We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very "safe" choice in Seville”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A very "safe" choice in Seville”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The good stuff:
a) Cool and funky - the hotel was totally refurbished quite recently it is very "cool & funky" and feels "boutiquie".
b) Rooms - reasonably sized and well equipped including two basins and a bidet
c) Solarium - there is a great sun deck and jacuzzi on the roof (7th floor) with amazing views + there is also a sauna and steam room

The average stuff:
a) Location - the hotel is on the edge of the old town so you always have to walk 10 minutes to get to most of the major attractions
b) Sleep - the bed has good linens and feels quite new but is a bit shaky and lacks support - not the best nights sleep but not disastrous either
c) View - not great but just getting a street view in Seville is nice and the noise is not obtrusive
d) Gym - there is a gym but the room is austere, the equipment is ok
e) Wifi - the connection is very slowwwww and keeps dropping, but it is complementary
f) Corporate - it is part of a large hotel group and the hotel is quite large so you don't get the personal attention that you would in a small hotel, but there are no nasty surprises either

The bad stuff:
None

If I stayed in Seville again I might risk a more historic hotel but the Gran Melia Colon is a very safe choice, you know what you are getting and you know you wont be let down.

Room Tip: Don't get a courtyard view - the rooms feel like prison cells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your hotel in Seville. We also highly appreciate the time you have dedicated to share your experience with us on tripadvisor as well as your suggestions which help us to improve each day.

Thank you to trust Gran Meliá and feel free to contact us should we be of assistance.

Best regards,
Celia Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    558
    123
    34
    10
See reviews for
418
1,340
62
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

After Buenos Aires (4*) which we really liked a lot, we were expecting much from Melia Seville. We had a suite at the 6th floor, huge but with poor lighting - only 2 rather little windows.
Being a reader I missed some additional light close to the sofa.
The bed was rather hard and there was always this strange synthetic perfume smell floating everywhere in the building. May be too strong.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine according to northern Europe standards..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón as your home in Seville.

We have taken well note of your suggestions and will try to improve as far as may be possible.
We hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strassen, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We spent four days and three nights in this excellent place. It started with the friendly reception with a glass of cava. Rooms are spacious with a modern (although not very comfortable) bathroom furniture. Some at the 7th top floor enjoy a nice view towards the magnificent Cathedral. Large choice for the breakfast and here again a very kind and efficient service. Location is ideal : 10 min to the Guadaquivir, same for the shopping and lively streets of Velasquez and Tetuan (via the charming and narrow San Eloy). Further on is the Cathedral (also beautifu at night) this hotel is a great place to visit this wonderful city. Only small issue is from time to time an unpleasant smell

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel and staff on tripadvisor.com We are delighted to know that you liked the Gran Meliá Colón and enjoyed your stay in Seville.

It was a pleasure to attend you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you are planning to come back to Seville. We really look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Situated centrally between Cathedral and River Guadalquivir - super spot. Hotel very plush - each floor dedicated to a different master class artist - we had Murillo on the third floor - every door was adorned with the artist's work - mostly a variety of the 'Immaculada'. Reception extremely helpful - room spotless - yes, the lights system was confusing but a 'good game!'
Clean towels and sheets supplied almost every day unless you put a marker on your pillow. Breakfast at 26 Euros each a bit teep - but we were offered the price for the two of us. You can eat as much food as you wanted and good variety. The clear glass panel between the bathroom nd bedroom was a little off-putting but again 'good game!'.
We only ate in the Burladero Restaurant on our last evening - quite expensive but excellent quality food. The remark from others re the tea-bags is appropriate - English Breakfast bags were only supplied in singles - but Reception soon made the several trips to our room with more plus milk!! The views from the the roof terrace over Seville were spectacular - little too windy fto use the jacuzzi but in the summer.........!!
Would recommend the Hotel to everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write on tripadvisor.com about your experience at Gran Meliá Colón. Your opinion is useful and helps us to improve every day, as we strive to reach the complete guest satisfaction. We hope that we will be able to provide you with the most enjoyable stay on your next visit.

Thanking you again for recommending us, we remain at your complete disposal should we do anything for you.

Yours faithfully,
Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Have just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful hotel. From check in to check out we were treated very well. The staff are all friendly but professional, gave good local advice and spoke excellent English. The rooms are spacious and well equiped. Tea making facilities in Spain are rare so that was a bonus. Unlike previous reports we had no problems with the high tech lighting nor the "perfumed" Reception area. The food in the Restaurant was excellent at Dinner and the Breakfast Service was equally good. A glass of Cava is a great way to start the day !!!. We had one of the best Gin and Tonics ever, served by a barman who clearly knows his trade. The Hotel is in a great position for getting around town as everything is on the doorstep. The only problem we had was having to leave after only 4 nights. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 226 on the 2nd Floor. No view but was very quiet so good sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for putting your trust in our hotel and for the time you have dedicated to us on tripadvisor.com. We highly appreciate your kind words and are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Seville.

We remain at your entire disposal and will be waiting for your next visit.
Sincerely yours,

Celia Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

It was an excellent location; the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. A couple of minor issues with the room/wifi were quickly and efficiently resolved. The hotel was opulent in appearance and room was large and very comfortable. The system of towel changing was a little confusing (a minor point). The shower facilities quite adequate but difficult to avoid getting water every where.

The breakfast amazing in it's variety & standard; I defy anyone not to like something that was there. We ate in the restaurant once, and tapas bar most evenings - good standard & again excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón hotel in Seville and for your positive comments on tripadvisor.com.

We also take into account your remarks and the mentioned points to be improved
It was a real pleasure to have you with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be of assistance.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Seville.

Best regards,
Celia Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

You can't help but be impressed when you arrive by the fine entrance and the complimentary glass of Cava. And the staff were suitably friendly and helpful.

The rooms are a decent size and fully featured (although more than one tea bag per type would be nice). The shower worked but it was hard not to splash the water everywhere. The lights in the room are "different", pressing the same button doesn't seem to always have the same effect. And i played the will they leave face flannels tonight game :)

The breakfast spread was very good (included in my room rate) but they didn't have enough tables and one day we had to queue.

The hotel is decently situated and it took no more than 10 mins to get to the cathedral.

The hotel has much to commend it (the staff) if I sound not totally convinced it's that I really expected better from a 5* hotel.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón and let us know about your experience with us.

We appreciate your positive comments and hope that you enjoyed your stay in Seville. At the same time we would like you to know that we value your opinion and work every day in order to improve our facilities according to our guests suggestions.

I assure you that we would be delighted to see you again on your next visit to Seville.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance. We remain at your entire disposal.

Sincerely yours,
Celia Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 175 in Seville
4,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 175 in Seville
2,051 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Property: Gran Melia Colon
Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing