We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Seville”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

An elegant and comfortable hotel with excellent location to old town Seville - i.e. walking distance to the Cathedral, the Alcazar and the barrio of Santa Cruz. The staff are attentive, polite and extremely helpful. We arrived very late at night in Seville and got lost in the maze of unmarked streets. The desk staff were unfailingly helpful with my numerous calls and finally sent the concierge out into the street to guide us safetly to the hotel. Definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting this city.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,387)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Colon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,387 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family and I stayed here while on vacation. The location was within easy walking distance of the old city, the hotel and room were very nice, the staff were friendly and attentive, and we loved sitting outdoors at the tapas restaurant (Burladero), enjoying good food and wine.
Our room was on the sixth floor, and each of the rooms had a distinctive classic painting on the door. Even if you forgot your room number, you could always find your way back!
The breakfast buffet was exceptional, featuring some Andalusian specialities along with the more standard (but very well-prepared) fare. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john_from_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Truly a very beautiful hotel in a great location, with very friendly staff overall; Room and bathroom are very spacious and very well appointed; For myself i usually prefer very simple room set up in regard to power switches and Aircon control; In this instance I find that the Interior designer went overboard as one almost need a technical map to find out what switches what...Other than that I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on a trip to Spain and were very pleased. The hotel is clean and modern with fairly spacious rooms and large bathrooms. The concierge helped me arrange day trip for us to Granada. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from most of the sights, though Seville streets are a maze so we got lost many times on our first day. Be careful in the shower as it is partially open and elevated so it is slippery, and when we arrived the removable shower head was set to turn on and was facing out, so we sprayed the entire bathroom with cold water. We were also surprised that the hotel is situated on a small intersection, not a large square as the hotel photos suggest, but it is still a lovely hotel. Good Wifi signal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel with exceptionally good staff. Good location for walking around Seville. We booked a panoramic room and we were very pleased with the wonderful views across the Seville skyline.
One warning. Be very careful getting in and out of the bath/shower. Very awkward and dangerous when slippery and wet

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you a great view. Be careful not to have a room next to the service staff room. Th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogwart31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have tried three different hotels in Sevilla from middle range ( Casa Romana ) to top level ( Alfonso XIII). This hotel offers the best value for money. It's ideally located, perfectly refurbished with a touch of elegance and design. 210 euros for a night, given the quality of services and rooms is really a good deal. The breakfeat is excellent and even too rich ! People are efficient and nice. I can warmly recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yves143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The good: in the center of the action. Good service, attractive lobby and surroundings.
The bad: $34 per day parking. Challenging electronics in the room - 3 days and still couldn't understand the lighting. Small rooms. Square toilets (for round bottoms). Only available was a buffet far 20€.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bioya92211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,389 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,120 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#46 of 177 in Seville
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $245 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing