, was a fabulous choice for tapas one night, we are sorry that we hadn't visit sooner. Fantastic. Good housekeeping.

The location of the hotel for us is perfect, we tend to stay just outside the city centre where ever we go, it allows us to explore further. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the Giralda from the hotel, where we started our paid walking tours, and a similar time to walk to the Metropol Parasol. If you need to pick up a few supplies, there is a supermarket, 'Dia', near-by the hotel, turn left out of the hotel, take the second left, it's on your left,
If ever we were to return to Seville, we would definitely return to Monte Triana Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Triana Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

Wow. Thank you for such a complete review. We really appreciate it and so will future readers.

We are more than happy to know that we were able to meet all your needs.

We take your word for it and hope to see you back soon at Hotel Monte Triana, or at any of our other hotels located in Cádiz, Málaga, Sevilla or Huelva.

With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel due to the TripAdvisor reviews as well as it's accessibility via car as we'd had some problems driving in downtown Granada.

The location was fine - a good 15 minute walk into the centre of things. It didn't really bother us although after big dinners I was wishing we were a bit closer! We did appreciate the free internet and friendly staff.

I am a little baffled by all of the very positive reviews regarding this hotel as we certainly weren't that impressed.
We had a few issues:
-The check-in process took quite some time despite 3 staff members behind the counter. After it was all done we were informed that our room wasn't ready. Instead of an apology they told us it was fine because we could go for lunch and leave our luggage. She immediately drew us a map and told us to be on our way. Friendly enough but we didn't want to go for lunch as we were hoping to freshen up and head in to town as it was already after 3 pm.
-Secondly, we were given a room (119) that was right beside the elevator and open staircase to the lobby. It was extremely loud and we were awoken several times throughout the night/morning. It wasn't as if the patrons were being particularly noisy, the soundproofing of the rooms just wasn't good. On top of that noise, the water pipes for the neighbour above us ran right through our air vent so every time a toilet was flushed, we heard it.
-Our room didn't face the courtyard or the street but instead a weird inner triangle between buildings. It left us little natural light and no privacy if we had the window or curtains open.
-I found the bed hard and springy - my back hurt every morning.
-The mini bar fridge was broken so all drinks were warm.

All in all, we were a bit disappointed in this hotel. While the rooms were clean and modernized, they really need to focus on the more difficult job of soundproofing. If we return to Seville, I don't think we'd stay here again. I'm sure there are other affordable options right in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteles-Monte, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Monte Triana Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Madam:

Thank you for your comments.

We deeply regret that your stay with us did not fulfill your expectations and would like to leave some explanations to your opinions.

The hotel had extremely high occupancy rates in those days, with very late departures, which is why your room unfortunately was not ready on arrival. Please accept our apologies for this. Due to this situation, our Front Desk team thought you might have liked to have lunch, a small bite or a short walk to get to know the area and so explained a few nice strolls around the Hotel, giving us time to finish your room perfectly, as we always try to deliver to our customers on arrival.

Regarding the room, we apologize if you found it to be uncomfortable due to noise or if you disliked its location inside the hotel. We really wish you had informed us during your stay, giving us the chance to offer you an alternative room, with a different view (we have rooms facing three different areas), another type of bed, choice of pillows, etc. We also regret not knowing that you had problems with your minibar. Our maintenance department would have loved to fix or change the appliance while you were still with us.

We would love to have you back with us, and have the opportunity to improve the opinion you have of our establishment. We hope you understand that exceptional situations like you experienced on arrival do not normally take place, and that we make our best efforts to avoid any delays at check-in.

We look forward to seeing you at any of our Hotels in Sevilla, Cádiz, Málaga or Huelva.

With best regards,

Miguel Andreu
Public Relations & Marketing
HOTELES MONTE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. It's not centrally located, but the weather was good whilst we were there and we didn't mind the 15min walk at all. The hotel was cool, clean, comfortable and the staff very polite. Excellent breakfast. I'd stay again. Make sure you book car parking in advance.

Room Tip: The courtyard facing rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is nice, well run hotel with very professional, polite and helpful staff. The rooms are modern, clean and well kept. A decent sized safe and good sized tv is also provided in the room. Free wifi was also available in the rooms, although on at least a couple of ocassions the signal was not strong enough for me to adequately make Skype calls.

Breakfast was served until 11.00 am, which was great, and whilst the buffet breakfast was plentiful, it didn't appear to vary from day to day.

The hotel is a little way, away from most of the sights and much of the nightlife. If you're using the airport bus get off at the last stop and cross the street to get bus C3, which will drop you outside this hotel. This bus has a circular route, and so as it only goes one way, is not the best option for getting back into the city. To do this, the most practical option is to take the 15 minute walk or get a taxi for the 5 minute ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Excellent helpful staff clean room and facilities. Exceeded our expectation much better value than 3star

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiritSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel. We found the hotel staff v friendly both particularly at reception and at breakfast time. The bedroom was v spacious and clean. As people have commented before the distance to the city is v accessible, we hired bicycles (organised by Beatrix on reception) which were delivered to the hotel and had a really enjoyable time cycling around the city. We wouldl definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested and got a room overlooking the courtyard - it was v quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Monte Carmelo Hotel
#11 of 176 in Seville
709 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
3,025 reviews
Hotel Adriano Sevilla
#12 of 176 in Seville
703 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#35 of 176 in Seville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Triana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Triana Hotel

Property: Monte Triana Hotel
Address: Clara de Jesus Montero 24, 41010 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#19 Family Hotel in Seville
#25 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monte Triana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel in Seville (Spain). Enjoy the charm of the district of Triana. Only 10 minutes' walk from the historic city centre and the Isle of la Cartuja, where many businesses have been set up. It has 114 spacious rooms (rooms with twin beds, rooms with double beds and adjoining rooms) all with wooden floors. Free WiFi, parking facilities, pillows menu and rooms for women executives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monte Triana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monte Triana
Monte Triana Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing