We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Seville”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here with a friend as part of a two week visit to Andalusia, for three nights. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful an d friendly. The. Room was a good size for Europe where rooms can be extremely small. It was beautifully decorated, and had a lovely view onto a church next door. The hotel is located within a five minute walk of the tram system.. We actually were able to easily reach the hotel for the airport via public transit. It's also close to the old quarter of Seville, with easy access to tourist sites, great restaurants, shopping and entertainment. If you're interested in Flamenco, visit the museo del baile flamenco for a great show. We also ate in the El Burladero restaurant in the hotel, which had lovely modern decor and an interesting and delicious selection of tapas for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 2,561 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in September 2012. The location was excellent, right in the heart of the old town. You could walk to most everything, restaurants, the cathedral and the Real Alcazar were all within walking distance. We stayed in a Romance Room with a King Bed. It was a large room with an amazing bathroom and this huge, round, deep tub with a shower. The lighting system was complicated but manageable. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable. The first night we received a small bottle of Cava and strawberries dipped in chocolate. Nice touch that I believe was offered because we were in the Romance Room. The rooftop deck was lovely with very nice sunbeds and a cold jacuzzi which was very welcome with the hot hot weather. The staff were helpful and helped us reserve tickets to see a Flamenco show while staying there. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights (Valentines day break) in February based on Tripadvisor reviews. It was very expensive and definitely not worth the price. The lighting system in the bedroom is really complicated and the internet only worked poorly. The bed was not very comfortable, especially as i got a cut on my leg from an exposed spring. The breakfast was good but the food in the adjoining restaurant (which was recommended by the conciege) was very disappointing and expensive. The lobby looked really plush but the smell of lilies was very overpowering and sickening.

Room Tip: Check the bed doesn't have broken springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maimurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Top level hotel, in Sevilla. Great experience meeting there with our executive comittee for three days. Rooms are very nice, situation excellent and you feel the luxury everywhere. Some little details are killing though. We had an expresso machine for our break cessions. But no coffee beans in it ! The time we got that fixed ... we had to all go with tea on that morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

1st business trip to Spain, and hotel was booked for us. Easy, centralized location makes walking all over Seville a breeze. Very friendly staff, and the most ameneties I've ever seen in a hotel room. Modern decor, super-firm bed, mini-bar, plasma tv with several english-speaking channels. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BizDevRoadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Comfortable hotel with great access to the city centre. Car parking is expensive, but when only for a couple of nits it's not such an issue. Obviously the hotel has a good reputation in the city as we met some locals who asked where we were staying, and when we said the Colon their eyebrows raised in an "impressed" kind of a way. Breakfast is expensive, but join the hotel's club and it cuts to 1/2 price - alternatively, go out for breakfast and soak up the atmosphere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights here while traveling through Andalusia. The rooms are clean with standard amenities and are generous in size for a city hotel. The A/C worked well which was not the case in another Andalusian hotel we visited. The service and food were average. We had tapas in their restaurant - nothing notable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 178 in Seville
4,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
Mercer Hotel Sevilla
#1 of 178 in Seville
146 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 178 in Seville
2,272 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $234 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing