We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but very uncomfortable sleep”
Review of Hostal Monet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Monet
Ranked #126 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Kiev
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location but very uncomfortable sleep”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Hostal Monet has very good location. Room is a little bit small, but in bathroom is enough space and it is good designed. But service leaves a lot to be desired. Staffs don’t speak much English, it is no air condition remote and it is no chance to switch it on, because staffs don’t speak English. In Sevillia is really hot and we have tried to open the window. But it stink from outside and very loud noise from one gadget forced us to close the window. It was no chance to sleep that night. Next morning we have left the Monet hostel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    25
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
5
49
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Fantastic location and staff fine and spoke acceptable English. Small rooms but not a problem and really excellent value. Only problem was the inability to turn off the air con without turning off all of the power to the room

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anklejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. The staff could not speak much English and were not very friendly. The rooms were tiny, we could hardly fit our suitcases through the door however the shower was suprisingly large. There was no remote for the air conditioning so the only way to turn it off was to turn off the power. When it was on it was extremly loud and when it was off the room was very hot. On the plus side the hotel is in a great location but don't try driving a car down there! Head towards the other side of town for better restaurants, the ones straight outside were tourist traps.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tania_1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seville hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

The room was smart with a black and white modern colour scheme and stylish shower (no bath). It was very clean and the staff were friendly, there was someone on the desk all night so there was no problem getting in late. This hostel was good value for money and definitely lived up to our expectations. It is on Plaza Nueva which is a walk away from the Cathedral and Alcazar, it is in a great location for sightseeing. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseasand2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2009

A lot of the previous reviews are reviewing Hostal Monet as a HOTEL, but it's not a hotel, it's a hostal, and a great one! We stayed when there weren't really any reviews, so it was a lucky gamble. We were impressed to find it clean, with great air conditioning (it was incredibly hot outside, we wouldn't have survived without this!), and the receptionists nice and helpful. The best part about it is the value for the money...when we stayed it was cheaper per person, per night, than staying at one of the cheap hostels where they pack 12 beds in a room. The location is great -- lots of shops and restaurants around, and the big cathedral is a short walk. We ended up staying 2 extra days, and will stay there again when we're in Seville next!

  • Liked — Location, Great value for what we paid
  • Disliked — The elevator was pretty slow
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhydWeGoThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

This is a hostal, not a hostel, which means it's more like a hotel than a hostel. It's new, clean, in a great location. Had TV, air con. Cost only 3 euros/person/night than a hostel. Private bath - really nice shower with great water pressure/hot water. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — No communal areas
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2008

To be honest, we were extremely glad to find the Hotel Monet having been ignaminously let down by our previous choice. The hotel is fine, but that´s all I can really say about it. It is pretty featureless, but I suppose good value for money. The strangest thing about was the rather erratic nature of the fittings; the lift took a good 5 minutes to crawl down or up 4 floors, water from the shower and tap come in spurts, and the air con makes strange, windswept sounds throughout the night. Furthermore, a few basic service options seemed to be lacking: my partner, going to reception to ask if they could book us a restaurant, was met by a man who could not speak a word of English and a curt refusal - utterly baffleling seeing as this was a hotel and he had a phone right next to him. As well as this, on the day we left our enquiry as to whether we could leave our luggage behind reception for the day (surely standard practice in any hotel?) was met also with refusal. The toilet used to store luggage was ´full´. Not wishing to lug heavy bags around Seville before our 4 oclock coach we were took matters into our own hands, shifting heavy luggage around until we had made room for us. In short, not really how we wished to spend our last morning in Seville!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank thatdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Las Casas De Los Mercaderes
Hotel Europa
#101 of 176 in Seville
275 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#35 of 176 in Seville
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Apartamentos Calle Rosario
Apartamentos Calle Rosario
#86 of 154 in Seville
14 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Black Swan Hostel Sevilla
Black Swan Hostel Sevilla
#9 of 154 in Seville
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Monet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Monet

Property: Hostal Monet
Address: C/ Albareda 15, Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Monet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing