We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Virgen de la Luz
Ranked #3 of 70 Seville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

If you're looking for a nice, basic hostel in Sevilla this is it. I stayed for 4 nights and was very pleased. It is a great location very close to the city center. Gustavo was very helpful, accommodating, and spoke english and spanish. He provided tips, suggestions, maps, etc. and was really nice and let my friend come in to help me get settled.
The single room was a decent size with a large bed. They provided towels every day and made the bed! The 3rd floor bathroom looked brand new.
However, it is a budget hostel so don't expect luxury. The room was kind of damp and the walls paper thin…I suggest bringing earplugs for night. Overall, great hostel if you're looking for something cheap in Sevilla.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    131
    53
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
170
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Pension Virgin de la Luz is quite basic, but represents great value. We had a small room with a private ensuite with daily cleaning service for a fraction of the price of many other B&Bs we have stayed in. If it is luxury you are after, this is probably not for you, but for clean honest accommodation in a convenient location this is good. It is within walking distance from the station and to many restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed 5 nights at the pension Virgen de la Luz. Gustavo and Antonio are very kind, helpful and professional. The pension is extremely well situated in Séville, right in the center close to anything worth visiting in the city. It's also close to the train station Santa Justa which is very convenient. There are bars and shops on the street nearby. It is a nice pension with a typical patio and it is very very clean. The only thing which could be a problem is the noise done by some of the hosts. This happened to me on the first night, young people were very loud and I couldn't sleep. Gustavo and Antonio understood the situation very well and gave me another room and I could enjoy my stay. I really appreciated their professional reaction. I had a wonderful stay in Séville and I definitely recommend this pension.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms on the first floor, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mousepotato31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed in two different ensuite rooms and both were great. This hostel is in a perfect location just minutes walking distance from so many attractions. It is clean and they make the beds and give you new towels every single day. The shower was hot and strong and the wifi signal was perfect, even on the lovely rooftop patio. Everyone working there were so helpful and friendly and helped me out when I wanted to extend my stay. I always felt at home. The only negative I found was that the walls were quite thin making the rooms a bit noisy but just ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: The room on the bottom floor was nice and big, had lots of storage space, a desk, and a heater!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyVegasGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The pension is really a nice place with a typical fountain in the hall. The rooms are clean and the shower is good! There's a rooftop terrace with lounge beds. José from the reception is so Nice and friendly. He is very helpful! Just outside is a very good place to have breakfast, run by a sweet Italian lady.

The best part is that you're very close to the city and have most interesting sites within walking distance, Santa Cruz district with restaurants and bars is a 5 minute walk. Check out a Flamenco show in La Carbonería!

We will definitely go back here when visiting Sevilla!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The pension is in a quiet side street within walking distance of the best areas of town. The whole place is spotlessly clean and looks like it's been recently renovated in the local style. The room I had was very small, but at 20 Euros it was great value, with a decent size bathroom and wifi in the room.
The couple that run are friendly and obviously take pride in their place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amexpat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Casas de la Juderia
Las Casas de la Juderia
#33 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Villapanes
0.8 mi away
Melia Sevilla
Melia Sevilla
#28 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pension Nuevo Pino
Pension Nuevo Pino
#4 of 70 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Callejon del Agua
Callejon del Agua
#1 of 70 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Banda Rooftop Hostel Sevilla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Virgen de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Virgen de la Luz

Property: Pension Virgen de la Luz
Address: Calle Virgen de La Luz N 18, 41003 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Virgen de la Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing