We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but don't bother booking "red level service" rooms”
Review of Gran Melia Colon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gran Melia Colon
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I opted for a "Red Level Service" room, a big disappointment. Definitely not worth the extra money—no additional services were provided to us, other than the welcome cocktail, and the lounge was lacking in most respects.

However, the rooms are contemporary, and have good bathrooms. Lobby is awesome. Although expensive, the breakfast buffet is terrific as long as there's not a big group in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,385)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Colon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked a "red level" room, and they upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite. And it's a good thing, because the room was still quite small. All tricked out with glass wall between shower and bedroom, complete with electric curtain if privacy is desired. A bit much for me, but some people like this. Groovy lighting. View of old cathedral. The staff was terrific. Shower was in the tub.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

The hotel has potential to be one of the very best we have stayed in on our business travel. It's location is ideal for the city discovery and it was close to our business clients. The one main annoyance was the lack of WIFI cover in the rooms which was vital to our stay. The RED LEVEL staff (Maria ) was excellent and very accommodation and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The city is beautiful and we reccomend you get off the main streets and really explore the back streets for the best in real Spanish tapas and Sevillian hospitality,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDORRA-GEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Best hotel i have ever stayed in ... large rooms, very helpful staff and great location. This hotel has been refurbished since i last stayed here in 2005 .. worth paying the money for.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This is a very good hotel situated in the centre of Seville a few minutes walk from the main tourist area. It has a good balance of comfort and character, and the Panoramica room we were in had a great view of the cathedral. The hotel was clean, and the staff were warm and helpful. The beds were comfortable, but if an improvement could be made it would be to the bathroom where the taps and shower are a little bit too designed with form in mind rather than function (lots of water splashing over the sides). However, we would stay here again without any hesitation.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

If you are planning to stay at this hotel and are of average or below average height, or if you are thinking of paying extra for this hotel’s Premium/Club services, then there are certain important things you need to know!

Last week my wife and I stayed here. We had booked a “Premium Red Level Room”. The Red Level claims to include premium/club services such as personalised check-in, daily newspapers in one’s room, personal butler service and access to the Red Level lounge offering “free” drinks and snacks. On the second day of our stay I had to complain to General Manager and his staff that there was no bottled drinking water, milk for coffee or newspapers in our room, the computers in the Red Level lounge were not working and the promised drinks and snacks were not available. Of greater concern was the shower in the bathroom.

Despite this being a so-called Premium Room in a “5 star hotel”, the room was relatively small and the shower was over the bath. The bath had high sides topped with a wide marble-like capping. To step into the bath, because the sides were so high and wide, there was a narrow marble-topped step provided; hardly safe in a wet and soapy bathroom environment. Even with this step, anyone who could be described as average or below average in height would find it difficult to climb into the bath/shower. The charming General Manager accepted this, apologised for the poor Premium Level service, and promised that the rest of our stay would be “perfect” and upgraded us to a suite with a separate shower.

Sadly, the service continued to be poor – our room continued to be badly stocked and so was the Red Lounge. Watching the British Royal Wedding in the Red Lounge we mentioned to staff that it would be very appropriate to enjoy a glass of Cava (one of the Red Lounge advertised available drinks) to celebrate the wedding – there was none in the fridge. None was delivered. Only twice in 8 days did I see Cava in the fridge. I never saw the advertised snacks.

On Sunday morning our English newspaper wasn’t delivered to our room. I spoke to the manager on duty who claimed it was not possible to get an English newspaper in Seville on a Sunday! I later returned to the hotel having bought two, English, Sunday newspapers.

I checked-out declining to pay the €50 per day extra for the so-called Premium Level service. However, the bill still included €43 for bottled drinking water in our room – the first time I think I have ever been charged for bottled drinking water in a 5 star hotel, certainly not in a Premium/Club room. The GM has promised to refund this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate shower.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham-from-N-Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I liked it, bath tub / shower was a little weird, as is getting there in a cab but it's nice

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriefBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 177 in Seville
4,375 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 177 in Seville
2,117 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
EME Catedral Hotel
EME Catedral Hotel
#45 of 177 in Seville
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Colon

Address: Canalejas, 1, 41001 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seville
#4 Family Hotel in Seville
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seville
#12 Business Hotel in Seville
Price Range: $247 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Colon 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gran Melia Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Colon Hotel Seville
Sol Melia Seville
Sol Melia Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing