We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seville - A wonderful city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Casas de la Juderia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Casas de la Juderia
Ranked #30 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Seville - A wonderful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is charming, as you will see from other reviews it has a character all of its own, however, it is not suitable for anybody with walking difficulties as you do have to take a small trek to reach your room. Try not to research the hotel too much before you go and allow yourself the wonder of it when you arrive. The reception area is quite basic and our room was very adequate, with a good size bathroom with both bath and shower. Plenty of hot water all of the time, clean towels and very good maid service. Shower gel and shampoo's were supplied but not in an abundace so you may want to get your own supply. There is a TV in the room but you will only get BBC News in English.

The receptionists although very helpful and polite at all times did not go that extra mile in my opinion, they did their job and they did it well but they did not have that "edge".

The breakfast (when you can find the breakfast room!!) is again adequate, it had plenty of variety and you should be able to find something to eat to start your day. You can ask for extra's like a fried egg or an omlette and the staff will cook this for you, but you have to ask.

We travelled in March and the weather was wet but it did not stop us from doing anything and I could imagine that in the heat Seville would be hard work. The hotel is really well situated about a 10 minute walk to the centre where you will find a wonderful selection of restaurants and shops and where you can fill yourself with tapas and wine. The food is lovely, the atmosphere is great, the wine is splendid and you cannot help but enjoy your evening.

We could not change any money in the hotel as they do not have a licence and so needed to find a Bureau de Change, we did find one in the town centre but you may just want to use the cash points, of which there are plenty, rather than travellers cheques.

We did not use the SPA facilities so it would be unfair to comment.

Room Tip: If you can choose a high room, if it rains the water splashes onto the floor in the courtyard from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    906
    311
    170
    79
See reviews for
341
1,457
76
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'd already spent several days at a cookie-cutter business hotel on the outskirts of Sevilla before I moved downtown to this hotel to spend two nights over the weekend. It's absolutely unique. Much has been written about the maze of underground corridors and connecting courtyards, which I think really adds to the charm of the place. I stayed in Room 24, which had a four postered and extremely comfortable king sized bed, a juliette balcony over-looking a small courtyard, beautiful exposed beams, and bathroom with two sinks and a separate shower and toilet area.The weather was rather uncooperative on the first day of my stay, so I really appreciated the spa tub, with wonderful whirl pool jets. There are numerous restaurants in the vicinity and you'll find a wonderful hand-made ice cream shop called Villars a short block away. They're famous for inventive flavours like Gin and Tonic, but you won't go wrong with their Dolce de leche or their chocolate. If you're watching your calories, you can try two flavours on an adorable mini ice cream cone and still feel perfectly self-righteous. You can walk everywhere from here -- to the Alcazar, the wonderful Corte de Ingles department store (where you should be sure to ask for your 10% off coupon at the Information Counter, if you are not a Spanish resident) and numerous bars and restaurants. A taxi to/from the airport should run you about 24 Euros.

Room Tip: Travelled solo and felt Room 24 was good. Blackout curtains made for a sound sleep. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spend my life in hotels with Business (or so it seems) and so was delighted to find this quirky, unique and Historic hotel in Seville for our city break. The room was charming, and whilst the toilet was tiny (and almost difficult to sit on!) this added to it's charm.

the hotel is a maze of courtyards and underground corridors and alleys, and i loved my stay. It was my birthday and without prompting or hinting we had a lovely bowl of fruit left in my room on my birthday with a little card from the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again if i returned to Seville; it is ideally located for all the sights, within walking distance of the Plaza de Espania and gardens, river bank, Bull Ring, Catherdral, Alcazar Real etc...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaguey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is very central and close to all the main sites in Seville
The atmosphere in the hotel is enchanting with the little yards and alleys full of plants and flowers.
The main problem is with the room. When we first entered the room smelled bad.
We opened everything and the smell was less noticeable but still there.
The carpets, curtains and furniture are all very old and should be replaced.
The houses are hundreds of years old so they can't feel like a brand new building so if you prefer atmosphere over luxury this is for you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Based in the heart of the barrio Santa Cruz, this charming & authentic property is very well placed for local sightseeing - with all the major attractions in easy walking distance.

As most of the reviews have indicated this hotel is a maze of courtyards & alleyways - very similar to Santa Cruz itself, so provides a very atmospheric base to a wonderful city.

We arrived early, and were given a room well before the normal check in time which was great seeing as we had limited time in the city - the walk to the room took us though a couple of beautiful courtyards - but we noticed the place was in need of some maintenance in areas. Nothing too drastic, but it was apparent the recent rain had made an effect on the property.

Our room (17) was also charming, sympathetically decorated with a layout as unique as the property itself, especially the bathroom, which was 'L' shaped. This was not a problem for us, although getting to the shower past the toilet was a bit of a squeeze. The bathwater itself ran quite brown, although this was due to some waterworks that were taking place nearby - and not an ongoing issue we assumed. The bed was comfy, although a little bouncy & squeaky - again, not a really problem for us after a day of sightseeing around the city.

Breakfast was in a series of rooms in the basement - take a wrong turn at the bottom of the stairs and it looked like you were about to enter the city's catacombs! The breakfast itself was nothing spectacular, although there was a good amount of choice on offer, from smoked salmon to baked beans, and the usual continental fare of pastries, cold cuts & cheeses. You could certainly fuel up for the day ahead. The only downside was the fact we had to eat in a windowless room, with no view of the hotel surroundings.

Due to the rain we didn't get the chance to sit out in the courtyards - although the covered courtyard at the front of the hotel looked well used by residents, and comfortable - whilst keeping with the antique style of the property. There were areas that advertised Wifi, although we didn't use this - so can't comment on the speed of the connection.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are have a higher budget, and want somewhere close to the action. If you don't want to pay extra for the breakfast, there are cafes directly opposite that would most likely be cheaper, and a very short walk will take you to some of the best bodegas in the city. Service was polite & professional as you would expect - but we felt this was a property slightly relying on its charm rather than quality to maintain its 4 star status. Having said that we would certainly stay there again... ideally during a dry spell.

Room Tip: If you are tall, then avoid room 17 - as the toilet is placed very close to the wall opposite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zola-Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you want a chain hotel with faceless rooms & dutiful efficiency this is not the hotel for you. But if you want a Spanish experience, with ambiance, old courtyards, winding passageways, atmosphere and charm then Las Casas de la Juderia is definitely the place! What a wonderful hotel. Our first night there was not so good, the room was tired and in need of an update, and there was a constant electrical hum from the power room below us, but the staff were more than amenable to changing our room. The second room was much better, more spacious & charming although the toilet did make us laugh! You needed to open the shower cubicle door in order to sit on the toilet, but travel is all about new experiences, correct?

The hotel itself is wonderful with old courtyards and passageways filled with plants, and a fabulous bar area in the local Spanish style. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, down to the porter who walked us down the road to take us personally to the local shop that sold stamps! Breakfast was plentiful, with the option of made to order eggs and omelettes, along with the usual continental selection and a plethora of fresh cut fruit. I would definitely stay here again, it's location was perfect and if some time & money is spent on updating some of the older tired rooms, it would get an "excellent" from me.

Room Tip: We had a small room at the furthest point of the hotel from reception (#93)...there was nothing but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited this hotel 10 years ago and I planned to return. The hotel has retained its ambiance of old style rooms, courtyards, and unusual silver tiled ceiling in the breakfast area. The only slight sadness was the courtyard room initially given which had a stunning view had the noise of the swimming pool maintenance pump going so we asked to be moved. The other room still had old charm with wooden shutters but was a little dark. Even with this slight disappointment, I would still return again. If you hate modern clinical hotel rooms lacking character, this is the place for you. Watch out for the taxi drivers at the train station and ask for the price in advance. We were charged 20e on arrival and 5e to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fire-by-night89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#33 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Casas de la Juderia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Casas de la Juderia

Property: Las Casas de la Juderia
Address: Calle Santa Maria la Blanca, 5, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seville
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#40 Family Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Casas de la Juderia 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Seville's old jewish quarter, just 6 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, a modern service and classic decoration converge in the hotel Las Casas de la Juderia. History fills the air in this magnificent ensemble of 27 fifteenth century traditional houses restored to harmoniously reflect the authentic feel of the serpentine neighborhood that surrounds it. The vibrant colors of the 40 patios (typical Andalusian courtyards) and the friendly service mirror the true character of Andalusia. Fountains, statues and roman amphoras decorate the winding passageways that connect the 134 rooms. Las Casas de la Juderia offers an array of services for your enjoyment: a tapas bar and a restaurant both indoors and outdoors, a rooftop swimming pool to enjoy a selection of tapas and cocktails (May-Sept.), Live music in the piano-bar from Thursdays to Sundays, a spa decorated with roman mosaics, several meeting rooms and spaces to organize events, reunions or seminars, and a large breakfast area located in hotel's "Mirror's Hall." Located in the heart of the city center, Las Casas de la Juderia offers a superbly convenient access to some of the most symbolic landmarks of southern Spain such as the Giralda, Reales Alcazares, Casa de Pilatos and Jardines de Murillo. Parking is ensured by our valets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Las Casas de la Juderia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Casas De La Juderia Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing