We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They go the extra mile! Excellent Service!”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was here in 1999, before the refurbishments and returned somewhat apprehensively. I was concerned that the restyling may have changed the character of what was an elegant hotel. No need to worry though as the Gran Melia Colon continues to be a first class hotel, outstripping many of the Paradores I have stayed in.
Everyone from doorstaff to reception, restaurant to room maids were wonderful. Staff training here must be tip-top! Everyone is courteous and helpful. We even enjoyed sharing a joke with reception staff about the hotel's infamous new bathrooms. Yes it is difficult to turn on the bath/shower taps whilst negotiating the static shower screne, but we got round it. As my old Granny would have said, "The disigner wants shooting!". We encountered no other problems with our rooms.
My sons' room which was on the seventh floor with windows facing the courtyard had a very large bathroom with separate bath, shower and W.C.
We arrived on the Wednesday before Easter, having planned our route through Seville so as not to coincide with road blocks for Semana Santa processions. Unfortunately the roads were not closed to schedule and we spent two and a half hours trying to reach the hotel. In the end we double parked within a few hundred metres of the hotel's main entrance and I made my way on foot to reception where a doorman was very quickly organized to accompany me back to the car and drive it, in reverse down one-way streets and through road blocks, to the front door. At that point the rest of the family said "Now we know why you insisted on The Colon!".
These people really do go the extra mile.

Tips:
Red level is worth the extra.
Use the Aromatherapy options. The Cinnamon was wonderful.
Make sure you book-in for a massage at The Spa. I would recommend the 90 minute Luxury one. BLISS!
Eat at The Burladero, the food is superb.
The roof top sun area is worth a visit.
Don't panic if you arrive in Holy Week and are confounded by road blocks. Do as I did.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to The Colon next time I'm in Seville.

Room Tip: The Red Level Rooms are excellent. Ask for one overlooking the courtyard for a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to write about Gran Meliá Hotel on tripadvisor.com. We highly appreciate you decided to come back to Seville and to stay in our hotel. Make sure we will let all the staff know about your comment to encourage them to continue with an excellent service.
We hope to know soon from you in your next visit, in order to give you other great service. Thank you again for recommending us and we really look forward to welcoming you.
Yours sincerily,
Celia Martín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 2,562 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

Pleasant staff, luxury look, we stayed in premium room which was spacious and very comfortable. Easy access from highway, parking offered (paid). Very central to tourist sites, restaurants and shopping; all walking distance (max 10 minutes). Spa on rooftop offers a nice view. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy to know that you had a good time in our hotel and Seville. It was an absolutely pleasure to attend you and we are willing to welcoming you back soon.
Please do not hesitate in contact us for your next stay.
Best regards,
Celia Martín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and were pleased when we got there as the location is good, a short walk to the main sights of Seville. The lobby is perfumed and nicely decorated. The room was also nicely decorated and pretty comfortable, and had all mod cons, including a nespresso machine and Clarins toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was pretty good. Bizarrely the window did not completely fit the window frame and we could clearly see through the frame, which increased slightly the noise and heat coming in from outside.

We had gone for the Red Level service, so received some complimentary fruit and water on arrival and access to the Red Level lounge, where hot drinks and alcoholic/soft drinks were available for free. Breakfast was served in this lounge also.

The only real negatives were around service and noise. With service, the room was very clean, but they were not so good at replacing things we'd used, for example, coffee pods for the nespresso machine, cups, water, toiletries. Similarly in the Red Level lounge, on two occasions in 3 days I had to empty the nespresso machine as it wouldn't work because it was full of used pods. Some of the snacks looked like they'd been sitting there for days. On the noise front my only gripe is that every room door slams shut, so in the morning and evening when people are leaving/returning to their rooms, there is a constant cacophony of slams. Surely a hotel of this stature could spring for mechanisms to ensure doors close quietly.

Otherwise we had a very pleasant stay in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel on your last stay in Seville. We highly appreciate your comments and will take them into account as an important part of our continuous improvement.
Do not hesitate to contact us should we be of assistance. We will be more than happy if you give us the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Seville.
Best regards!
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Gran Melia Colon has a great location in Seville and has recently been refurbished. They have creatively dedicated each floor to a different famous artist. Each room door has a painting on it with a light above it like you would see in an old school museum. Very fun and creative in that regard! Bravo! The rooms are very modern and well appointed- hard to beat this hotel for comfort and location alone.

The service at this hotel was also the best we got on our trip through Spain and Portugal. Very nice and efficient check-in. Very helpful concierge. Great breakfast.

We did not try the Tapas restaurant here, but heard it was good. We ate 3 times at a superb restaurant named Mechela, which is a minute walk from the property. Go to this restaurant if you stay here! Awesome modern Tapas and Fusion. Some dishes to die for! I digress...

The Pros and Cons:

Pros:
1. Perfect Location- We visited Seville during Holy Week and the place was a madhouse. The Gran Melia had a perfect location of being very close to the center of the action without being right on top of it and noisy.
2. Modern Refurbished Rooms- As noted above the hotel has been renovated from the old property and is super modern, yet very creative. The rooms have all the 5 star appointments and amenities. The AC worked well! Yay!
3. The Service- The best check-in process on our trip and a super helpful/nice staff.
4. Good Breakfast- Although a bit crowded the breakfast selection was large and wonderful.

Cons:
1. A bit stuffy? It is hard to find any cons with this property. I would say that some of the guests here were older and a bit stuffy in attitude.Not sure if that had something to do with Holy Week or not. This is not something the hotel can control per se, but worth noting.

This is a great refuge in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sevilla, as well as for taking the time to post such a generous opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are really proud that you had such a wonderfull experience at the Hotel and that you loved El Burladero Restaurnat.
Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. All your comments prons and cons comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.
Hoping to accommodate you in the near future.
Kind regards
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I don't give out five stars very often, but this hotel was outstanding in every way - my wife was after advice on where to see flamenco shows and buy a dress, and the concierge not only prepared a list of places, she also called a number of the shops to ascertain their opening hours, and then came up to our room and gave advice on how to get to them, and where to eat. In terms of eating, the hotel restaurant was amazingly good - we ended up eating there quite a bit, and the prices were very decent for the quality of food - best octopus we have ever eaten! The room was an excellent size, beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. Bathroom was an amazing size, and air conditioning was quiet and very efficient (it was very hot when we were there). Location was excellent, and could walk to all the main sights. One of the best - will have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your encouraging comments on tripadvisor about Gran Meliá Colón. It is very kind of you.
It is an honour and a great pleasure to know that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable and unforgettable experience.
Please feel free to contact us for your future reservations. We looking forward to welcome you again very soon, as metioned.
Kind Regards
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were checked in Maria Belen, who was extremely helpful and helped in everything. Also mention Carmen who had booked our Granada tour and bull flight. The location is just amazing location in town and rooms on 5 th floor are amazing. The doors are paintings and rooms are in full white. Excellent service , very good tapas Resturant in the hotel burladero. Worth staying at Melia colon.

Room Tip: Try the room on 5 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel in such nice terms in tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your kind words for our staff, our service and the quality of our restaurant. Also, we are glad they were so helpful for making your stay as enjoyable as possible.

We hope to hear soon from you and receive you again.
Kind regards,
Celia Martín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

No need for many words.
Everything about the hotel is excellent, from the service, location, rooms, facilities, breakfast and restaurants.
Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GourmetTraveller911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comment, which you wrote at tripadvisor.com. We are really proud of receiving such great compliments, since we really take into account the opinion of our guests.

We would like to thank you as well that you would recommend Gran Meliá Hotel.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you may need something from us.
Best regards,
Celia Martín.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
#1 of 178 in Seville
147 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,273 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $244 - $743 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing