We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very comfortable rooms in gorgeous former palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #6 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“very comfortable rooms in gorgeous former palace”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

WE stayed three nights here, had two adjacent rooms which we found very comfortable. The palace itself is exquisite, with both an internal and external courtyard. The rooms are quite modern, comfortable with very nice bathrooms (huge walk in shower) and adequate storage space. One niggle is that the lights were a bit dim--seems to be typical in Spanish hotels.
The young staff was very accommodating and helpful in reserving restaurants for us beforehand. Breakfast was fine--nothing special. We had a dinner meal there which we found fine but not special. I did enjoy a terrific massage in the small spa.
The hotel is a bit away from center but certainly walkable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    323
    72
    22
    9
See reviews for
197
1,045
38
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our visit to Seville was most memorable especially our stay at AlmaSeville. The entire staff was so polite and caring. They were always smiling and happy to assist with any of our enquiries.
The rooms are stunning but make sure you have a room with windows. (We changed from Room 317 to 321.) The bathroom is fabulous and spacious and we loved the shower. Perhaps more toiletries could be offered.
We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.
As breakfast is E20 per person, we only had breakfast once during our 3 day stay. The breakfast buffet is excellent but perhaps could be included with the room price.
We had 50 minute sport massages which were fabulous and very reasonably priced.
The hotel's position is slightly out of the centre but we were happy to "get lost" in the labyrinth of cobblestoned streets. We often used our mobile phone's GPS as the maps are incorrect. Visit the Information Centres for correct ones.
Big thank you to Marylou and Alvaro and your team for making our hotel stay feel like we were "at home".

Room Tip: Choose rooms with windows! (321 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel Palacio is a gorgeous property. Historic, charming, welcoming with its open-air interior courtyard and very very friendly, attentive staff. The Staff, from the front desk (especially Alvaro) to the restaurant servers, are exceptional. All speak perfect English as well. Just top-notch service.

We booked a large suite, so can only comment on these larger rooms - had 2 during the stay. They are spacious with amazing interior architectural detail and furnishing. Large Apple computer with wireless. Beautiful lighting, rich fabrics, heavy wood detailing. Nice balconies. And the bathrooms, wow. Larger tubs, separate water fall showers with massage sprays. Lush, large towels. Our second suite had three rooms with an interior courtyard.

Just a perfect property for immersing yourself into the culture of Seville.

And great meals in the restaurant - from breakfast to dinner.

My only caution about this property is its location. It's on the perimeter of the historic district. It's a brisk walk to anything of note, winding through cute, narrow residential neighborhoods. We liked the location, but be prepared to so a lot of walking. Or take taxis.

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Seville is a wonderful place with lots of different areas with their unique qualities to discover. AlmaSevilla is located at the centre of it all, tucked away on a quiet back street in an old palace. The staff is super professional, all areas of the hotel well maintained and kept impeccably clean. Once you step foot inside this hotel you can leave your cares and your car outside. The hotel has a valet service at a reasonable daily price. Breakfast is excellent with high quality local products made from scratch. The breakfast includes a unlimited order of hot side dish selections like omelet, fried eggs and pancakes. The rooms are modern botique style rooms with everything you would expect from a spanish hotel of this high standard. The rooms reflect the overall style of the hotel and so does all other areas of the hotel apart from the breakfast room which is a bit lighter and stricter than the rest of the hotel. There are a lot of public area spots both inside and outside which add to the unique feel. There are some minor things to be noted. The spa, while being perfectly clean and welcoming, is limited in it's selection. You have a few different types of saunas, but no pool of any sort. There is an exercise room next to the spa with limited space and equipment. All in all we had an excellent time staying at the AlmaSeville and would recommend it to anyone looking for a high end botique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johansoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed three memorable nights during our honeymoon in December 2013 at this wonderfully romantic and historic property on a quiet street in the heart of the city. The staff was so solicitous and attentive, they surprised us a nice bottle of champagne with chocolate and strawberries at our arrival, made several excellent dinner reservations for us (nearby Becerrito is a little gem), and lined up a spa day at the excellent Aire de Sevilla (recommended). The hotel room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully appointed, hidden in the back off a nice garden area and oh so quiet and private.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here with my wife this year. Extremely beautiful property with modern touches but still a classy look. Great location in Seville. Staff is professional, very friendly, and capable, especially Maria, one of the managers. Would stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and a lot of what has been said is right - attentive service, great rooms, fabulous building, nice lounges, we truly loved the breakfast in its variety and quality, wifi, all very good.
We felt we missed out a bit as we were there in "off-season" - we could not access the roof terrace despite having fabulous 25 degree days (closed as it was off season unless you sign a disclaimer and then there is nothing to sit on ... nothing to drink etc. - in the end not worth it). The spa was there, yes, but one had to heat up things oneself, not even a water jug or a tea in sight... not very relaxing... so over all a recommendable place but consider when you go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Las Casas de la Juderia
#30 of 176 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Corral del Rey
#2 of 176 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Property: Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 176 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing