We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply diappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Ranked #8 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Deeply diappointed.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As previously reported on Tripadvisor ( 9th Sept, 29th, 12th, 7th August ) The Alfonso should score 6 stars in terms of the superb restoration undertaken by The Starwood's " Luxury Hotels Brand " ...( they're also proud to tell you they own more than 1,146 hotels in more than 100 countries including Westin, Sheraton, Meridian and St. Regis Groups.)
Architecturally this must be one of the most stunning hotels in the world, elaborately decorated with beautiful Moorish tiling throughout.
6 stars also for the magnificently central location...a short 5 minute walk from The Alcazar and Sevilla Cathedral.
But in almost every other respect, 2 or even 1 star awards.
The service overall was at best slow and forgetful, at worst non existent. Getting a fresh cup of coffee that wasn't tasteless and/or tepid at breakfast was impossible. Best order a double espresso and wait...and wait.
Because everyone wants breakfast in the glorious central courtyard, staff seem to be focussed ( by the management ?) to clear tables, rather than look after those customers already seated.
On trying to obtain a taxi - the rank is just around the corner, the doorman had disappeared. On 3 separate occasions, just not there.
I know it might seem petty, but at these prices, why is the pepper in the salt pots and the salt in the pepper pots ?
Why after the initial rush are bathing towels by the pool apparently rationed ?
Why, when we were paying 378.00 Euros a night for a beautiful suite are guests frankly insulted by being required to buy hourly Wi-Fi access at silly rates ? A real throw back to a previous decade !
On the lousy coffee and costly internet access there's a comfortable Starbucks directly opposite the Alfonso, where the coffee's great and access completely free. Infact we met a number of Alfonso escapees there.
Where is the individual hotel branding disappearing to ? At this price discerning travellers maybe wish to stay at a sumptuous hotel with it's own individual character.
Yet any Alfonso XIII Hotel branding has disappeared from bathrooms and toiletries...it's all " Luxury Hotels of the World " branding...and your bill ( and loyalty scheme ) is from Starwoods .
Is this also now the case at The Gritti Palace and The Danielli in Venice that have also been corralled into the Group ? I think we should all be interested in the answer.
Is international blandness we felt now invading the best hotels in the world ?
Do we wish to stay in the most splendid hotels in the world where the service standards are set by hoteliers or accountants...because that is the impression that we personally got...of course, we could be wrong.
Lastly, in order to gasp with admiration at the faithful and costly renovation of this landmark hotel, you don't need to stay there...call in for a meal or cocktail and you can appreciate the elegance and grandeur of a truly historic hotel.
Then, if you'd prefer, return to an individual owner driven boutique hotel, of which there are a few in Seville.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuartbandsuev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    318
    127
    50
    37
See reviews for
454
1,041
56
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is perfectly sited for all the main attractions in Seville. The hotel is in itself an attraction. Perfect grounds with large pool, wonderful attentive staff, huge comfortable quite rooms, superb bed. All in all just excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugardoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I actually got a pretty good deal to stay 3 nights and get the fourth free, with breakfast included, so I can't complain about cost performance. The hotel itself is as majestic and graceful as you'd expect, with lots of details such as all the multi-colored tiles. The lobby and terrace area are truly beautiful. And as everyone else says, the location right near the cathedral, palace, park and Barrio Santa Cruze truly cannot be beat.
I had a "deluxe" room which I believe in this case is a standard room. It faced the courtyard so no opinion view-wise, but quite opulent. Some might consider the room small by modern standards, but back when this hotel was built rooms were smaller than now. Also the shower was a bit lacking in water pressure. The greatest disappointed regarding the room was the level of noise that penetrated from the hallway and other floors. I could hear quite loudly every noise coming from the hallway (which by the way is also very opulent), and around 1 a.m. each night there were loud noises from above (I think) that sounded like people dragging around large pieces of furniture.
The breakfast spread is impressive, with the added bonus of enjoying it in the lovely terrace. Service during breakfast, though, was average at best. Front desk staff were very polite and helpful, so no complaints there. Maid service was even better. If only they could do something about the noise...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel is amazing!!! We had a fabulous room with an amazing bed. Everything from the feather top bed and feather pillows. The most comfortable sleep I have ever had at a hotel.
The location was perfect, the pool and the gardens, the buffet breakfast was the best I have ever had. Love this place and wish we would have spent more time here:) You definitely feel like royalty!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knightsbridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

No other hotels in my opinion captured the historical grandeur of Seville like the King Alfonso XIII ... A marvellous spectacle of monumental masterpiece.. Meticulously restored to its former glory. It's an establishment in itself. It will take hours to marvel at the building architecture . From the moment you arrive you would know that this is not an ordinary hotel. It's like being invited to a palace for a royal treat . The staffs were excellent , very accommodating with genuine warmth without being obtrusive . My request for an upgrade for a special occasion was delightfully met . The receptionist took the time to show me around the main areas of the hotel .The deluxe room is very spacious for two. I would recommend the first floor which has the highest ceiling height with a balcony overlooking Seville and the hotel surrounding garden . The bed is very comfy with fine Egyptian cotton from the luxury collection by Starwood hotels . The cornices , big chandelier at the centre , period furnitures, memorable photos of king Alfonso and associates , wonderful spacious bathroom and toiletries with moorish mosaics captured the spirit of this establishment . Breakfast is served at the beautiful courtyard which is the epicentre of the hotel . In fact the best bit . Reminds me of four seasons Paris and four seasons Florence. Reasonable selection of buffet cooked breakfast served by very attentive staffs . The pool is great during the hot day with nice deck lounges which is part of the extensive garden surrounding the hotel . Everywhere is within walking distance from the magnificent cathedral , stunning alcazar and the most beautiful plaza espana. I wouldn't deem it pricey if you compare with the likes of four seasons or mandarin orientals across Europe and for less than £200 a nite its a real treat . I ll
definitely return and would recommend anyone to stay here .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FABREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here with my sister for 3 days. I really loved this hotel. I loved the staff the rooms and the wonderful breakfast in the morning that set us up for the day. I upgraded from a standard room to a suite which was beautiful. This hotel has history and grace. I would definably stay here again if I am ever in Seville

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokereke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just got back from my 4 night stay at Hotel Alfonso XIII in Seville. I must say, this hotel was amazing. Easily the best hotel I stayed in during my trip to Spain, and one of the best I've stayed in ever. I had a few minor issues with the Hotel, but we are squabbling over near perfection.

For starters, IMO, this is the nicest hotel in Seville. It's almost foolish to stay anywhere else if you want the best possible experience. When I was out in Seville too, I got the opinion from other tourists that they were jealous that I was staying at Alfonso XIII and they weren't! Haha guess they didn't check Trip Advisor.

The architecture and design of the hotel is absolutely stunning. Both the interior and exterior are gorgeous, and it's so fitting that the Hotel is the closest to La Catedral, because both are exquisite, andit is quite a walk from La Catedral to Alfonso XIII! Built for the world fair in 1929, the Hotel is nearly a landmark itself.

I also loved my room and the pool area. Seville gets HOT, but it's so nice by that pool. Very clean, very picturesque, and very relaxing. I stayed in a King Deluxe room, complete with a large balcony. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony with my girlfriend having a glass of wine. One of the nicest and biggest hotel rooms i've ever stayed in.

Few other quick items of note: the gym was big and well-equipped, which is surprising for a hotel gym. The concierge (Antonio) was fantastic as well.

Now, I did have a few cons, but they are pretty minor and didn't take anything away from the service. First, our bed sheets were clearly clean, but i saw a few small speckles of what looked like a blood stain on the sheet. Wasn't thrilled about that and had the sheets replaced. On our checkout day in the hotel, housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:51AM. Not sure what that is about but they woke me up. Lastly, when I checked out, they added 1Euro to the bill for a donation to Unicef - i certainly don't mind donating to a charity, but I like to be informed first that I made the donation! haha.

Anyways, do yourself a favor, stay here. If this Hotel was in NYC, it'd easily be close to $1,000 a night, so by my standards, the hotel is worth every penny. I give the hotel a 97/100, my highest rating for a hotel ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaytheisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#30 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville

Property: Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Address: Calle San Fernando 2, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seville
#1 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the recently renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville. Since its inauguration in 1928 the Hotel Alfonso XIII has been the preferred rendezvous for residents of Seville and elite travelers from around the world.From the moment you pass through the entrance of the Hotel Alfonso XIII a world of luxury is your's to explore. Discover the 151 rooms and suites at the newly renovated Hotel Alfonso XIII, Seville, totally equipped and furnished with luxury and comfort. The hotel guestrooms have been decorated with three different elegant styles: Andaluz, Moorish and Castillian rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfonso Xiii Seville
Hotel Alfonso Xiii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing