We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Hotel minutes from everything”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #4 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific Hotel minutes from everything”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I decided on this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. They were spot on. From the moment of check in, when we were provided complimentary champagne, to the check out, everything was flawless. Anything you needed was brought to you within minutes. The hotel lobby is a little per-fumy, but that is better than the alternative. Concierge was great, 3 minutes from the bullring, 7 minutes to the cathedral. Walking distances. Breakfast was expensive, but worth it. Bed was super comfortable, and spacious. I would definitely stay here again on my own. Very romantic for couples as well. My only real complaint was the Burladero restaurant. Bills itself as a Michelin star restaurant, and my dining experience was good, but not great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Nicolas M
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for our comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you at The Gran Meliá Colon

Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    552
    123
    34
    10
See reviews for
411
1,315
61
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

They did a great job renovating this place into an elegant, artistic, and chic hotel. Amenities have all been updated. Our room is ample sized with a nice street view. The bed is VERY comfortable. The rain shower and frameless shower screen add both character and functionality. We especially enjoyed the roof-top jacuzzi with a panoramic review of the city. Although we were forewarned that the wi-fi signal from our 3rd-floor room would be weak, we never had an problem with the connection. Front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Our 4-day stay there allowed us to explore this charming town on foot thanks to its close proximity to everything--tapas bars, the cathedral, alcazar, santa cruz, and the bullring. The only minor hiccup is that I wish the gym could be a bit bigger (they only have a treadmill, a stair master, and a bike machine plus SMALL free weights)...but hey, who comes to the scenic Andalusia just to be a gym rat anyway?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risingsun212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Risingsun212 ,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colon and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future
Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. A very charming gentleman checked us in, and whilst we sipped our complimentary cava, he went through the hotel facilities.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded and our room was fantastic. Light, airy and ultra modern. Great bathroom with double sinks and mirrors.

I have a bad back and found the beds a touch to hard. When I spoke to the very same gentleman at reception, he was very helpful and arranged for a topper to be placed on the mattress.

Location is great, we love Seville and go regularly we usually stay closer to the Santa Cruz area but actually found we prefer this end of the city. It's not as touristy.


Breakfast is a delight, fresh orange juice with a varied buffet alongside a breakfast menu you can order from. I am allergic to wheat and when I told the waitress she provided me with baguettes and a variety of cakes. This rarely happens so I was chuffed. The waitress also arranged for the chef to cook me a wheat free crepe - delicious with their orange sauce.

Lots of great tapas restaurants all within a couple of minutes.

No pool so not for us in the summer but apart from that fantastic!

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFlowerStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mr. JFlowerStAlbans

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Melia Colon. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Colon.

Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our room was spacious and clean, with a large comfortable bed. The unusual, modern décor included a variety of lighting options. When you entered the room, a curtain automatically opened, revealing the glass shower in the bathroom. Amenities included a safe, coffee/expresso-making facility, double sinks, robes/slippers, and toiletries. Free wifi is included, but it was unreliable in our room. A good connection can be found in the lobby. The attentive staff welcomed us, carried our luggage, and parked the car (a 34 Euro fee for 24 hours, but note that you can find a local car park for 18 Euro). We did not eat breakfast in the hotel because numerous cafes dot the old city. The location was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liseuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for our comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you at The Gran Meliá Colon

Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent service from the start to the end. Check-in was very professional and with champagne. The room was great and stylish and with all equipment required. Cleanness was great and we always received nice goodies like a sherry or chocolate etc.

The location of the hotel is perfect, you can reach all spots and the the shopping area within minutes.

Sleeping quality was excellent. They have very good beds and a good noice protection. The fitness area is a bit small. However, since I was alone it wasn't really a problem. The equipment is in very good condition.

The hotel is very stylish, especially from outside and the lobby.

We can really recommend this place for your stay in Sevilla.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colon and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We hope to have you back soon enjoying the Gran Melia Colon, your home in Sevilla.

Best Regards,

Celia Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and very pleasant staff. Very helpful in provide great restaurant suggestions! Well located, can walk anywhere in the center town. Rooms with window onto the backyard are very quiet, but not much sunlight. The only negative was the shower that was leaking on the floor of the bathroom, which made it a mess.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Ja C

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Colon, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Sevilla, as well as for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Colon.

Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a real find! I originally was attracted because of the name - and also because it wasn't 'rustic' or 'traditional'. It was a superb choice, the staff were so friendly and charming, the service was faultless. The gin and tonic in the bar is a MUST - never have I had such an amazing drink - it's not just a gin and tonic, the barman is a master. The room was large and the lighting was lots of fun. The jacuzzi on the top floor was an incredible and memorable feature. So glad we booked this. The only complaint, was that the scent in the foyer was a bit overpowering...a bit like plugged in ambi-pur . Can't wait for our next return.

Room Tip: I reckon all the rooms are well thought out and planned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_bramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVILLACOLON, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Colon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mrs_bramble

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Colon and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Colon.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future
Best Regards,

Celia Martín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 176 in Seville
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
2,021 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Melia Sevilla
#27 of 176 in Seville
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Property: Gran Melia Colon
Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing