We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Colon
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Becquer(Seville)
$143
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$119
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Amadeus(Seville)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Murillo(Seville)(Great Value!)
$126
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
$182
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$181
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$497
$442
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,655)
Filter reviews
2,655 results
Traveler rating
1,838
625
138
41
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,838
625
138
41
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelclarins toiletriesel burladeroburladero restaurantspanish artistlighting systemconcierge stafflight switchespremium roomtapasbeautiful hotelhot tubroom doorturn down servicefive star hotelhotel restaurantbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 2,655 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked a package with flights through Expedia about four days before departure for a five night break. On the dates selected there was a 'sale' which reduced the price of the accommodation and therefore I must say I was very impressed with the value for money. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the city centre and its main attractions - we were able to walk out of the hotel and be at the Cathedral in 10 minutes and there are various shops, cafes, bars and restaurants all within a short walking distance. In addition, we took the scheduled bus service from the airport which stops at about seven different location on its way into the city; the service terminates at Plaza de Armes, which is again about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful and, whilst we are pretty resourceful ourselves, I am sure that if a visitor had any need for assistance with tours, travel or general enquiries they would receive first class service. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped - the bed one of the largest and most comfortable I've slept in. I would echo previous comments concerning the sophisticated lighting system in the room - it seems more complicated than it needs to be and on one occasion we needed someone to come and fix the bathroom lights when we couldn't switch them off, despite all our efforts. The general impression is of a well oiled machine, which is common of large chain hotel groups, however the two things don't always go hand in hand. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but I would have no hesitation at all in recommending the hotel or staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayes at Gran Melia Colon for three nights in September. Our room was spacious, modern, very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well supplied and the shower had a strong water flow. The hotel was close to most of the sights in Seville and we were able to walk everywhere. The biggest plus for Melia Colon was the outstanding service and the only problem was the weak internet. I had to go into the hallways to send e-mails and internet-voice services were out of the question. For a hotel of this quality, the internet is a real problem and if you have to do some work you may want to consider another hotel. We are not big breakfast eaters and didn't take the hotel breakfast which was offered at the price of one for two people, there are plenty of coffee shops and a Starbucks close by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dav00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a 5* rated hotel that is ideally located in the centre of Seville within walking distance of all tourist spots. We stayed there for a week in early September. On entering the hotel, one is impressed by the large number of staff in the hotel so that assistance is never far away. Our room was very spacious and attractive and the bed one of the most comfortable we ever slept on. The room opened on a dark and dim courtyard which meant that we had no natural light throughout the day; presumably this is a price one has to pay in order to stay in the old part of Seville. The TV had a wide choice of channels in many languages so one could be kept abreast with the news. The room boasted coffee facilities, which for me is a huge plus! The lights are fully computerised and one has to read instructions in order to switch the lights on and off. The bathroom is very modern and comfortable and quality toiletries are available. However, there was great reluctance to replace/replenish used items; surely a shoe-shine pad and a sachet of instant coffee cannot cost all that much. The breakfast offered a wide choice of cold and hot dishes and drinks, and the staff was highly professional. Although the public spaces were very clean, our room was not hoovered daily and this is something the hotel has to address. The Reception staff and the concierge were very helpful, efficient, knowledgeable and courteous. Despite some minor niggling things, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel; I certainly would be delighted at the opportunity of staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was awesome! Most European hotels are fairly small but this one is huge. Two queen beds. Quality amenities and room. The staff is incredibly helpful and gracious. And it ended up being the cheapest hotel we stayed at in Spain even though it is right in the heart of everything. Can't imagine a better hotel, value and location.

For some reason the light switches are incredibly confusing but oh well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's obvious that the staff work hard to provide superior customer service.
On arrival the concierge guided us through the last few narrow streets (the Sat Nav doesn't seem to take into account the size of the car compared with the streets' widths), check-in was efficient, with a glass of champagne to calm our nerves and the staff had some great recommendations for restaurants.
The hotel is in a great location. My main criticism is that the parking charges are excessive.
One other point to note is that every light switch in the room is illuminated so if you like to sleep in a dark room I would suggest taking an eye mask. There were 17 blue and red lights around our bedroom at night making us feel like we were sleeping on a runway!
I'll be staying here again on the next visit to Seville.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews