We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Although some people seem disappointed, we were not. We found the service, from the friendly and helpful valet/bellman to the polite and efficient waitress at the buffet to the truly wonderful and extremely helpful front desk clerk, to be outstanding at every turn. At reception, you are seated comfortably and given a glass of cava as your bags are being handled. They did offer to upgrade us from a premium room to a suite on the red level for 100 euros a night, but I thought our premium room was already quite a nice size and had opted out of the suite when I booked, so we did not upgrade.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and our premium room on the 4 floor i(420) s spacious and open, with double sinks in the bath as well as a soaking tub enclosed in glass that you can choose to open out to the room by pulling a curtain back. The view is of courtyards and balconies in the neighborhood. The amenities in the bathroom are all by Clarins and of excellent quality. The tv is a modern flat screen which we changed into english mode and got about 8 channels of english language tv.

The breakfast buffet was the best of the 5 we had so far in Spain. It was included with our room. It has pretty much everything from kiwi to nuts. It has a small selection of hot foods, including both scrambled and over easy.hard eggs, many cheeses and fruits and a selection of pastries and breads worthy of a small pastry shop. A silver carafe of coffee is brought directly to your table and when we asked for a coca cola light they brought it without even asking for our room number along with a bucket of ice.

The front desk clerk (I think her name is Amanda) speaks excellent english and gave us several restaurant choices with clear directions which were very helpful. She was especially helpful because she told us from experience - that she had eaten at the restaurant, or that she could not say whether it was good because she had not eaten there. The Italian restaurant she guided us to last night was as good as any Italian we had ever had. She has also given us good directions for touring. She seems truly sincere in wanting you to enjoy your experience and followed up to see which restaurant we tried and make sure we liked it. In a hotel of this size, it is nice to have staff give a personal experience.

The hotel is close to the tourist sites, though you do have to walk about 5 to 10 minutes depending on which one you want to see. But it is a pleasant walk, mostly along the river. They have parking for a fee, that is open during the day, but we are staying two nights and chose to leave our car and did not try to retrieve it during the late evening hours the garage was closed. The hotel is a bit difficult to find if you are driving, but there are street signs guiding you there, but they are sometimes difficult to spot in time to turn, so be on the lookout for them - also there is another melia hotel, so make sure you follow the signs for the Gran Melia Colon not the Melia Sevilla. We missed the turn off the road along the river, but turned around quickly and found it on our second pass.

There is something called red level service at the hotel which we did not upgrade to. The amenities and service were already very good, so I can only imagine what they would be like if we upgraded - we have one more night and momentarily thought about upgrading just to see what more the red level hotel service offers! There is a separate dining room for red level patrons in the lobby and apparently a lounge on those levels....perhaps another reviewer can tell you what extra level of luxury you get with that.

The only thing we did not prefer here was that the hotel decor is not to our taste - it is a bit too modern, especially the white leather chaises and the odd red jester hat chairs in the lobby, but it is nonetheless well decorated, just in a modern rather than homey style. The internet was a bit slow compared to some, but we did not come here for business so it was not an issue for us. However, the wireless is free and it is available on as many devices as you want, which was nice,

I would note that one recent review found the hotel to have an overpowering smell in the lobby, but all I smell is my clean shirt. There was no clear smell of perfume or other odor that we could discern in the lobby so perhaps that issue has been remedied Another said their room was dirty or stained, but that was not our experience at all. The room appears spotless in every way, which is impressive considering that much of the decor is white.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karypdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the Hotel's staff, let me thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Colón and taking the time to share your positive experience and opinion on Tripadvisor.com. The detailed description of our facilities will certainly be very useful to other potencial customers.
It is a great pleasure and a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed the hotel as well as your stay in Seville.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of assistance. We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you as soon as you come back to Spain.
Thank you again and best regards,
Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were a little disappointed with our stay at Gran Melia Colon. It was not 5-star experience at all. I agree with the most reviewers that the smell in the lobby is very strong and not pleasant. Overall, the hotel needs some serious remodeling and new furniture. Our bathtub and walls had stains. The door in the toilet did not slide to close. The drain in the bathtub was clogged. Our room had very poor ventilation system so the whole room had a musty smell.
A few good things about this place: excellent customer service, great location, nice view of the city from the rooftop and good breakfast. The hotel's restaurant El Burladero had good tapas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ta4nya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director General at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Colón and for your positive appreciation of our staff, location, wellness and restaurant. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed these aspects of our hotel.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences in your room during your stay. I am highly concerned by your comments and should be grateful if you could contact me for additional details of these events.
I remain at you disposal and look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely yours,
Alberto Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

my staying was pretty disapointing, the staff is extremely nice and really kind BUT it is not central at all. 15 minutes to the city center if you find the street. Spa is not excisting at all, 2 sauna's which smell very bad, 1 small bath outside which is dirty (green in the grid).
solario is not excisting, they said "It is the roof top" but i went in february..
Breakfast is 26 euro a person a day, which is redicilious.
Rooms have a nice disegn and good products to take a shower.
I spend 700 euro for 3 nights + 1 dinner

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Corellaann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director General at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Meliá Colón on your visit to Seville.
We do apologize for the inconveniences at our Wellness. Despite we check every day the perfect working order and cleanliness of all our facilities, I obviously take well note of your comment and share it with my team in order to double check it and make sure that this area is always in optimal conditions.
I also appreciate your opinion concerning our breakfast buffet, while we strive to offer a wide selection and the best products quality, and I assure you that our price is in accordance to other hotels of the same standard.
We would be honoured if you decided to give us a second chance, as I see that you liked our rooms and staff. I would personally take care of your reservation and make sure that everything is according to your preferences.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at my e-mail address alberto.lalinde@melia.com.
Sincerely yours,
Alberto Lalinde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here in May 2013 as we were visiting Sevilla for my sister's wedding, based at the Alphonso.

The Gran Melia was close enough to the wedding venue and generally well situated for all the tourist attractions.

The only downside we had was the overpowering smell everywhere.. I really dislike perfume generally and even asked the hotel to stop spraying the stuff in our room.

Apart from that, the room was lovely, and the bathrooms particularly nice. The rooftop is also lovely and quiet.

We got a good value deal through Expedia and would stay there again if we found such a deal again.

Tips for Sevilla- visit The Alphonso hotel for drinks on the terrace, the Me hotel rooftop bar is great fun for late night drinks

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel2000London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Colón again as your hotel in Seville and share your experience with us in tripadvisor.com.

It is an honour to have you as frequent customer.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be of assistance.
We remain at your entire disposal and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best regards,
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We enjoyed our three days in this fine hotel. we were lucky enough to be upgraded and very much enjoyed the room. and the general surroundings of the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of the main places to visit in the city

The staff were attentive and always pleased to assist

We felt that breakfast was too expensive and ate out, there are so many places nearby. Likewise the tapas bar in the basment in also 60% + more expnsive than most and as a consequence usually empty when we passed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Colón on your last stay in Seville.

We are happy that you liked the hotel and staff and appreciate your sincere opinion which helps us to improve day a day.

We remain at your entire disposal and would be glad if we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had never been to Seville before and after reviewing a few hotels decided this was the one. It looked elegant and a bit up market and as we were out of season the price including breakfast was about 110.00 GBP per room per night. When we arrived we were greeted with a glass of Cava and not the usual lobby reception. The check in is at a desk with chairs where we could enjoy the glass of bubbly and ask for some local details. Isabel who checked us in was very helpful and gave us a map with notes on for the bars and the flamenco dance options. The whole feel of the hotel is classy with a very modern twist. The rooms we had we just the basic ones but they were very well appointed. The light switches were a bit over the top and took a while to understand so eventually I left them all on as there were movement sensors that turned them off when we left. The breakfast was included and it was a vast spread of food. There was plenty of fresh fruit and cooked items with cheese and cold meats. The selection of bread and rolls was overwhelming. It was difficult to make a choice so I eat the lot! Each morning we were greeted by Immaculada at the breakfast room. She spoke English and spent time explaining the local area and making suggestions of places to visit. The location of the hotel placed it in easy walking distance of all the main attractions. The shopping district is only a street away. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel. We did not eat in the restaurant as we preferred to seek out local Tapas bars. We did drink some cocktails in the bar one evening. There were always taxis waiting outside if you need them. During our stay the Barcelona football team occupied the 5th floor and this added another layer of security and interest to the hotel. When we go back to Seville we will definitely look to stay at the Gran Meliá Colón as we enjoyed our stay. This was further enhanced by the lovely staff and particularly Isabel and Immaculada.

Room Tip: Ask Isabel or Immaculada for tips on places to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your encouraging and useful comments of Gran Meliá Colón. We highly appreciate them, above all coming from an expert traveller as you are. We will share your post with our team and particularly with Isabel and Inmaculada. Thank you so much.
Our main reward is to know that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable and unforgettable experience.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Seville.
Please do not hesitate to contact us should we be of assistance.
Sincerely yours,
Celia Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Hotel advertises each room with pictures of balcony and hot tub, they have one small balcony and one small hot tub for all the guests which the whole time we were there had large hairy old guys quietly starring at everyone if you even looked like you wanted to get in.

I have two small children so we asked to have family room with a view of the city so the kids could see. We got an inside room with a view of a wall, after I even emailed and called ahead to request a room with a view.

The breakfast was not bad, but for $300 a night could have had some more expensive items, just half fried eggs and really cheap (not even sure if it was real meat) sausages.

Really nothing at all for kids to do or entertainment, very average hotel with a nice foyer that needed the carpet cleaned. Pretty much par for the course here in Spain; just don’t get the customer service concept or what is expected for higher quality hotel.

Stay somewhere else, go for the American chains they try real hard to impart the company values.

Room Tip: I think you will be better off not asking, we asked and got the room with a view of the wall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSR0072000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeliaColon, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel on your last stay in Seville.
We are saddened and regret that you didn't like the Gran Meliá Colón and take your opinion into account.

Please apologize for the inconveniences and as we have different room categories and sizes available, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at my e-mail address: celia.martin@melia.com, in case you decided to give us a second chance. I will personally make sure that the assigned room is according to your preferences.

Sincerely yours,

Celia Martín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,196 reviews
Melia Sevilla
#37 of 177 in Seville
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $199 - $686 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing