We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, I suppose it depends on what room you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Las Casas de la Juderia
Ranked #33 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent, I suppose it depends on what room you get!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

I saw many mixed reviews for this hotel and now having been have decided that the reviews must be affected by the room people have been allocated. Now was I a lucky bunny or what!! we got a fabulous room with a huge rooftop terrace to sit out on, which is just as well as we are both smokers and the entire hotel (excluding outdoor patios) is non smoking. Now the room wasn`t huge but it had the best storage in a hotel room I have seen for years and great refreshment space. The bathroom was really quirky with double marble sinks and a jaccuzzi bath is one part, then another little section with the loo and on from that a big shower with the biggest dinner plate sized shower head and a separate handheld one. We had no problems with hot water and there was a fabulous smell off the shampoo and gel.
The rest of the hotel as you can see for yourself in the traveller photos is stunning with little patios and moorish architecture at evey turn.
While out on our huge terrace we did have the opportunity to see windows to some other rooms on lower floors and hubby did say he wouldn`t be as happy if we had recieved one of those as although they are probably well furnished and quirky like ours was but being on a lower floor they could be very dark and could feel a little claustrophobic without the outside space we had.
The location cannot be beaten as it is central to everything and there are a good selection of bars and restaurants right outside the hotel and a supermarket within 5 mins walk.
We found any contact we had with staff to be polite, professional and more than helpful.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and I would stay again no problem, but then I did get an incredible internet bargain and fully expected to have a room beside the bins!!
One thing I would say though, we found Seville a lot more expensive to eat and drink in than other cities and tourist areas of Spain. Granada is incredible value by comparison especially for shopping, eating and drinking.
Oh the Casas De La Memoria flamenco venue is only 2 mins walk from the hotel and this is one of the top rated shows which we thoroughly enjoyed but book in advance as the shows sell out fast, you can pre book tickets for any date (if available) at 6pm every evening.
Only one glitch, we got a very low signal on our Samsung Netbook and couldn`t access the net for some reason although we saw others with laptops using theirs!! however, there are two rather slow PC`s for use in the piano bar.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    920
    315
    173
    80
See reviews for
346
1,472
77
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
drexel hill, pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and most responsive to all of our needs. We had 2 separate rooms - the first was lovely - updated and lovely bathroom facilities. Our second room was nice - quite dark - and really could use painting/updating. The hotel was very clean, which was most important to use. If I could have changed to a updated, more airy room, we would have. This is the absolute best location I feel you will find in Seville.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westisbest30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

This was a great find. two minutes from practically everything. The winding paths to different areas are so lovely. The rooms are very basic, but you dont find hotels like this often.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed two nights and slept in 3 rooms! The first (number 35!) has been made out of an odd space, with the door opening on to an awkward sitting room, with the bedroom reached via steep stairs and a high corridor above the sitting room. The bed room is next to the kitchen air vent, meaning that it sounds like you are in a noisy aircraft. Unable to stand it, we went to reception at 3.45am to ask for another room. They were gracious and polite about it though!

The next was freezing cold and had two narrow hard beds, but at least we slept.

But the following morning, we were upgraded to 703, a sumptuous room on the top floor of the old building - which was lovely.

The atmosphere in the warm weather would be lovely I think, but when the nights were chilly, it was rather drafty and seemed labyrinthine. One of our party got lost for 20 minutes finding her room.

Breakfast is in a rather cold dungeon, with wet floors - make sure you find both buffets! There's no sign and neither are obvious from the other!

The location however is superb. We enjoyed it in the end!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Fantastic hotel, perfect for a romantic getaway. The hotel is beautiful, really took our breath away.
Based right in the middle of the old town in Barrio Santa Cruz, the hotel is in the perfect location for sightseeing and taking in the ambience of the city. Our room was great, plenty of space and we were pleasantly suprised to find both a bath and a shower. The staff was very helpful and polite.
So many good places to eat, but I would particularly recommend the Juderia restaurant, just round the corner. A bit quiet, but the food was great and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed in one of the cheaper San Clemente rooms for 4 nights. I reserved our room through a hotel discount web site and paid only $75 per night -- a real bargain! Now I see why they were so heavily discounted.

All in all, I think this hotel is a bit over-hyped -- the corridors and stairs were worn, the staff was rather aloof and didn't go out of their way (except for the porters, who were very nice). Yes, the architecture is lovely and authentic, the courtyards charming and the location is excellent, but the rooms and service fall way short of this supposed 4 star experience.

There is very little written online about the San Clemente rooms. They're located in the rear of the hotel, which really isn't a big deal, as they're smack next door to the rest of the rooms/courtyards. The rooms have been fairly recently renovated.

Our room was on the top floor, under the eaves. Good points included a very large, comfortable bed, excellent, spotless housekeeping (except for one day when they only gave us one towel), a mini-bar, good heating, a large closet and a nice TV with satellite stations.

It was charming to look at until we hit our head over and over again because the ceiling was so low at one end of the bedroom and bathroom because of the eaves. The charm wore off quickly as the lumps increased.

The bathroom also looked quite lovely at first -- marble double sinks, a glass-enclosed shower and lovely little gels and soaps. However, the eaves dipped into the bathroom, rendering the one sink unusable unless you were about 4 feet tall. The shower head was too low. Anyone over 5" 8" tall has to take a shower hunched over. And the shower enclosure was so tiny that your body rubbed against the glass while you were soaping up, a rather gross feeling. And we're slim and fit, I can't imagine how heavier folks fare. The shower door also leaked water all over the bathroom and bedroom. There's quite a bit of damage in the plaster of the bedroom wall because of this happening repeatedly.

However, the key to a good bathroom -- and hotel -- experience is hot water. We had NONE of it during our stay. Our first night, we had only icy cold water. (Mind you, this is January!) Our second day, because we were up at 7 am, the water was lukewarm. Showers were freezing and we shivered through them. The hotel was booked and we had pre-paid, otherwise we would have left. Perhaps the hotel should have invested in larger hot water heaters?

Lastly, it was noisy. I had specifically requested a quiet room. Unfortunately, noise from the cobblestone courtyards and brick steps carried right up into the room. Doors slammed constantly. Soundproofing between rooms was nonexistant. Outside street noise drifted in at all hours. And the worst was the noise and cigarette smoke that came into our room via a tiny hatch/window in our bathroom from the apartment building next door. Nasty.

I submitted my complaints and haven't heard a peep from the management or hotel staff. And this is 4 star customer service? Oh well. We won't be back.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NanBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel twice before, this time was completly different, the reception had moved and we had to wait for a long time to check out, on leaving the hotel I noticed that my car had been scratched by whoever took it from us and then gave it back, it is no wonder as the passage way is so narrow, its amazing that all the cars parked do not get scratched. we had to wade through water to get to the breakfast room which was not good as I had my really expensive shoes on, fortunatly they dried out, the bedroom was very nice until we went to bed , the bed creaked every time we moved and there was a sound of water all through the night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de la Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de la Juderia

Property: Las Casas de la Juderia
Address: Calle Santa Maria la Blanca, 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#20 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Casas de la Juderia 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville's old jewish quarter, just 6 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, a modern service and classic decoration converge in the hotel Las Casas de la Juderia. History fills the air in this magnificent ensemble of 27 fifteenth century traditional houses restored to harmoniously reflect the authentic feel of the serpentine neighborhood that surrounds it. The vibrant colors of the 40 patios (typical Andalusian courtyards) and the friendly service mirror the true character of Andalusia. Fountains, statues and roman amphoras decorate the winding passageways that connect the 134 rooms. Las Casas de la Juderia offers an array of services for your enjoyment: a tapas bar and a restaurant both indoors and outdoors, a rooftop swimming pool to enjoy a selection of tapas and cocktails (May-Sept.), Live music in the piano-bar from Thursdays to Sundays, a spa decorated with roman mosaics, several meeting rooms and spaces to organize events, reunions or seminars, and a large breakfast area located in hotel's "Mirror's Hall." Located in the heart of the city center, Las Casas de la Juderia offers a superbly convenient access to some of the most symbolic landmarks of southern Spain such as the Giralda, Reales Alcazares, Casa de Pilatos and Jardines de Murillo. Parking is ensured by our valets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Casas de la Juderia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas De La Juderia Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing