We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross. Evil. I am sick from this food.”
Review of Levies Cafe-Bar

Levies Cafe-Bar
Ranked #506 of 2,692 Restaurants in Seville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gross. Evil. I am sick from this food.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lettuce glopped with bad thousand island dressing, deep fried spinach pies right out of the package, cork in my wine

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judybaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    196
    78
    55
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic, quirky Andalucian tapas bar”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have visited several times, with other tourists as well as with Spanish friends. The restaurant is about 100 yards away from the more touristy square down Calle San Jose, and has a slightly more local/studenty feel. This is reflected in the service which can be a bit sketchy. Just chase them politely (ideally in spanish) and the staff are obliging. Its a busy haunt, which is a good sign.

The tapas and raciones they serve are tasty and the prices are low. The portions are generous - err on the side of under ordering. Most of them come with a large side of fried potatoes, so not much need to order extra spanish carbs such as tortilla, patatas bravas, pan etc.

Personally I can vouch for the various solmillos, with wine and cheese sauces etc as being delicious. I did not have any wine. The chilled beer tends to come in the small glass format (this being a very hot city, and where sipping rather than swilling is the norm). If you prefer pints or bavarian style litre measures, just multiply on the order! "Seis canas mas por favor!"

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow service, and an attempt to short change us on our bill”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We went to Levies for tapas one evening, and we found the service to be very slow, with a deliberate attempt to keep more of our change from the meal.

We paid for our meal with a 50 Euro note, and the bill came to 20 Euro. We were given a 5 Euro note and some change, and had to challenge this twice, including a trip to the bar to speak to the owner, before getting the correct change. By his reaction, we think that this had happened before.

Food was ok.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie-Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cheap, but still not worth it!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We went here on our only night in Seville based on recommendations from both a relative who knows Seville well and Lonely Planet. We were very disappointed. Apparently there are English menus, but the waiter didn't give us any despite our obvious deficiencies in Spanish. We ordered a cheese pizza, a salad and four tapas. The pizza was on the level of an average frozen pizza, the salad was a small 4-euro bowl of lettuce with a disgusting dressing and four cherry tomatoes, and the tapas were obviously leftovers several days old. Sure, the portions were big, but they usually are when someone is trying to clear the fridge of old food. They don't even understand the concept of a large beer. The first one brought to me was 0.25 l, and when I ordered another, stressing that I wanted a really large one, I got a whopping 0.33 l. Those guys need to be sent to a Prague pub to understand what a large beer is! As I said, it was our only night in Seville, so we really felt we made a huge mistake by spending it at Levies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare Valley, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Really good value for money - and very friendly staff

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Demon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levies Cafe-Bar also viewed

Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 
Seville, Province of Seville
Seville, Province of Seville
 

Been to Levies Cafe-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing