We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”

Basilica de la Macarena
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.28*
and up
Seville Sightseeing Day Tour With Boat Trip on Guadalquivir River
Ranked #16 of 278 things to do in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This church houses La Esperanza, the weeping statue of the Virgin Mary, patroness of bullfighters.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This small basilica was so charming! Lots of small chapels and a large gilded altar with the Mararena. It was a quiet, peaceful place that was a feast for the eyes. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank julie0958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    591
    173
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a church like no other. People come to this church for a reason, not just as tourists. It was awe inspiring when I walked in. The Macarena grabs you and holds on...I was captivated. Also had the priviledge of going through the adjacent museum and seeing her float, hearing about the parades, and seeing some of the items that have been given to the church in thanks, such as matador costumes, jewelry, etc. Also saw a couple of her capes for the float...wow!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RBMamaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a Wardrobe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were keen to see Our Lady of the Macarena to see the amazing textiles which make up her trousseau. The Church is beautiful if a little OTT considering it was opened in 1948 but the museum showing the Draperies and catafalques on which she is carried in procession are worth a visit. We went by taxi and walked back but we would recommend a taxi in both directions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is the real Andalucia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

While we were visiting the amazing church, we assisted to 2 typical Spanish wedding, so that the visIt was more interesting and "mystic", as we could feel the real sense of religiousness of the Andalusian people.
The statue of the Virgen de la Macarena is stunning and precious, and you can admire it also by a private corridor, just giving (if you want) an offer to the kind ladies in the church, who work for the preservation of this beautiful site, which is an essential symbol of Seville.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia Tecla-S... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ta' Xbiex, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A very beautiful Catholic church, which is not exactly in Central Seville but requires some 30 minute walk. However, it is very worth visiting. It is very rich and beautifully decorated. Also, the church seems to be airconditioned which is very good for the summer heat of Seville.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdrianMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica de la Macarena also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Basilica de la Macarena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing