We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delightful little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“delightful little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Once we found this hotel we couldn't have been happier. However, I must warn all future travellers, Seville is ghastly to navigate. It took us quite a long time (and we are seasoned drivers and navigators) with the combination of one way streets and construction to find our hotel, but we managed by asking lots of people and evenutally found a tourist office which directed us (on foot) since we had finally found a parking space. Once there of course, it seemed extremely simple and we parked the car in a nearby underground parking space for the duration of our stay in Seville.

That said, the hotel itself is a delight. We opted for one of the Jacuzzi rooms since we wanted twin beds. It was a beautifully appointed room, spacious and opened out on to a "private" deck. I put it in inverted commas since it isn't really all that private since the guests can come up to the roof (which is where you essentially are) for drinks and cigarettes. It was too cold for us to use the jacuzzi anyway, but I wouldn't have been too thrilled to be in it while some other couple were a few feet away enjoying their cocktails. Since we didn't use it no problem. The staff were kindness itself and all of them spoke excellent English. They were very helpful with various problems that we had, and had wonderful large umbrellas at the ready when it poured one day.

They have a complimentary "afternoon tea" which is varied and plentiful. We had the breakfast which was also excellent -- hot and cold food with lots of fruit, cheese and yoghurt. Also a cute little "do it yourself" coffee maker which included decaffeinated coffee - something I found a little difficult in terms of quality, in Spain.

The location is excellent. I listed it low because of the difficulty finding it, but as I said earlier, it is a great location once you are there. Steps away from the Cathedral, the Alcazar and the Giralda (which we could see from our room) and the main shopping area. We loved it here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank printsmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    375
    88
    23
    16
See reviews for
297
1,311
49
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We were 100% pleased with Casa 1800. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Smaller, intimate, cosy, understated elegence. Rooms are very atmospheric and nicely done. Wonderful location 2 mins away from the Cathedral, and with simply stunning views from the roof garden of the hotel. We had a room that actually has a private hot tub on the roof, so could see the cathedral and Giralda from the bath. What a treat!

The staff and service were super friendly and helpful (some staff were amazing, some were simply good).

Though its not a hotel set up for small kids, we didn't have any problem having our 3 year old with us.

Would DEFINITELY recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Best hotel we stayed in while in Spain. The location is great once you find it. We took the bus from the airport and then hired a taxi, but it is close to the drop off spot so we walked to the bus once we were ready to leave Seville. Irene, at the desk, was extremely helpful. Don't miss the show at the museum of flamenco (skip the actual museum)- the performance (singer, guitarist, dancers were highly trained professionals) was spectacular, atmosphere was intimate and reasonably priced. Irene also recommended great restaurants. Plus the rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds. We enjoyed the cathedral, alcazar and the museum of bullfighting.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

If you are fortunate enough to obtain a room at this hotel you will experience one of the finest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in. We travel a great deal, and this house- now hotel is wonderful . The rooms are beautiful, the location near the cathedral is ideal, and the staff couldn't be more accomodating. Special mention to Olga, who could not do enough for us. She lived Kansas City for several years and speaks and understands english. If you want to make Seville even better, request a private tour with Marta Casals (marta@toursevilla.com) she is lovely and is a historian. This a really a 5star hotel. The rooftop deck overlooks the illuminated cathedral and is breathtaking. Book early because they are almost always full. Thanks again Olga. Bruce and Betsy Axelrod

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxelrodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Casa 1800 is a lovely hotel with a fabulous staff. The location is perfect -- just steps from the magnificent Cathedral and many lively tapas bars and restaurants. I really enjoyed wandering through the adjacent Santa Cruz neighborhood and the old Jewish quarter, but kept having difficult finding my way back to the hotel because of the maze-like arrangement of the picturesque streets. Once one of the hotel staff suggested that I head to the Cathedral and use an adjacent fountain as a reference point it was much easier to find my way "home". The staff were equally helpful with other matters as well -- train schedules and rates, the metro/subway and buses, arranging for an early-morning taxi to the airport, providing a tape measure to ensure that baggage would fit size requirements, offering extra (complimentary) bottled water, making restaurant suggestions. They were unfailingly friendly, cheerful and helpful despite the hour (I arrived past midnight, and left before dawn -- thankfully, five days later), fluent in English but tolerant of my occasional Spanish attempts, and highly professional. The hotel itself is warmly elegant and comfortable. We had a standard room without an exterior window. The sole window faced the interior of the hotel, making it impossible to open the draperies without sacrificing privacy. This was odd in the late afternoon when, after a long day of exploring, it felt like it must be dark outside, but upon venturing out of the room we discovered that it was still light. However the room was furnished in subtle high-end finishes that provided a luxurious experience despite the lack of exterior view. I would love to stay at the Hotel Casa 1800 again some day should I again have the opportunity to visit beautiful Seville.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaisynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here last week for 5 nights and wished we could have stayed longer! My husband and I have traveled many places in Europe and this is one of our favorite places we've stayed.

For one, you cannot beat the location. It is ideally located in the Santa Cruz neighborhood by the cathedral and by many outstanding restaurants and sightseeing locations. The Santa Cruz area is so charming and and really beautiful. Our room had a small balcony and you could see the tower to the cathedral. This cathedral is amazing and looks so beautiful at night.

The room was immaculate and very well appointed. It was small but very well laid out and had everything we needed. The room, as well as the rest of the hotel, was beautifully and tastefully decorated. We liked that it was newly built but still kept some older charm. The bed was a little hard for my taste but that is pretty typical for Europe. I was just so glad to have a beautiful, clean place to lay my head down at night that I didn't have a hard time falling to sleep.

I CANNOT say enough about the wonderful staff. They were so friendly and went out of their way to help us in any way they could. They all spoke English very well which wis helpful for this gringa. Irene was a doll and the other lady and man (sorry I can't remember their names) were wonderful as well. They gave us great restaurant recommendations as well as what tapas to order when we got there. I have to say they were some of the nicest and most helpful hotel staff we've ever encountered.

They have a wonderful tea time in the afternoon that is complimentary. They have snacks, fruit, coffee, tea and some sandwiches. It was a perfect break in the afternoon for us to rest a bit before heading off again to explore the city. The breakfast was good too but we only took advantage of it one morning. It was 11 euros per person and we're not heavy eaters and opted for some bread and ham and a coffee at one of the surrounding cafes.

We took a taxi from the airport and it cost around 26 euros. It was worth it because it brought us right to the hotel. You can take a bus but the hotel recommended the taxi because they said we would still need to take a taxi once the bus dropped us off in town.

We did a Flamenco show that was outstanding. It was right around the corner from the hotel and had "museo" I think in the name. I'm sure if you ask the hotel they can give you the name.

We took a side trip to Jerez to taste sherry and at the end of the day we wished we would have stayed in Seville. The old town of Jerez is wonderful but we got off the train in Jerez and had to walk a ways to get to the old town. The streets are not well marked in Jerez and so it's not easy to get around. We spent a lot of time trying to navigate our way around, looking at the sun to see which direction we were headed, seriously. We did take a tour of the Tio Pepe winery and it was interesting but very long. In the end, we found out we did not like sherry, sorry Tio Pepe.

We were going to stay at the Alfonso hotel but glad we didn't. We walked through it and it was stuffy and lacked the friendliness and personal service that the Hotel Casa 1800 offers. You can't go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxKjngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We loved this hotel. We had a deluxe room with its own rooftop spa bath overlooking the cathedral, and our daughters had a superior room on the floor below, which joined ours via a staircase. It was all beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Service attentive but unobtrusive. Breakfast was good (11 euro pp) and there's free afternoon tea from 4.30-6.30, which is handy to fill you up before a late meal at 10pm. There are loads of restaurants within a few yards. We enjoyed a good Italian at L'oca Giuliva, cheap tapas Dona Lina just round the corner. Not so good italian at San Marco and don't bother with Corral Del Agua which was overpriced and not great food. The cathedral and the Alcazar are about 100 yards away and, as Seville is small, everything is in walking distance, and most of the city centre is traffic free. Would ove to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurascudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#9 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Address: Rodrigo Caro 6, 41004 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Casa 1800 Seville is a boutique hotel based in a stunning building with a traditional courtyard that has retained all its charm and character while adding modern luxuries to make it a great property ideal for a city break in Seville. In a superb location, the charming hotel is situated in the heart of the old town within walking distance of the main places of interest in the Santa Cruz neighborhood. All 33 bedrooms are different in size and features and have their own style, since the old structure of the house has been maintained. All of the rooms have been fully equipped to ensure that you have a great stay, with individual furniture pieces and unique touches such as the original wooden windows and ceilings from the house. Casa 1800 offers breakfast to all guests each morning in the central courtyard of the house. Guests are also invited to enjoy afternoon tea as a courtesy of the house, a great way to bridge the gap between lunch and dinner and relax for a while after a few hours exploring the city. If you would like to enjoy the views of the Cathedral and the Giralda tower overlooking the rooftops of Seville, don't forget the rooftop seats where the pool and solariums are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing