We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST EVER CHRISTMAS 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Ranked #8 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
gerrards cross
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WORST EVER CHRISTMAS 2013”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked our hotel accommodation in early summer as we had been told how wonderful your hotel was, food, service, etc. My wife checked by telephone what the dress code would be on your Christmas Eve dinner and was told black tie.
My wife telephoned once we had arrived at our second home in Marbella to ensure the dress code was black tie which was confirmed.
We duly arrived at the Alfonso VIII early afternoon on Christmas Eve and re-checked the dress code and were now told men to wear jacket and tie, ladies cocktail.
In the evening we went to the cocktail bar and enjoyed early evening drinks in great surroundings.
After pre-dinner drinks we duly found out seat in the dining room and were very shocked to see no men in dinner suits, some gentlemen wearing jacket, ties, but the majority scruffy with jeans and T- shirts. Ladies anything seemed to go.
We sat for approximately half an hour when a small ramekin with a little luke warm chopped mushroom moose arrived.
An hour later our first course of salad arrived!
Now the main course!!!!! This was served approximately forty-five minutes after our salad plates had been removed. It was supposed to be beef wellington. What was served was a steak, and square parcel of potato/pastry and thick sauce.
Whilst waiting for this wonderful main course I asked when the meal was going to be served and was told shortly! This obviously did not happen.
After taking one bite out of the steak it was stone cold so we asked for it to be removed and a hot meal brought to the table. At this time I went to the Reception desk in the main hall saying if things did not improve we would leave. Many apologies were given in reception.
Our replacement main course duly arrived under hot dishes which were removed for us to see our same cold meal had been warmed up and loads more sauce put over it.
We both, by then had enough and walked out the restaurant, went straight to reception desk and said we would be leaving in the morning, I said if we had not drunk some wine that evening we would have left immediately. Reception staff were very apologetic.
Your banqueting manageress came to our room full of apologies with a bottle of champagne, but the damage had been done by then we were ready for bed and cases packed. We said we did not want champagne all we wanted was good food, efficient service, which was what we expected. So basically, we went to bed hungry and very annoyed as it was far too late to eat anything due to the long delays with our meal in the main restaurant.
The following morning we went into the breakfast room at 9.30 where approximately five tables were in use by guests. There was a full buffet service but yet again the food was only warm not hot. Your omelette chef who we presume was supposed to be on duty for the omelette trolley arrived at 10.45. Somewhat late in the day as the guests had mostly left the breakfast room. My wife ordered a poached egg, which is not rocket science to make, this took over 30 minutes to be served, at least it was hot!
Whilst eating our breakfast a guest bought in a very smelly dog into the restaurant, which no member of your staff asked them to remove. We do not expect to eat a meal next to a really unpleasant smell, why was the dog allowed in the restaurant in the first place!!!!
The restaurant manager asked to have a word with us after we had finished our breakfast and wanted us to stay and assured us this is not the usual standard of the hotel and would not be like this at the Christmas brunch which he offered would be free of charge. We decided not to go down this road as the two meals we had eaten were of such a poor quality and it was Christmas Day. We checked out immediately after breakfast and drove the two and three quarter hour journey back to our home in Marbella without having a decent meal to eat.

My wife is extremely upset that our Christmas break had been completely ruined by staying at the Alfonso. This has been our worst Christmas experience ever. 24th and 25th completely ruined.
We understand this hotel is part of the Starwood hotel group, we have stayed at other sister hotels and had excellent service and food, therefore, expected the same quality from a reported five star hotel.
I expect a full refund of the cost for our overnight accommodation as you can appreciate if we could have returned in our car to Marbella the night of 24th we would have.
It is a great shame that this beautiful hotel with such a lovely ambience, which should have a wonderful reputation to uphold, has had it blighted in this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hugh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    324
    128
    50
    37
See reviews for
462
1,060
57
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Arrived in our car to find no concierge to take the keys or unload the luggage - so we dragged everything up the stairs to the check-in and just dumped the car there. There was a queue of three clients which took far too long to process, and there was no special line for starwood VIP/platinum members. Bad start.

The manager apologised profusely and then organised for us to be fitted in the christmas day lunch even though we hadn't booked. Then we were shown to our suite, which was a very nice, quiet corner junior suite, with lots of space a a reasonably comfortable bed. The concierges were excellent at helping us to book restaurants and organise tickets for the alhambra, which was on our itinerary over the next few days. Check-out was dealt with a bit clumsily again, as we had requested and been granted late check-out but our electronic keys suddenly stopped working at 12 midday (someone obviously forget to reprogram the departure time). The reception was a long walk from the room, especially with a grumpy 2-year-old who had a wet nappy that needed changing.......

So, it's a beautiful building, tastefully restored and with good rooms, but just needs a little bit of attention to the service aspect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

What a fantastic hotel to stay in. Never mind people who just review the bar you have to be a resident. On arrival we were greeted by the bell hops who immediately offered assistance with our luggage. We arrived at about 1pm and check-in was pretty quiet. It was a hassle free experience, usual formalities were completed without any problems and we were allocated our room (105) and off we went. We stayed for two nights over Valentines. Found the room without any problem and it was large by European standards with a separate large bathroom. The room had everything you could ever want, large LCD tv, air conditioning a well stocked mini bar with snacks, bottles of water, bath robes and slippers but no tea or coffee making items! Hotel information as well as you bill can be viewed via the tv, so don't expect to see a guest directory, it's interactive. The bed was the biggest and most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, magnificent. The bathroom was very nice and clean with unusual ceramic vintage tiles in keeping with the hotel it also had a nice deep bath with a very good supply of hot water but be warned if the bath is running don't wander off, it fills very quickly. So we were very pleased with the room. The hotel is spectacular, the design features are what makes this hotel unique as well as the celebrities that have stayed here and the courtyards connection with the film Lawrence Of Arabia. The public areas are immaculate and all the staff helpful and friendly. We ate beside the courtyard the food was fantastic and although classed as a snack it was more than enough for dinner, all washed down by a Lawrence Of Arabia cocktail, superb. Nothing in this hotel is cheap but it's definitely a case of you get what you pay for and in my opinion worth every Penney or Euro....breakfast as expected was superb with everything you could ever want and I mean everything OK so it's €23 but you'll get a better deal if it's included in the room rate which for a deluxe room works out at around the €250 per night mark. The hotel is situated virtually opposite the Real Alcazar in the historical centre of the city. Everything is within walking distance. On arrival we got the airport bus for €4 a and jumped off at the Carlos V stop where you can get the tram direct to the hotel or you can walk as we did and it's probably less than ten minutes. On the way back to the airport we got a taxi for just under €25. The only criticism I have of the hotel is the charge for wifi, currently €18 for 24 hours access. This charge is throughout the chain so not this particular hotels fault but in this day and age it is totally unacceptable and unwarranted. I normally deduct a rating point for this but on this occasion just due to the fantastic time we had, the superb hotel with its unique external and internal decorations and the very friendly and helpful staff it just has to get five. If you are wavering about visiting just do it, if you can afford too. It's certainly an experience not to be missed. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

How could you possibly say anything negative about his bar...best dry martini I've ever tasted. Great service, tasty nuts, didn't like the ceiling, loved the walk through to the bar. We didn't stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Although having never stayed at the Alfonso XIII, it is a hotel you will never forget. The facade is remarkable and the reception and indoor patio exactly replicate the many pics taken of it! Just perfect! We sat for 30 minutes, just to rest our feet, in perfect elegance, with no one to disturb us or ask if we belonged, etc. It was HEAVEN! A memory not to be forgotten....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jhb9383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fantastic experience at this hotel. Very clean and VERY centrally located. It even has a parking garage, which is essential given its location in the old part of Seville. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpineALtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I travel to Seville many times throughout the year, and will always return to the Alfonso XIII. An advantage to being a regular visitor to this hotel, is to be recognised and welcomed with a smile by all reception and porter staff. It is a pleasure to return to a home away from home! All staff are very professional and respectful in their attitude and service.
All the rooms are comfortable and well equiped, the beds give the best sleep, and the breakfast spread is really comprehensive with hot and cold choice. During the warmer summer months, the outside secluded poolside is to be recommended, as is the bar seating area on the side verandah (during the cooler months this area is overhead heated anyway). There is a small gym for those who wish to participate........
My last stay was during a period of heavy persistant rain and wind, which actively discouraged venturing outside. Unusualy, drain smells were blowing back into the room during this time due the weather(I prevented this by closing the plug-holes & the problem went away). The airconn is so quiet as to be indiscernible.
I look forward to returning - hopefully when the weather is somewhat less inclement!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mach N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
2,277 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,100 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#36 of 176 in Seville
2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville

Property: Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Address: Calle San Fernando 2, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seville
#1 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the recently renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville. Since its inauguration in 1928 the Hotel Alfonso XIII has been the preferred rendezvous for residents of Seville and elite travelers from around the world.From the moment you pass through the entrance of the Hotel Alfonso XIII a world of luxury is your's to explore. Discover the 151 rooms and suites at the newly renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville, totally equipped and furnished with luxury and comfort. The hotel guestrooms have been decorated with three different elegant styles: Andaluz, Moorish and Castillian rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfonso Xiii Seville
Hotel Alfonso Xiii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing