We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GORGEOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Absolutely beautiful hotel in old part of Seville. Very pleasant staff who could not do enough for us. Bedroom (deluxe) was very modern with amazing shower. Our friends came with and their room smelt of smoke but the staff offered to move them immediatley.
If driving take sat nav. It took us there in the end! Hotel parks your car for you so no problems there.
Fabulous breakfast for 20 euros with everything on.
Would definitely recommend and cannot wait to try another Alma hotel.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almahotels, Gerente at Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Mr. TheoManchester,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at AlmaSevilla. We are very happy to know that our product and service quality standards have met with our requirements and your expectations.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at AlmaSevilla or at any of the AlmaHotels. If you wish so I will be most happy to help you personally.
Kindest regards,

Martina Cam
General Manager AlmaSevilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    331
    73
    22
    9
See reviews for
207
1,082
40
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights only and Sevilla is a beautiful city and so is this hotel. It's located on the old town, close to bars and to the touristic attractions. Don't miss the Alcazar gardens.We stayed at a deluxe room, that was perfect. Breakfast was great. Loved the experience.

Room Tip: The deluxe room is great, big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brasil_FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Like lots of places in Seville, its a little tricky to find, but with the Sat Nav and patience we got there ok.

The good service started with them taking the car to park it, checking us in while we relaxed with a drink. Nothing was too much trouble. The courtyard is very impressive.

The rooms are clean well equipped but some are much lighter than others. 222 a grand deluxe was great.

Not sure the grande deluxe rooms were very different, based on the deluxe room we saw, not sure I would have paid the extra.

Drinks on the terrace were reasonably priced, the view from the roof was worth a visit, there are some loungers and a plunge pool up there if that's your thing.

Great location for our city break.

Room Tip: Rooms are all different shapes, some have baths , some are much lighter than others, if they aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night. We thought we made a mistake when the taxi took us down side streets and through "ok" parts of town. The outside is so so. But we got out and walked into the lobby, we knew we had not made a mistake. It's an old palace that is very nice inside with lots of marble. The pace is slow and relaxing. Theresa was quite helpful and accommodating.

The room was exceptionally nice with plenty of room for the two of us. We were on the top floor and had a semi private terrace. Basically, we got off the elevator, walked down a hallway and up 2 or stairs to what we thought was our room - it was the doorway to the terrace. Our room was across the terrace - up another couple of steps. I don't believe our room shared a wall with anyone else. The other room that shared our terrace was empty so all I can say is the room was incredibly quiet. My only complaint was that we were barely in the room as we were out sightseeing all day so we never used the terrace. The hotel was the most expensive of any that we stayed at on our trip to Madrid, Sevilla, Ronda, and Granada but it was the nicest.The only amenities we used were the spa in the basement which consists of a steam room, sauna, hot/cold massaging shower, and a foot massage where you walk over small stones while your feet get sprayed with cold then hot water.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Cathredal if you use the hotel's directions (it is less if you know where you are going or use your iphone). There is also some sort of bus service that runs past the hotel but we didn't bother as we like to walk and explore. There are several small neighborhoods and plazas on the way to the cathedral. The oldest tapas bar in Sevilla, El Rinconcillo, is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You also get your choice of newspaper in the morning including the Wall Street Journal.

I highly recommend this hotel if you want to treat yourself. It was the hardest place to wake up since we heard absolutely nothing!

Room Tip: Not sure it matters but we stayed on the top floor (#3) on the quietest side of the hotel. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDNative77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Almasevilla for 4 nights and we did not regret our choice. We had an executive room and got the luck to get a private terrace. The room was very large and confortable, clear, clean and equipped with a great shower! The bed was perfect.
the service was very friendly, helpful and professional. We also liked the location which is just few steps removed from the center, just enough to be totally quiet and still very close to the old city's points of interests. We also really liked the flamenco show we attended on the advice of the concierge.
I

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsonmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We love this hotel. Beautiful rooms( we saw 2 because they accommodated a special request after checking in). We were greeted by Theresa who was excellent in responding to our many questions and concerns, this being our first visit to Seville. First class service in every regard. A former palace, it has magnificent patios and other public areas. We will definitely return if we are in Seville again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an excellent elegant modern hotel with courteous and efficient staff. Free fast wi-fi, pleasant outside courtyards, a rooftop sun area with parasols and a plunge pool. The breakfasts are superb and our room was very spacious, comfortable, cool and quiet, so don't be put off by what follows, and we would stay here again.

The following comments apply not only to this hotel but to many hotels I have stayed in all over the world. Indeed this hotel is not the worst but here go my gripes:
Dark - black walls and "mood" lighting don't mix. My wife was reduced to sitting on the bathroom floor to apply her makeup.
Reading in bed was a challenge and the bedside tables were the size of a steering wheel of a modest car.
We had a dressing room with plenty of drawer and shelf space, but coat hangers appeared rationed. Many hotels have nowhere to unpack and the few drawers are usually filled with hotel "stuff".

Our enormous bathroom did not have user friendly towel rails or sufficient space for our toiletries by the twin wash-basins.

And why this passion everywhere for pudding bowl basins that cannot contain even the smallest ripple? The taps are discretely positioned to be as awkward as possible.
The separate toilet (all black) has a single light which is blocked when standing at the WC.
The separate shower works well but there is nowhere to place shampoo etc. except on the floor.

There was no desk in our room at which to work.

As removal of the room key kills all the power in the room it is a challenge to charge a laptop while you are out. (Ask at reception and they will give you a "light key")
No iron or ironing board. A common complaint in Spain. Is it a health and safety law that stop them being provided?

Room Tip: Most standard rooms face into a central courtyard which might be noisy if there was a party going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Alfonso XIII, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Seville
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#6 of 175 in Seville
2,344 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#4 of 175 in Seville
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Boutique Hotel Casa del Poeta
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#10 of 175 in Seville
4,283 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio de Villapanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio de Villapanes

Property: Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
Address: Santiago 31, 41003 Seville, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 175 Hotels in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio de Villapanes 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from the historic Barrio de Santa Cruz, next to the vital center of Seville city, raises the Hotel Palacio de Villapanes, a shining jewel with all its splendour preserving its barroque legacy, at the same time it will transport you to the Mudejar time, inviting you to become a part of history. Built in the XVIII century for Mr. Manuel Lopez Pintado, the first Torreblanca de Aljarafe Marquis, it has been excellently renovated, maintaining its architectonic richness. Turned into a Luxury Hotel, its classical elegant style combine perfectly with a distinguish ambience, where you will be able to let go your five senses, enhanced by the fusion amongst modern design and andalusian culture, to discover and experience the most authentic Seville. Once you cross the entrance , you discover the experience of a Palace life, breathing all the contrasts and getting lost in the privacy and exquisite delight of its magnificent mudejar patio where you will be able to enjoy a welcome drink and let time go by with the best company. Each and every corner of the hotel invites you to relax and romanticism, standing out the magnificent marble and stone arches and columns , also the splendid height of its ceilings, the carpet like parquetry floors or its enormous noble wooden doors, showing the beautiful past power combined with exquisite furniture pieces from international designers. You will get lost in a sea of sensations, with its minimal design, exclusive warm and cozy luxury suites equipped with the latest technology to satisfy the most demanding guests who are looking for the delight of small intimate and personalized spaces created to dream in its balconies which caress the light over the Giralda and la Catedral de Sevilla. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio de Villapanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing