We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Accommodation in Seville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Puerta Catedral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral
Ranked #13 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Accommodation in Seville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

In July, we spent a very special weekend at the Puerta Catedral apartments. We stayed in the two floor apartment with the rooftop, on Calle Alemanes. The location of the apartment could not be better, with a terrace and a rooftop giving you unique and wonderful views of the cathedral. It seems like you are actually staying in the very cathedral, you are so close. The apartment had everything we could need, and the kitchen was well equipped. The rooftop even had an outdoor shower, which I love, and the bed was one of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept on in a hotel or apartment. Everything, of course, was clean and fresh. And, the staff was polite and helpful. We didn't come by car, but I imagine that if you plan to arrive that way, it might be a little more challenging. So, I would suggest you plan ahead and maybe talk to them about what to do. (However, this is the case with every hotel in the center) If you are looking for a modern accommodation with a great location and wonderful views during your stay in Seville, then I would highly recommend Puerta Catedral. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ale_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    56
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
51
118
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very central, easy distance to everywhere. Shared terrace great for viewing cathedral in early evening and taking a siesta. I wouldn't want to stay so central again - noise from street and church bells - is lively and interesting,  if you're not staying amongst it, but makes a good nights sleep challenging and the photos of the apartment are overly complimentary. There is a two ringed hob and a microwave, so if you want to self-cater, you need to consider those limitations. Apartment equipped for people who eat out ideally. Very bad smell of drains in hallways. Staff very helpful but generally not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were upgraded from the Puerta Catedral Studios to the Apartments, and had the attico unit across from the Catedral. The location is perfect. It was a nice one-bedroom apartment with a single sofa bed in the living room, a small kitchen, nice bathroom, and a great balcony! Right on a busy street, it was noisy, but we were used to noisy nights at this point in our vacation. Europeans are night owls! We loved the city of Seville. Walked to the San Cruz and Antiguo areas of the town, and to the riverfront and the still functioning Bull Ring. The wifi in our unit quit working after the first day, and the chauffeur who was supposed to drive us to the train station on check out never showed up. But we got to our train by taxi, and all was fine. There is a tapas restaurant around the corner, next to Ristorante Escoba, that is really nice. Recommend it.

Room Tip: We like the attico unit in the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose this accomodation because we wanted to stay in the old town and frankly this would be THE reason to stay with Apartamentos Puerta Catedral. The location is fantastic, although the apartment I was allocated was not right next to the Cathedral, but it was walking distance. As the apartment was next to a street that vehicles was allowed, hence the apartment can get really noisey if you do not close the windows, but with the windows shut it was relatively quiet. My biggest disappointment though was the maintenance of the apartment. When I arrived into my apartment, the floor was still a little wet and had a strong smell of chlorine, clearly it had just been cleaned, however despite the the use of plenty of detergent in cleaning the apartment, I can't say that the room felt really clean. The room floor was little sticky and still dirty. Furnishing and other amenities was normal, though the washer we had was a little old. Another lowlight was also the toilet/shower, this was probably the narrowest shower/toilet I have ever been in, can't say taking a shower was much of a pleasure. Nevertheless, perhaps the cleaning crew just had an off day during my stay or maybe my expectations were too high and hence the disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked this accommodation for a family of 5 for our recent visit to Seville. My decision was based on the location as well as positive TripAdvisor reviews. We wanted to be central to have easy access to restaurants and tourist attractions in order to make the most of our 1-night stay.

Had a bit of a struggle to find my way to the hotel because you cannot drive right up to the hotel and parking is about 5 minutes’ walk away. Once I got close to the hotel, I called and they kindly met us to help with the luggage after which I could move the car to the public underground parking.

The accommodation is spacious and very neat and literally alongside the cathedral (across the street). Our apartment had a master bedroom with another 2 single bed room and 1 sleeper couch. Everything was very neat and clean.

We went on a ‘free’ walking tour (http://www.sevillalowcost.es) in the evening (hosted by volunteers and they accept donations for their excellent and friendly service). It starts a little late for the kids (at 20:00) and lasts for 2 hours (after which our kids was thoroughly exhausted). But it was very informative and was a perfect introduction to the tourist attractions for our very short stay. We walked from the old Tobacco factory (which is now the museum) to the cathedral and on past Plaza Nueva and the bakery at Horno San Buenaventura on to the bullring and on to end at Plaza de Espana.

I walked the next morning to the market at Metropol Parasol (about 20 mins walk). The structure is impressive but certainly out of place for my taste. The market has beautiful fresh products. There is also an El Corte Ingles close by (about 5minutes from Metropol Parasol).

Apartamentos Puerta Catedral has excellent and very helpful service and the accommodation is very convenient, clean and perfect for exploring Seville central areas. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked this accommodation over the net, and was pleasantly surprised both by the Customer Service and quality of accommodation. Several emails in advance of arrival giving direction's etc. Check in was easy and direction's to the apartment clear. Apartment was small but perfectly adequate for our 3 nights with all the necessary items for those who wish to self cater. Bed very comfortable and a roof top terrace across the corridor. The only warning is that the stairs are narrow and steep so please bear that in mind if you are thinking of booking these apartments. (The larger suites where reception is located do have a lift.) Would definitely stay here again if we return to Seville.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pict1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were only in Seville for 24 hours, within 10 mins of arriving, we were checked in, we had maps, a plan, a table booked at the best tapas restaurant ever (http://www.vineriasantelmo.com/) and ended up having the best trip ever. All down to the lovely lady in reception.
The room was a 2 minute walk round the cathedral. It was clean, very well equipped, very comfortable and right in the middle of everything we wanted to see whilst there.
We can't speak more highly of Apartmentos Puerta Catedral.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandJosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seville hotels
Casco Antiguo
Alminar Hotel
Alminar Hotel
#5 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Casco Antiguo
El Rey Moro Hotel Boutique Sevilla
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
Hotel Casa 1800 Sevilla
#3 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Becquer
Hotel Becquer
#11 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,759 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Murillo
Hotel Murillo
#31 of 179 in Seville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Casco Antiguo
Hotel Boutique Elvira Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Puerta Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Puerta Catedral

Property: Apartamentos Puerta Catedral
Address: Calle Alemanes 7 y 15, 41004 Seville, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Seville > Casco Antiguo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Seville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apartamentos Puerta Catedral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious apartments and studios are surrounded by the amazing architecture of historic Seville. They are set in the shadow of the city’s colossal cathedral and famous Giralda tower. Each stylish Puerta Catedral apartment blends modern lighting and decor with charming features such as old wood beams and antique-style furnishings. Other luxury details may include marble or parquet floors, and French windows opening onto scenic balconies. Also included are marble bathrooms and modern fitted kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apartamentos Puerta Catedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Puerta Catedral Hotel Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing