We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves
Ranked #64 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Short stay, nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent 2 nights in one of Mayte's Apartments. Very easy to get around, several restaurants within 5 minutes of the apartment. Streets are very small and quite maze like. Getting lost is easy, and getting your bearings may take a day or two, so spent some time, wandering around. Used my Google maps that I had previously saved to help the taxi driver get us close to the apartment. Would recommend that upon first arrival everyone have real good directions.

Major tourist sites are a 10 to 15 minute walk. Spent a full day walking down to the Cathederal, Plaza Espana, Plaza de Torro and the Archeologial Museum. After that walking, decided to taxi it back to Plaza Encarnation which is an easy 5 minute walk to the apartment.

Mayte was wonderful. Met us upon arrival and helped get us situated. Between her English and our Spanish we were easily set up for our short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sackville, NB Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

La Casa del Conde de Gelves is a fantastic place. Over the last 3 years we have spent a combined 3 months with Mayte and her husband Tony who are great hosts with just the right amount of helpfulness and respect for privacy!

We have stayed in both Duplex C and Duplex A which both have their advantages. Mayte takes care of the day to day operations of the building. She is friendly, easygoing and always available (she even brings her Blackberry with her on trips to the beach with her family). When we left this year she came downstairs to wait with us for the taxi and see us off! A very kind gesture.

The internet service is a private wi-fi network with 2 routers in the building. Both of us work from home at times while in Seville and reliable internet is important. In 3 years we have not been dissapointed. The speed is fast and can be used to stream or download programs or news from home if your stay is a particularly long one.

The building is secure and the terraces for the duplexes are private and convenient, perfect for anything from sunbathing during the day to dinner parties or late night wine and romance.

The apartment building is in La Alameda, which is a Seville neighbourhood famous for its cultural scene as well as great places to eat and shop. Your everyday needs are taken care of by the nearby Calle Feria where you'll find a supermarket (Dia, which doesn't close for mid-afternoon) and a fresh food market (closes at mid-day). If you`re looking for more selection, about a 5 minute walk away (Plaza Duque) is one of Seville`s largest Corte Ingles department stores with a large supermarket in the basement. Also right around the corner is Plaza Encarnacion with the Metropol Parasol, but also the Encarnacion fresh food market (mid-day close). There are also several 'chinos' (small independent stores, usually open 12-18 hours a day and usually run by Asian families) where you can buy your supplies in off-hours.

If shopping is your thing, the apartment building is about a 5 minute walk from the start of Calle Sierpes and Calle Tetuan which are Seville's main shopping streets.

As for tourism options, as others have mentioned, the building is very well situated. But La Alameda and its surrounding area, despite being in the old city, has managed to escape becoming too 'touristy' and once you get your bearings in the neighbourhood you'll feel like any regular Sevillano, despite being very close to all of the sights.

Gastronomy is affordable and plentiful in and around the apartment. Keep in mind, however, that the neighbourhood is a bit 'trendy' and the gastronomy reflects it. Some of our favourite places include Viriato Gastrobar (have the burger), El Ambigu (unique and affordable tapas), El Gato Azul (a pizzeria in a quiet plaza run by a friendly family), El Roof (on top of Casa Romana Hotel) and the several bars and restaurants in La Alameda de Hercules which is the large plaza the neighbourhooid is named after and the heart of social life in the district.

Last but not least. "El Jueves". Every Thursday morning from 8 til around noon (for the last several hundred years in fact) there is a large outdoor flea market along Calle Feria. Make sure to go!

Room Tip: Duplex C (1 bedroom) has a large terrace and a nice large bathroom but little natural light on the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LaurenandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

3 day stay in a 2 bedroom apartment, very clean in a great location. 10 minute walk to the cathedral in a safe and vibrant area of a great city. Lovely building, apartment had all the facilities you could need, not to mention the great terrace for a glass of cava in the evening sunshine! Owners met us at the apartment, very professional, giving map and local information. Early check in at 11.30 was no hassle. Owners live in the same buliding so should you have any problems they are there to help. Thank you Mayte for a great stay! Free Wifi was a bonus!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had some fantastic days in Seville, in part thanks to the perfect apartment we rented and the incredible staff at Apartamentos La Casa Del Conde De Gelves.
We were a party of 4 arriving by car and, as a word of warning, the old part of Seville is a maze, you'd probably be better off finding a parking garage at the outskirts of town than driving all the way to the apartments. We finally gave up finding the apartments and called the apartments to get some help. Our lovely hostess quickly understood where we were (at a plaza just 50m from the apartments), she came to collect us and after instating us in our apartment helped us get to a parking garage. In total she probably spent 1 hour helping us. I cannot imagine any better service, huge thanks to Mayte!
The apartment was roomy for the 4 of us with 2 bedrooms and a toilet in addition to the bathroom. We even had a rooftop terrace, a lovely place to enjoy breakfast.
The apartments are located just outside the main shopping streets and attractions/sights. Use the characteristic Plaza de la Encamación to find your way to and from the apartments, as navigating in Seville can be a bit hard because points of reference are hard to spot in the narrow streets.

Room Tip: Request an apartment with a rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

A lovely apartment in the old town of Seville. We arrived late and Matye, the owner was there to welcome us. She gave us lots of local information on bars etc. We requested water, milk, bread, butter etc as we were arriving late and Mayte was happy to do this shopping for us. She also booked our taxi for our return to the airport. Apartment was spotless, very quite and well equipped, the only downside is that the bedroom and lounge look into an inner cout that makes it quite dark. We were able to walk to bars and shops within a few minutes. Although the streets are very narrow and a maze it's very safe, we were happy to be out late walking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Wow. This is a two floor unit with the kitchen and living room on the ground floor, a bathroom, bedroom and interior deck on the upper floor. I was staying there at the same time as the "one star" people who rated this place and just can't imagine how they happened to be from another planet because this place is GREAT. This is a GEM, it's a top class place to live so if you're looking for a hotel or a B&B, go elsewhere. If you want to live in Seville (Sevilla) like the locals do, but in a super nice place. And in a super great location. I will stay here again anytime. I stayed four nights and we'd stay two weeks there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

I originally booked the loft apartment but was offered a larger apartment for the same cost. This was a mistake taking this apartment as it was an internal apartment which basically means all windows are looking into the covered courtyard which means there isn't much natural light/air coming into the apartment and makes it quite dark & airless. The finish in the apartment is quite poor and initially looking at the apartment it seems clean but there are bits that need a proper clean (i.e. behind the bathroom door there was spider webs). The bed was fairly comfortable but having found 2 big cockroaches I have to admit I didn't sleep very well. I have stayed in Seville before & have never experienced cockroaches but I haven’t been in a ground floor apartment so maybe this is normal for ground floor accommodation. It wasn't a pleasure coming back to the apartment in between sightseeing as it wasn’t the most comfortable space to be in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fyoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Melia Sevilla
#29 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
Casona de San Andres Hotel
#122 of 179 in Seville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Gran Melia Colon
Gran Melia Colon
#4 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Casa del Pozo Santo
#17 of 160 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Conde de Torrejon 10
#14 of 160 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves

Property: Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves
Address: Calle Viejos no 5, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district of Seville, where past and present meet, next to the old 'Los Venerables Sacerdotes de San Bernardo' hospital in a narrow street of the San Marti­n neighbourhood popularly known as 'de los Viejos', this beautiful seigneurial house dates from the beginning of the XVII th century and it used to belong to the Count of Gelves. Refurbished in 2007, the building has five luxurious and completely equipped apartments and one studio all with air conditioner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apartamentos La Casa del Conde de Gelves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing